Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.941755
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I started volunteering two years ago when I became an empty nester. Driving is a wonderful way for me to give to my community while meeting new and interesting people. I enjoy getting to know my passengers and see the world through their eyes. It's a win/win for all!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I volunteer with Neighbor Ride as my way of honoring my mom who passed away several years ago. She needed rides to doctor appts and had to rely on friends and family because there was no organization like Neighbor Ride in my hometown. I lived far away and could not help out, so I volunteer knowing that I am helping another family that is looking to keep their senior active and independent. It is a great organization to volunteer for.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

The people I drive are always so grateful, and happy that they can stay in their own home. I have a couple of customers who are becoming friends, and I enjoy meeting new people when I drive. more

April 8, 2013

I love driving for Neighbor Ride! The seniors are so grateful to the drivers, and I have met some lovely people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

The people I drive are always so grateful, and happy that they can stay in their own home. I have a couple of customers who are becoming friends, and I enjoy meeting new people when I drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have been with Neighbor Ride for just a few months. I have been doing about one ride per week. I have been amazed at how well the program is run. I am so grateful for the opportunity to meet such sweet and wonderful people. Every client that I have driven has left me with a wonderful memory, each one is a very special person. Thank you Neighbor ride for giving me the opportunity to meet them.
Ines G Perez

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have driven for Neighbor Ride for slight over one year. I came to the organization to fulfill a social work assignment for a training program that I was in. However, it did not take long for me to realize that this was not going to be a one-time assignment but rather something that I wanted to do. I soon felt that through Neighbor Ride I was becoming a vital part of the community. I was meeting a definite need for many of the residents in the area. I have met some of the most interesting and, in their own way, exciting people while driving them to appointments. By meeting their needs, I found that I am also meeting personal needs as well. I feel that I am contributing to the wellbeing and happiness of people that would otherwise have a world bound by the walls of their home. Talking to people as we drive to and from various locations helps me to see the contribution that I, Neighbor Ride and these people all combine to make to the well-being of this neighborhood. I am no longer seeing Neighbor Ride as an assignment for a class but rather something that I do and will continue to do that enriches my life as well as our clients' lives. I believe that the impact of Neighbor Ride begins with our clients but spiders out into the lives that touch them as well,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 8, 2011

I volunteer in many capacities, but Neighbor Ride is by far the most enjoyable and satisfying. The work is rewarding for me on many levels, and the clients I transport are truly appreciative. No mat... more

April 5, 2013

I love my volunteer gig with Neighbor Ride! I get the personal reward of helping home-bound seniors get out of their homes for appointments, shopping, or social outings. This is huge, as isolation is a major problem for seniors who cannot drive, and it really makes me feel good to know I'm helping. Bonus #1 - I can participate as little or as much as my schedule allows - I pick the exact rides and times that work for me. Bonus #2 - I meet some of the most interesting people - I've given rides to presidential speechwriters, inventors, authors, artists, pretty much everyone I meet has an interesting story to share about their life!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2011

I volunteer in many capacities, but Neighbor Ride is by far the most enjoyable and satisfying. The work is rewarding for me on many levels, and the clients I transport are truly appreciative. No matter what your workload or schedule, it is delightfully easy to find driver assignments that fit. I strongly recommend Neighbor Ride if you are looking for a way to give back to the community but are unable to commit to a fixed schedule.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 9, 2012

Almost 5 years ago, i decided that although I couldn't help my out-of state- mother with her transportation needs, I could help someone's parent. NeighborRide has allowed me to do that, and much more... more

October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband & I have driven for NeighborRide for almost 6 years. I know that providing transportation allows seniors to remain independent longer, but what I love most is the interesting people that I meet. I am always enriched by the seniors that I drive and it's a privilege to serve them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2012

Almost 5 years ago, i decided that although I couldn't help my out-of state- mother with her transportation needs, I could help someone's parent. NeighborRide has allowed me to do that, and much more. The riders are so interesting with such varied life stories and experiences. It has truly been an enriching experience to hear them and to learn lessons about aging gracefully. I've also learned the location of almost all of the senior housing in HoCo. Now if there were only a similar service in my mom's town....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Neighbor Ride is a wonderful resource for our community! Our dedicated team of staff and volunteers work tirelessly to ensure that our county's seniors are able to stay active and get where they need to go when they need to get there. I'm proud to be associated with such a great organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I just joined the board for Neighbor Ride and I attended my first meeting which was the strategic retreat. I am so impressed with the staff and board of this group. It is very exciting to be a part of a non-profit organization who strives to reduce isolation in the elderly population by providing free or low cost rides to doctors appointments, social gatherings, church activities, errands, etc. We of course can't accomplish this without our wonderful volunteers. A big goal for us this year is to increase our volunteers so we can continue to offer this wonderful service to Howard County elederly residents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

As a Board member, I hear many stories from the drivers and other volunteers that work for Neighbor Ride. One favorite is a passenger that faithfully calls the office each time she is transported, and leaves a message of thanks for that day's ride. That makes the drivers feel good, the passenger feels good, and the office volunteers are reminded how much the service means to our clients.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide transportation that will reduce isolation and help local seniors remain active, independent and connected to the community. Volunteer