Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.941755
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Volunteering for Neighbor Ride has been one of the most rewarding experiences I have ever had. It has been a pleasure getting to know Seniors in my community and share stories while we drive. Thank you Neighbor Ride!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

There is nothing more rewarding then helping those that can no longer do for themselves. This is made delightfully easy by the staff at Neighbor ride who work tirelessly to make sure matches are made between drivers and riders.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I love volunteering for Neighbor Ride because I can help someone when I am available. I travel and when I am in town I volunteer and when away they remove me from the email list. When my mother was alive she needed a service like this but there was none available where she lived. I tell people about this service who wish their parents lived in a community that offered such affordable transportation. This organization is so well run that people should realize how little time it takes to help someone. You pick the day, time and location. The direction and maps are all set up and even your mileage and cost of gas is configured for you. I have met some delightful people and feel good that I can help them get to places they need to go.
Emma A.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

My experience with Neighbor Ride was unbelievably rewarding. I work full-time and have a fairly hectic schedule so I was seeking a way that I could give back to the community with a flexible schedule. Neighbor Ride was the answer. What I was unprepared for was the impact our clients had on my life. Independence is a gift often taken for granted when you have it; affording it to those without it otherwise adds so much to their lives!

I drove clients to church, to the gym, the grocery store, the dollar store......outings that they looked forward to all week! I cherished our conversations on the ride and made new friends. I was very sad to be unable to continue in the program and would highly recommend it to anyone interested in adding value to their life. The program is so well managed by a wonderful group of volunteers and it opened my eyes to how much it is needed in the community. I sincerely hope I can join again someday :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

My husband Jim has served by Neighbor Ride for a couple of years now- and this is the best group of volunteers ever. They are always prompt when picking him up and returning him home. My husband has the added issue of dementia and needs extra attention ... the drivers lovingly assist him in every way. I am very grateful for the volunteer drivers and this program.

I forgot to mention the wonderful volunteers who answer the phone and do the scheduling! They are awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

When one has extra time during retirement and the desire to "pay it forward" , Neighbor Ride provides an excellent option for community service. While there are multiple opportunities available to those who want to volunteer, Neighbor Ride gives back to the volunteer as much as the volunteer gives to Neighbor Ride. There is no fixed time or scheduling commitment. You get to donate as much, or as little, time as you want when you have the time available.

Some people do not like to say "no" when asked by others for help. With Neighbor Ride you never have to say no. You get to see who needs a ride and when they need the ride. You sign up for the ride with a positive action. If you cannot or do not want to take a ride, you do nothing, you do not have to turn someone down or say no. You call them, they do not call you.

With Neighbor Ride you quickly expand your friends in the community. You get to know you riders and can quickly see how important a few minutes of your time is to them. They get to stay in their homes because transportation is available and affordable. You can also foresee the day when you might depend upon the volunteers of Neighbor Ride to provide you with transportation so you can enjoy your later years in you own home. That's the pay it forward aspect that appeals to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I chose to become a volunteer driver for Neighbor Ride after I retired, because when my mother was alive and lived with me for 13 years, I wish there had been such a service available to her. Neighbo... more

April 9, 2013

While helping others, I get to meet some wonderful people who often touch my life with joy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

I chose to become a volunteer driver for Neighbor Ride after I retired, because when my mother was alive and lived with me for 13 years, I wish there had been such a service available to her. Neighbor Ride allows clients to maintain their independence and still be able to attend social functions or keep scheduled appointments. Family members do not have to constantly take off from work to take their loved ones to frequent appointments. While volunteering I have met lovely clients, some of whom often remind me of my own mother. Every community should have a service similar to Neighbor Ride.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

My wife and I have been a drivers for Neighbor Ride for about a year. Neighbor Ride provides low cost transportation for the senior citizens of Howard County to get to doctors, physical therapy, shop... more

April 8, 2013

My wife and I have been volunteer drivers for two years. This has been, and continues to be one of our most rewarding experiences. The clients are wonderful and appreciative people who constantly tell us how important our service is to them. The scheduling process for the drives is extremely convenient and flexible, and the office staff has always been extremely helpful and pleasant.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2012

My wife and I have been a drivers for Neighbor Ride for about a year. Neighbor Ride provides low cost transportation for the senior citizens of Howard County to get to doctors, physical therapy, shopping and other personal appointments. As volunteers, we get immediate satisfaction directly from our clients. During every one of our over 100 rides, our client is always very appreciative and invariably says that Neighbor Ride has become essential to their ability to carry on a reasonably normal life. That makes it particularly rewarding for us drivers. It is an extremely well-run organization that couldn't be more convenient for the drivers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I've enjoyed my 3-and-counting years as a volunteer driver for NeighborRide. The communication system is easy to understand, and it's quick, enabling me to volunteer for a ride, or decline one that's been suggested for me. I've had rare situations where I've needed to contact someone right away about a problem, and the folks working the phone are great. That's the boring, inside stuff.

But giving rides to people who need them, and enjoying the companionship, stories, and commeraderie is what it's really about. Sometimes my young sons accompany me, and they get a lot out of it too. The day my 12-year old was able to carry a box of homecooked meals for an elderly woman going to a church to feed OTHER less-advantaged people was eye-opening for him. It was a glimpse at people who need help who are also ABLE to help others. He felt so good to be able to help her, and he appreciated seeing first-hand how many layers there are to service.

You can't teach that in school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Volunteers drive seniors. In our suburban locale, our senior clients face isolation and inability to access needed services unless they drive, or are driven. As a volunteer driver, I feel very appreciated by our clients. We frequently go to medical facilities. Some clients do have cars, but are wise enough to recognize that infirmities, such as failing eyesight or weak legs. make them unsafe/unsteady drivers. Our Neighbor Ride drivers provide these clients with access to the services they need, and at the same time we avoid having an unsteady driver on our roads.
Neighbor Ride provides exemplary support to volunteers such as myself. We are trained, and given annual refresher training. We are kept informed through regular communications. We are very much in control of when we volunteer, and are provided a very convenient web access. I am a volunteer with several other organizations, all of which are very fine. But none is as great as Neighbor Ride in its support to volunteers and its dedicated service to its clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide transportation that will reduce isolation and help local seniors remain active, independent and connected to the community. Volunteer