Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Write A Review
August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I am the past Executive Director of Catholic United FinanciaL Foundation and the person responsible for starting Catholic United Response. Without the cooperation, friendship and leaderhip of the staff and board of NECHAMA we would not exist as another disaster response organization. I tell everyone our story of how we are modeled after NECHAMA and how they served as mentors, trainers and friends throughout the planning and development of our response team. We continue to seek their leadership and guidance as we know they are the BEST. I know as an organization they operate on a very tight budget and need not only your volunteer support but financial support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 1, 2012

more

March 1, 2012

I worked with NECHAMA during the TN Spring floods of 2010. They trained and provided leadership to over 80 AmeriCorps members from across the country. As the federal disaster coordinator directing these crews, I was constantly impressed with NECHAMA's want to serve the community. NECHAMA consistently followed through on committments to train, educate, lead, direct, and support volunteers in the field. Their focus on serving all residents in affected communities was always central to their work. Their coordination with other agencies and the quality of services they provided were second to none. Before I met Dan and NECHAMA I worked on the ground for 6 months post Hurricane Katrina, 2 months post Hurricane Ike and managed thousands of AmeriCorps teams on disaster from base for 5 years. The services NECHAMA provides are second to none. If you have the chance to work with them...do not pass it up!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 29, 2012

more

February 29, 2012

I serve as the Assistant Director for The Salvation Army Emergency Disaster Services of Minnesota & North Dakota. I can say without a doubt, that the work of Nechama is nothing less than outstanding. You wouldn't know that they are a small agency with few resources, because they travel the entire country bringing relief and hope to those communities in need. I am proud of the work they do. Collaborating together, Nechama, The Salvation Army, and our other VOAD partners are able to solve complex problems to unforeseen challenges. When they are not responding to disasters, they are actively involved in training and other preparedness related activities with their government and non-government partners.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I first came to NECHAMA as an unwilling volunteer at the age of 16. Packed off on a deployment to St. Peter, MN in 1998, I actually had a horrible time. But some part of me must of loved it, because all through college I came back and back again. After college, I went to work for the organization and spent 5 years with them. I've now engaged with NECHAMA as a volunteer, an employee, a donor, and now as a partner in the field of disaster response/emergency management and there are few organizations that make such an impact. Foremost in my mind is NECHAMA's focus on the mission: providing comfort to disaster survivors. They have been flexible in the field, always pivoting to meet the needs they see. They have been a critical part of disaster response in the upper midwest, and a key partner to the other organizations and government agencies they have worked with. And finally, for me, they were a critical connection to a Judaism that I hadn't mattered to me before I worked with them. Today, I am a disaster response/emergency management professional and a Jew because of NECHAMA.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I have volunteered with NECHAMA on multiple occasions and have found the experience rewarding each and every time. Knowing almost nothing about emergency management and even less about cleaning up following floods or tornadoes, NECHAMA offered me the chance to travel with them and they taught me what I needed to know as we progressed through the cleanup process. Everything was done with safety in mind and most importantly, was done to assist the homeowners with nothing expected in return. After a short time, NECHAMA had me leading teams of volunteers in these efforts as I had gained enough knowledge to become a leader in the process. This organization is built solely on giving back to those most in need and is one that excels at doing just that. I have become a professional in this field since my time volunteering there thanks to their efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I have worked with NECHAMA on several occasions over the past 4 or 5 years and find them to be top notch in disaster response. I have come to rely on them as a primary partner in every disaster I have managed. Keep up the great work and I look forward to working with you again in 2012 and many years beyond.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

Nechama is simply a wonderful organization. The time I have spent working with them has been nothing but rewarding, even on cold rainy/snowy days, even on blistering hot days. I've slept on church floors, in trucks, in converted grocery stores and in FEMA camps but always a good night sleep after a hard days work. As a firefighter/emt/rescue tech I volunteered with Nechama for 3 weeks in 2006 after Katrina. i ended up actually working for them helping run the deployments and helping with equipment upkeep. One of the great things about Nechama is their agility - they don't have to send requisition forms to 5 different departments to get things done, they just do them. They are well versed in the technical as well as the personal side of disaster management, Furthermore the cooperation with so many other faith based and governmental organizations has been wonderful. I strongly recommend working with Nechama as a volunteer, donor or if misfortune strikes, as a client.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

approximately 6 deployments in as many states

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word farther and louder

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What is unique about this organization?

its ability to meet change and work with clients even when the needs don't fit neatly within expectations

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I had the incredible opportunity to both volunteer with and later be a staff member with NECHAMA. I cannot say enough about my experiences, suffice to say that there is no greater feeling than to help people when they have lost everything. The time that I spent with NECHAMA ranks among the best experiences I've ever had.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 20, 2012

more

February 20, 2012

Nechama has always been one of my most trusted partners in the disaster response field. Nechama lives out its mission with integrity and consistency. You can trust Nechama. Nechama's volunteers and staff are leaders in the field and I am proud to be counted among their friends. Kevin Massey, former Director - Lutheran Disaster Response, former Board Member, National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 16, 2012

more

February 16, 2012

In April/May 2011, Memphis, Tennessee experienced a 100 year flood along the Mississippi River. Many homes were flooded in our city and county. The local chapter of NECHAMA joined with Methodists, Muslims, other denominations, nonprofit and members of the business community in helping to remove debris and deconstruct affected homes. Their willingness to lend a helping hand will forever be remembered in our community. Thank you NECHAMA! --Loretta Hurt, Communications Officer--Mid-South VOAD | Emergency Support Coordinator ESF 14 -- Emergency Operations Center | Project Manager--United Way of the Mid-South

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers