Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Write A Review
February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

A couple of years ago I found myself unemployed and trying to fill time between resumes and job applications- when I heard that Rhode Island had gone through record-breaking severe flooding...knowing I was only a road-trip away, I wondered how I could help. Through the power of the internet, I came upon Nechama, and was inspired by their mission and personal stories. It didn't take long to see and feel the tremendous passion that their staff put into their work, and how quickly I felt at home with their team. I have shared with friends and family my experience, and truly feel grateful for the incredible opportunity they gave me, by allowing me to give of my time, my labor, and my heart during a community's time of need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

While I came through Hurricane Irene unscathed, many other people in Bergen County, NJ, where I live, weren't so lucky. Nechama gave me the opportunity to help my neighbors with thorough, professional, individualized, and compassionate clean up of wind and water damage. Nechama's tireless staff models the organization's mission "to do good getting dirty." I am honored that Nechama let me help; trained me to safely use all kinds of tools; reminded me that misfortune knows no race, creed, or color; and now calls me a friend.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my understanding of human suffering as well as my own very good fortune.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure Nechama had sufficient funds to sustain and grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes. Nechama taught me how to use tools, brought new friends into my life, opened my eyes to the less fortunate in my immediate community, let me understand diaster-relief budgets, introduced me to incredibly compassionate people (e.g., the Nechama staff).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Like my life had meaning.

February 22, 2012

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2009

Recently I joined Nechema on their deployment in the Atlanta, Georgia area following the flash floods that occurred there in early October. The day began with helping to do the final spray washing an... more

February 22, 2012

An amazing organization that takes the eternal values of the Jewish tradition as learned through our texts and applies them directly with our hands and feet! This is an important way to make the world a better place especially when people are in the midst of the challenge of recovery than to be present to them through the work of NECHAMA!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2009

Recently I joined Nechema on their deployment in the Atlanta, Georgia area following the flash floods that occurred there in early October. The day began with helping to do the final spray washing and sterilizing of a home that had already been cleared. It was hard and at times, messy work, but everyone pitched in and did whatever was needed. While there, a man approached us to ask if we could possibly help his neighbor. The operations manager, who was very welcoming and easy going, explained the procedure. A short time later, the neighbor came and we began to clean out his house. Along the way, we removed soggy walls, insulation and contents that had not yet been cleared out. On the lawn were still many personal belongings. As we carefully picked them up, we would check with the owner to ask if he wanted to keep them. It was clearly a difficult process for this gentleman. As the day wore on and his home was slowly gutted, it was possible to see a small flicker of hope in the midst of his shock. It was amazing to be with Nechama, a group of volunteers ready to assist in helping people find their way to recovery. With all the work being done at no charge and all by volunteers, the sense of Tikun was not only real in the physical transformation of the homes, but also in the personal sense both for the victims and for the volunteers.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the kindness of the professional staff and the volunteers it attracts. Everyone comes with an incredible sense of what it means to help people whose lives have been devastated by natural disaster.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

amazing!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

better reach out to recruit more volunteers as well as be more regionally located to be able to assist better those whose lives meet with natural disasters.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

Nechama gave us a great tour of their facility back in January. They did a wonderful job of explaining their organizations mission and how they help during natural disasters. I am a youth director for a synagogue and brought my youth group members. They had a great time watching the movie, touring the garage, looking at the tools and eating MRE meals!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

A close friend of mine has been a Nechama volunteer for years. When the tornado rolled through north Minneapolis this past summer, I asked her to copy me on any email requests fro volunteers which she received from them. My place of emplyment is just down the road from their headquarters and, after receiving a forwarded request for volunteers, I was able to quickly contact them and plug myself in to their disaster relief effort. The fact that they have staff trained in disaster response enabled them to assemble a group of volunteers (myself included) in a van equipped with every conceivable tool and piece of equipment we might need, drive right to command central for the relief effort, move to the head of the volunteer registration and then deploy to the actual disaster area and begin working in astonishingly short order. I learned throughout the course of that day and the next few days of working with the team that this was the 'B Squad' as Nechama already had several other teams out working in other disaster locations outside of Minnesota. They might have been the backup squad but they functioned like an 'A Team'. I had a wonderful time working with this group and had the opportunity to meet and work side by side with some wonderful individuals while at the same time bringing much needed relief to some of my fellow Minnesotans who had their lives disrupted by this terrible storm. I'm not Jewish or even religious in any sense of the word but felt as though I was as welcome and as much a part of their team as anyone else. I have gone back and volunteered my time helping them to clean and reorganize their equipment and, I look forward to the next opportunity I will have to get out in the field and assist them with some local disaster relief.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

Nechama is simply a wonderful organization. The time I have spent working with them has been nothing but rewarding, even on cold rainy/snowy days, even on blistering hot days. I've slept on church floors, in trucks, in converted grocery stores and in FEMA camps but always a good night sleep after a hard days work. As a firefighter/emt/rescue tech I volunteered with Nechama for 3 weeks in 2006 after Katrina. i ended up actually working for them helping run the deployments and helping with equipment upkeep. One of the great things about Nechama is their agility - they don't have to send requisition forms to 5 different departments to get things done, they just do them. They are well versed in the technical as well as the personal side of disaster management, Furthermore the cooperation with so many other faith based and governmental organizations has been wonderful. I strongly recommend working with Nechama as a volunteer, donor or if misfortune strikes, as a client.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

approximately 6 deployments in as many states

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

spread the word farther and louder

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What is unique about this organization?

its ability to meet change and work with clients even when the needs don't fit neatly within expectations

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

NECHAMA is a truly wonderful organization. Their exceptional care and dedicated staff are unparalleled compared to other similar organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I had the privilege of working with Nechama in Milwaukee, Wisconsin after a flood had hit the area. We spent a long time mucking and gutting basements for people who did not have the means, ability, or knowledge to do so themselves. They stayed longer than any other organization in the area and made a huge impact in a time of need. I am grateful for having had the chance to work with them. This is a dedicated organization that not only prioritizes helping people in need but, safety and preparation as well. They are well outfitted and prepared to handle wind and water damage and can boast some of the best stocked tool/supply trailers I've ever seen. The most important things about them, I believe, is their efficiency and planning. These factors add up to an exceptional organization, capable of helping people in hopeless situations with speed and effectiveness. If you have a chance to work with these people it will be something you never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I have been working with Nechama ever since i can remember. My parent s brought me along to a disaster relief job and I had a blast. I feel really good when I help people that have lost their home and many other things because I actually know what I'm doing. Volunteering with Nechama and even 8 Days Of Hope has changed my life completely. They showed me that I'm not just ment to go to school and get a job like every other normal teenager, they showed me that i can get out there and do something better with the gifts and knowledge god gave me:)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 21, 2012

more

February 21, 2012

I have had the honor to work with NECHAMA in Iowa, Minnesota and North Dakota. I always have had rewarding deployments working with the great team that NECHAMA has devloped. I always look forward to teaming up with NECHAMA to help people in recovering from disasters. I would highly recommend for anyone to help NECHAMA with labor and or funding, they are a wonderful group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers