Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

the heartaches of 2012 left me desperate to do something valuable. maybe because the worst ones shared my name, Sandy.
As I searched for affordable volunteering, looking as far as Guatemala, I realized my childhood home was a 5 hour drive away.
My connection last Feb with NECHAMA in
Bayshore was one of the most rewarding weeks I have spent in a decade. The physical and emotional work was equally balanced by support and comradery (and humor) from the volunteers (there for months) and staff.
I was heartbroken leaving with so much to be done and knowing I was only one of many volunteers who would become a part, of the NECHAMA family.
I am looking forward to joining them in rebuilding on Long Island this Winter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 29, 2012

Working as Team Leader with AmeriCorps NCCC, I received 24 hour's notice that my team would be heading to Nashville, TN to help with flood recovery efforts. Initial information from AmeriCorps was min... more

October 31, 2013

My favorite part about working with Nechama is that Nechama doesn't sit around. Nechama gets to work. I've worked with Nechama three different times since 2010, in Nashville, Milwaukee, and New York. It can be so frustrating waiting on responses from the public sector. It can be discouraging that the private sector ignores those who cannot afford to help themselves in the aftermath of disasters. It is inspiring that Nechama continually responds quickly and efficiently to natural disasters. It is a testament to this great organization that Nechama continues to bring in energetic, willing volunteers, and especially that it has so many return volunteers. Nechama is a reason to be optimistic about our society, as it shines in even the worst of situations. I am proud to have several memories of working with Nechama, and I know I will form more in the years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 29, 2012

Working as Team Leader with AmeriCorps NCCC, I received 24 hour's notice that my team would be heading to Nashville, TN to help with flood recovery efforts. Initial information from AmeriCorps was minimal, so we didn't really know what to expect. About 48 hours after arriving in Nashville, it was clear my team and I were in for a life-changing experience. Our time in Nashville was, indeed, life-changing, and this is mostly if not entirely because of Nechama - Jewish Response to Disaster. We had the privilege of working with Dan Hoeft, a couple other staff members, and several Nechama volunteers. In an organized fashion, Nechama brought swift action in the form of direct service to people whose homes had been severely damaged by the floods. Nechama was all about doing the work that needed to be done. We worked long hours and worked incredibly hard, led by Dan and the Nechama crew. In one month we mucked and gutted a few dozen homes, and provided support to a few dozen individuals and families that were in crisis. My time with Nechama helped propel my into a career in human services non-profits. Nechama changed my life as I watched it change the lives of so many others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been privileged to work as a volunteer with Nechama on Long Island for the post-Sandy recovery and rebuild. The staff and Field Team Leaders make up an incredibly compassionate and skilled group of people who are dedicated to bringing relief to those who need it most. Following the storm, many of us on Long Island - and across the country - felt a need to do something ... to help. Nechama provided the leadership, expertise and resources, helping families get back into their homes and resume their lives. It's very rewarding as a volunteer, but more important it's a wonderful service for the community. I am grateful for the opportunity to work with Nechama.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I am a 72 year old multi- return volunteer. I am also used to working with all age group people to accomplish tasks.
The Nechama model allows rapid integration of volunteers and maximizes their time on site. The jobs are scoped out in advance, materials and tools are always available and
they take advantage of the skill level and expertise you already have.

There is a great degree of comfort in knowing working conditions are safe, well monitored and food and housing are more than adequate.

On a more personal level, it has been great meeting, interacting, and helping in the lives of those affected by disaster. This is not only victims but volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not alter their approach to the work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered with Nechama in Moore OK and also in Lyons CO. They are an incredible group to work with. The staff is very professional and fun to work with in challenging environments. They show up to help immediately after disaster strikes and add tremendous value to the clients the moment they arrive on the scene. I look forward to volunteering with Nechama again in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to see them become more proficient using social media to put a spotlight on the great work they do and also to bring in more donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered three different times with NECHAMA doing Hurricane Sandy disaster response work. I have worked with other disaster relief groups, but NECHAMA is by far the most organized and equipped to deliver the relief these clients urgently need. I like the way they scope our the work at the job sites and have the necessary materials and plans ready to hit the job running. Their team leaders treat each client with dignity, respect, and warmth. NECHAMA recruits a wide range of ages, religions, and skills in the volunteers, but they consistently deliver outstanding results by training and motivating the crews.

I plan to volunteer more with NECHAMA.
regards,
John

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide new volunteers with an introduction to Hurricane Sandy, to give them a human connection to the storm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Big cheers to Nechama! They do amazing work, have an awesome staff, and really do good work for people who need it the most. I spent over a month with them in Lyons, CO after the flooding and it was one of the most rewarding months of my life. And they make it fun to work. I noticed all the volunteers coming back day after day, they felt the same way I did I guess. And look at the reviews. 93 of them, with a 5 star average. That is amazing! Thank you Nechama, and thanks to all of you volunteers who make it possible for Nechama to continue the service that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered with Nechama twice this year, once in April and once in August. Both times were on Long Island helping Sandy victims. This organization does a great job of giving people back their lives. They also do a fantastic job of taking absolute strangers (people who volunteer) who may or may not know anything about rehabbing and turn them into a cohesive, productive team. I knew nothing when I went, now I can install insulation, hang dry wall, make mud and apply it, sand and paint, and the biggest thrill of all, I used a sawzall. I have met awesome people both staff and volunteers and I had a great time too. I will continue to support this organization. I plan to go back next year....where ever they need me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide some background knowledge to volunteers before they go into the field. I suggested a measuring for dummies sort of class, because I am just awful at measuring things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I worked with NECHAMA for five weeks after the flood in Colorado. The organization was great because they looked for people who needed the most help. They were organized and great to work with. NECHAMA is an organization that is accepting of everyone and is really there to do good for others with no agenda. Anyone who has the chance to work with them should take it. Seeing this organization grow in scope will be amazing as they will be able to help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered with Nechama during Christmas break from an AmeriCorps program. It was absolutely the best use of my vacation. Nechama provided food an lodging for volunteers which made it possible to volunteer for more than one day. I gutted houses, scraped tile off of floors, hauled branches. I met some amazing people, volunteers and homeowners. The homeowners were so appreciative of the work Nechama has done to help them recover from Hurricane Sandy. I was an great experience all around and I have been itchy to get involved again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers