Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
1234.961545
| 1 2 3 4...10 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I just got off of serving 5 weeks with NECHAMA through AmeriCorps NCCC and couldn't have hoped for a better experience. The people of NECHAMA are the greatest and truly care about every volunteer as well as every person/family they provide services to. Even though they are a Jewish disaster group, they do not discriminate against anyone and they help anybody in need, no matter their denomination. I had the best experience and would work with them again in a heartbeat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get their name out more so more people are aware of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I decided to volunteer with NECHAMA after Hurricane Sandy hit NY and NJ. I had previously worked with AmeriCorps NCCC and it was through my friends in that organization that I discovered NECHAMA. They described it as a nonprofit that had great people with unimaginable work ethics, as I soon found out first hand. The staff and volunteers of NECHAMA went above and beyond to help victims whose lives had been altered with such gravity that when I went to my first site, I was able to tell who was the homeowner we were helping right away. The storm was written all over their face, but so was the look of unwavering gratitude towards the workers of NECHAMA who had been there day in and day out and who would continue to be there until the job was finished. The dedication of the staff and volunteers was an incredible thing to be a part of, even if it was for a short period of time. I was honored to work with them, and I hope I get to do so again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I am currently serving with AmeriCorpa NCCC and my last project was serving with NECHAMA in Colorado for 5 weeks helping to muck and gutt the homes of flood victims. This organization goes above and beyond to help the victims, the volunteers, and the community. They are willing to step in and lend a hand to other non profits in the area helping without hesitation. This organization has lead me to believe I can do more!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the organization more known about..not many know who they are or even how to say the organizations name.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

NECHAMA is one of the beast Disaster Response out there. There goals to make to world a better place by you good deed at a time, and there wills to help anyone who need help is a great thing to see in this day and age.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 30, 2012

more

August 30, 2012

I am the past Executive Director of Catholic United FinanciaL Foundation and the person responsible for starting Catholic United Response. Without the cooperation, friendship and leaderhip of the staff and board of NECHAMA we would not exist as another disaster response organization. I tell everyone our story of how we are modeled after NECHAMA and how they served as mentors, trainers and friends throughout the planning and development of our response team. We continue to seek their leadership and guidance as we know they are the BEST. I know as an organization they operate on a very tight budget and need not only your volunteer support but financial support.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 18, 2012

more

March 18, 2012

Fantastic organization! I have never felt more like I was doing something good for the world than when I was working with them. Though I was only 19 when I worked with them, it was by far the most eye opening experience of my life. It wasn't just that we were helping people pick up their lives after a tragic experience. My time with Nechama woke a part of me up I didn't know existed before. I felt more like myself in the month I was with them than I ever had before in my life. Through the rest of my life, I will always look back on my time with Nechama with affection. It will serve as a constant reminder of what kindhearted, driven people can accomplish when they decide to work together. It will also serve as a constant reminder of what I can do. So much of what we accomplish in life is dependent on what we think we can accomplish. I will always be grateful the Nechama for reminding me that I can do more than I think I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

March 15, 2012

more

March 15, 2012

I worked with Nechama in Alabama, helping to clean up from the terrible tornados in May 2011. They were so nice and helpful-really enabling us to do effective and fun relief work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 7, 2012

more

March 7, 2012

My wife and I heared a presentation about Nechama and decided to do something. We travel to New Orleans twice at our own expense, we been to Hugo MN, as well as southern MN. I have worked in the office my wife has gone to Iowato help. We arenow to old to travel and work a full day but we support Nechama with monthly monetary donations.Why? because as Jews we need to leave this eartyh in bettter shape than when we arrived on the scene,. Nechama is an agency for repair of the earth nechama is staffed with great employees.We have met some wonderful mentsches in our deployments. Ed Pickett and Jan Leach

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 4, 2012

more

March 4, 2012

Nechama came to the rescue of Louisville, Ky in 2009 when we had a surprise heavy rainfall. They were a self-contained mobile rescue operation with all the tools, expertise and leaders to guide our volunteers in the clean-up effort. The Nechama folks are great, caring people. A testament to their loyalty are those who come back and volunteer in other areas just to work with the folks from Nechama. You know you're going to have a good volunteer experience in a difficult situation with these trusted leaders. I would work with them again and have referred friends to them throughout the country. They serve a very worthwhile, non-denominational service.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 2, 2012

more

March 2, 2012

I worked with Nechama during the spring of 2011 throughout Mississippi after tornadoes ravaged the region. The organization was an all inclusive experience of disaster relief. I spent time doing search and rescue, as well as relief, it was a life changing experience and I am extremely grateful for the opportunities that Nechama provided to me. The service they provide is paramount and I hope that the organization continues to flourish. I am proud to have been a part of such an amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers