Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.966395
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I volunteered with them over a couple of days in Southern Indiana. They are very organized and easy to get along with. Overall it was a good experience.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

It was great working with them on my AmeriCorps service project helping those impacted by the flooding in metro Detroit. In Seprember 2014, we assisted resident senior citizen in Oak Park, MI to make sure her basement was cleared out. They have a great group that really came in and got the work done. I would work with them again in the future.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

I met Nechama the summer of 2014 when they came to oak park Michigan like angels to assist our community with horrible home flooding damages. I volunteered 2 times and was in awe of their can do energy, kindness and
philosophy of helping to repair the world. I cannot praise them high enough
and the recipients of their help were in awe and ever so grateful As Nechama volunteers went house to house tearing out moldy basement walls and sanitizing the damaged properties. Nechama is a gem and deserves your support!
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

My first time volunteering was in the Detroit crisis! NECHAMA staff were well organized, welcomed me, provided all the equipment and protective gear needed for the job. Our team of about 8-10 worked well together. When there was a question or assistance needed all I had to do was ask, and someone pitched right in to get the job done. "Doing good, getting dirty" was a day well spent with this top-notch organization! JS
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

NECHAMA is awesome. It was a great pleasure working with the volunteers. they are all pleasant and knowledgeable of what to do to assist in helping victims of disaster look forward to quick recovery. I will definitely volunteer with NECHAMA again.
October 22, 2014

more

October 22, 2014

A year ago, I wanted to donate money (for a bad midwest town, hit by a tornado). When I looked on my computer, I saw the Nechama agency. This September (2014), I received an Email (about helping, at the Detroit area, following the August flash floods), I retired two years ago (from 38 years with Mich Social Services) and had been a Red Cross disaster volunteer (for over ten years). I thought, this would be a different way, to express my Jewish feelings (about repairing the world-tekun olam). I have averaged two days, per week (this October) and plan, to finish out, until Oct 31 (when the Americorp volunteers and Nechama, go to other disaster sites). I'm 68, but have tried to keep up and assist the team (in cleaning out the previously flooded basements and tearing out carpeting and paneling sections). I have truly had several, good, physical workouts and have indeed become, quite dirty, yet have found my body energized and my heart very tranquil. Not only, have I experienced a very basic, quantifiable definition, of helping others truly 'dig out' of a rough spot. I have had the extreme pleasure and honor, of working, among young, intelligent, dedicated, hard-working, young adults. Not only, have they renewed my faith (in the 'younger generation'), but, I have experienced a very well coordinated agency (Nechama). I cannot, easily leave the Detroit area (to chase after other disasters), but I can and will track, the blessed works, of Nechama. I will also plan, to send in donations. Most people think, that heroes fly around in capes, drive in Bat Mobiles, and have have super powers. But (truth be told); sometimes, heroes come to help (dressed, in overalls, helpmeets, work gloves, boots, air filter masks, and dedication. Dan and Rachel (the Nechama coordinator and team leader), were kind, patient, tireless, and were 'on top of their games and projects. If they have to come back here (for some other disaster), If I have the time and energy; I'll be their. Outstanding group.
September 22, 2014

more

September 22, 2014

NECHAMA is amazing. I spent a day volunteering with them and was so impressed by their staff, and their willingness to help others.
September 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 27, 2009

Nechama provided me with an opportunity to help victims in a 'hands-on' manner and to develop my skills as a volunteer. more

September 22, 2014

I have volunteered with Nechama for several years. Recently, it was very personal, as I helped to clean up flood damage on the block that I lived on, in a city where I used to live. Nechama's willingness to travel to disaster sites, and ability to engage local volunteers is a strength of the organization, along with the dedication of key leaders and volunteers.
October 27, 2009

Nechama provided me with an opportunity to help victims in a 'hands-on' manner and to develop my skills as a volunteer.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Physically helping people affected by disaster, as well as providing emotional support by showing that other people care enough to help.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 1, 2014

more

March 1, 2014

I spent a week out helping with Hurricane Sandy repair work in mid-2013. The days were very well organized, my time was well spent, I got to know the people's houses we were working on, and I learned a ton!!! I really appreciated the flexibility that the organization had - you could stay for one day or multiple months. I'll definitely be working with this organization again, and highly recommend it for others!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2013

more

November 10, 2013

I first worked with NECHAMA in January 2007 as part of their relief efforts in New Orleans after Hurricane Katrina. My most recent experience with NECHAMA was in July 2013 when I brought out a group to assist with their efforts on Long Island after Hurricane Sandy. Both times I found the process (from initial sign-up through the actual volunteer date(s)) to be very well organized and the staff to be extremely well trained and knowledgeable. The staff is able to work very quickly to get a group of virtually inexperienced volunteers up to speed about the task at hand. Because of the staff's great guidance, the volunteers feel very accomplished at the end of the day. I am looking forward to volunteering with NECHAMA again!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers