Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.960785
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have volunteered with Nechama twice this year, once in April and once in August. Both times were on Long Island helping Sandy victims. This organization does a great job of giving people back their lives. They also do a fantastic job of taking absolute strangers (people who volunteer) who may or may not know anything about rehabbing and turn them into a cohesive, productive team. I knew nothing when I went, now I can install insulation, hang dry wall, make mud and apply it, sand and paint, and the biggest thrill of all, I used a sawzall. I have met awesome people both staff and volunteers and I had a great time too. I will continue to support this organization. I plan to go back next year....where ever they need me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide some background knowledge to volunteers before they go into the field. I suggested a measuring for dummies sort of class, because I am just awful at measuring things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I worked with NECHAMA for five weeks after the flood in Colorado. The organization was great because they looked for people who needed the most help. They were organized and great to work with. NECHAMA is an organization that is accepting of everyone and is really there to do good for others with no agenda. Anyone who has the chance to work with them should take it. Seeing this organization grow in scope will be amazing as they will be able to help more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered with Nechama during Christmas break from an AmeriCorps program. It was absolutely the best use of my vacation. Nechama provided food an lodging for volunteers which made it possible to volunteer for more than one day. I gutted houses, scraped tile off of floors, hauled branches. I met some amazing people, volunteers and homeowners. The homeowners were so appreciative of the work Nechama has done to help them recover from Hurricane Sandy. I was an great experience all around and I have been itchy to get involved again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have know about Nechama for some time, but was particularly drawn to their rebuilding efforts in Long Island, NY as I felt it would be a great opportunity to use my building skills to work to help others. The team was well organized, planning everything the night before, having the supplies and equipment ready, and mixing abilities to make sure things were done well. I really enjoyed the opportunity to work with other volunteers across age and skill levels. We had a team of high school students on their vacation working with us, and I know they learned a lot. The field leaders for Nechama were great at mixing practicality and humor to make it a worth while experience. I am already trying to find another opportunity in my schedule to join them again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Given I generally prefer to volunteer over a weekend to minimize time off of work. I would love it if they had project work going on Saturdays as well. Would be more convenient for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I was serving with AmeriCorps NCCC, and I got the wonderful opportunity to serve with Nechama. I thoroughly enjoyed working with them and their passion for the work they do really showed. I would work with them again if I could in the future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get their name out their more

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My team and I just got done serving with Nechama for 5 weeks in Colorado. We are in AmeriCorps NCCC and we work with a lot of different non-profits throughout our service year and I can confidently say that Nechama is the best experience we have had so far. They are organized, helpful and always upbeat. Though it is a Jewish organization, being non-jewish was never something I even thought about while serving with them. They are all inclusive and have accomplished so much and will continue to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it more well known!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I volunteered with NECHAMA after Hurricane Sandy hit NY and NJ. The staff and volunteers of NECHAMA showed incredible work ethic and compassion for local home-owners who were affected by the storm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have spent time with NECHAMA at multiple different natural disasters over the past year. It has been a beautiful experience to see what they do first hand. They offer a wonderful experience to each of their volunteers, while providing compassion, all their resources, and experienced leadership to help those in most need. NECHAMA is changing the world for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I just got off of serving 5 weeks with NECHAMA through AmeriCorps NCCC and couldn't have hoped for a better experience. The people of NECHAMA are the greatest and truly care about every volunteer as well as every person/family they provide services to. Even though they are a Jewish disaster group, they do not discriminate against anyone and they help anybody in need, no matter their denomination. I had the best experience and would work with them again in a heartbeat.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get their name out more so more people are aware of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I decided to volunteer with NECHAMA after Hurricane Sandy hit NY and NJ. I had previously worked with AmeriCorps NCCC and it was through my friends in that organization that I discovered NECHAMA. They described it as a nonprofit that had great people with unimaginable work ethics, as I soon found out first hand. The staff and volunteers of NECHAMA went above and beyond to help victims whose lives had been altered with such gravity that when I went to my first site, I was able to tell who was the homeowner we were helping right away. The storm was written all over their face, but so was the look of unwavering gratitude towards the workers of NECHAMA who had been there day in and day out and who would continue to be there until the job was finished. The dedication of the staff and volunteers was an incredible thing to be a part of, even if it was for a short period of time. I was honored to work with them, and I hope I get to do so again.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers