Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 23, 2013

more

October 23, 2013

I am a proud alumni of the Class of 1992. I was selected as an alternate and got a chance to go when someone could not attend. Boy am I grateful for the opportunity. It was hear that I learned to value the reference point of others. It transcended my life the way I looked at the human race and my ability and responsibility to interact. The program has obviously gotten a lot stronger over the past 20 years, and I find comfort in knowing that NCCJ is continuing to make diversity leaders in so many of our high school students in the Triad. Congrats!

-NC House of Representatives
Marcus Brandon

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My teacher told me about anytown going into my sophomore year of high school and I went into it blind having no idea what it was about and then once I got their it completely changed my life. I've always been the type of person that is accepting of all and believes as human beings we can all find ways to connect but it just took it to another level. I often say if everybody in the world could go through anytown it would be a better world. I also would tell anybody that my family made me who I am today but anytown made me the man I'm proud to be. There isn't a day that goes by where I don't use some of the skills that anytown taught me. Not to mention that I met some lifelong friends in my time there. The impact that anytown/nccj has on the youth in our community is invaluable and it will forever be a group I stand up and fight for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only work to expand it. If its not broke dont fix it is something I subscribe to and NCCJ is a great example of this theory.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was introduced to NCCJ when my mom told me I would be attending ANYTOWN, their flagship program. I was convinced my protests in the past and self-identification as an "ally" were enough to make me a good and conscious member of our diverse society. Once I attended ANYTOWN, I realized that I may have recognized privilege, but accepting my privilege and understanding how it impacts myself and others is the first step that must be made before I could be a true ally and a truly involved citizen of of our society. NCCJ has a staff that has a true passion for enlightenment of the youth and has programs that highlight fundamental issues in our society and teach youth how to counteract these issues. I went to ANYTOWN over the summer of 2010 and volunteered over the 2012 and 2013 summer sessions as a counselor. I believe in NCCJ's mission and I believe NCCJ fights bias, bigotry, and racism and opens people's eyes to privilege effectively and passionately.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open up more programs for adults.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I was first introduced to NCCJ via their Anytown program in 2003. Even at 15 years old, I knew their mission was one worth supporting. For the past 10 years, I've watched the organization evolve and really make an impression on the community of Greensboro. They take steps to making this world a more decent place, and that is truly invaluable.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only flaws of NCCJ are due to the nature of non-profit businesses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013

more

October 3, 2013

I am a teacher in Guilford County and have had the opportunity to work with NCCJ (and many of my students) through their ANYTOWN and ANYDAY programs. I have seen students change and grow because of their experiences at both. Students are challenged to not only look at how society looks at different things, but how their own preconceived notions of society affects how they interact with people. There have been such positive changes in my students who attend ANYTOWN or ANYDAY, so much so that my students are bringing not only learning from their experiences but integrating their new knowledge into our school Diversity club. These students seem to have a stronger sense of self and an awareness of their environment and interpersonal interactions, and it shows in their daily behavior.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ensure they have even more funding to reach out to these students! Other than that, none!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

The National Conference for Community and Justice, NCCJ, is an outstanding nonprofit organization that I have had the amazing pleasure of being a part for the last year and a half. My experience with NCCJ began in 2012 when I attended the week long human relations and leadership development summer camp, Anytown, as a delegate. There almost aren't enough words to describe how much fun I had with my fellow delegates! Learning, sharing and growing together with other youth from my community that I wouldn't have otherwise had the chance to interact with was incredible. I can proudly and confidential say that Anytown was the absolute BEST week of my life. As soon as the week was over I joined the ambassador program and helped lead youth conferences, discussion groups and Anydays for middle and elementary school students. This past summer I had the chance to work with NCCJ as a Anytown camp counselor which was the most rewarding thing I have ever experienced. Throughout my time with the organization I’ve become a true leader, owing all the credit to NCCJ. If you want to: gain life changing skills, positively get involved with your community and acquire friends for a life time become a part of the National Conference for Community and Justice!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I have been involved with NCCJ since 2011. My experience began as a delegate at the Anytown camp in the summer. That week was one of the most eye opening weeks I have ever experienced and it absolutely changed my life. Without a doubt, Anytown was the best thing that could have happened to me. After Anytown, I became involved with the Ambassador program. The program was great to help me continue what I learned at Anytown and give me an opportunity to become involved with my community and school, doing service learning projects and other volunteer work. In 2013, I was chosen to be a counselor at Anytown. I have been involved with NCCJ at many different levels. The staff members are fantastic and I always adore working with them. NCCJ is the greatest nonprofit organization around, if you ask me!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I've been volunteering with NCCJ since 2004. I've had the pleasure of being involved in many different types of programs for NCCJ. It's been an honor working with such a wonderful diverse group of adults, young people, community leaders, etc. The work that NCCJ is truly life-changing. The participants learn and grow but as a facilitator I also learn and grow every time that I'm involved with a program. That's the beauty of the work of NCCJ. It's not a one-way street of people telling others what or how to be. It's a community/family affair of coming together to create a more just world, together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

NCCJ is a wonderful organization that is so committed to its community and its mission. I was greatly impacted by the programs that this organization puts on annually three years ago and I've greatly looked forward to volunteering and assisting with those programs ever since. Such programs truly educate our community about important social justice issues that influence the lives of all daily. The role of this organization is key to diversity and awareness in our community. I am eterenally grateful for the work that NCCJ does!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have to think VERY hard about what I could possibly change. NCCJ is such a wonderful organizatoin that is so incredibly dedicated to its life-changing mission and its community. I very much enjoy lending a helping hand to this organization because of the impact that its programs had on my personal outlook on life. I look forward to leading and assisting with NCCJ programs every chance I get!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

I've been volunteering with NCCJ for almost fifteen years. The staff and other volunteers are all like family to me. I feel like they really appreciate my time and respect my opinions. I'm also a donor, and I believe that they are good stewards of my donations.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to grow.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers