Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.924535
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 16, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 27, 2012

The NC Prevention Partners group has been very helpful to the Surry County School district and individual schools within the district. They were instrumental in assisting us with steps and procedure... more

September 16, 2013

NC Prevention Partners has worked very closely with Surry County Schools. We have established a great rapport and partnership. We have depended on them for guidance in helping create a healthy environment for students and staff. We are proud that four (4) of our elementary schools have been awarded the Zone Health Award. The folks at NC Prevention Partners have supported us through the entire process. We appreciate their dedication and service and would love to see them receive the honor and credit they deserve.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 27, 2012

The NC Prevention Partners group has been very helpful to the Surry County School district and individual schools within the district. They were instrumental in assisting us with steps and procedures to work toward Zone Health. They answered emails and phones calls on a regular basis and were always extremely kind and helpful. They even made a personal visit to our school district. They were complimentary of programs we had implemented. All of our 19 schools are featured in white, green or red! Franklin Elemntary won the first Zone Health award in the state! Our relationship with NC Prevention Partners is strong, and we look forward to future successes with them as we strive to accomplish Zone Health for our district and individual schools. The program is a valuable component of health and nutrition education. There work is important.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

NCPP has made a difference in helping our company understand what is considered "best practice" in creating a culture of health and wellness within the workplace. This serves to influence the environment, and provides direction for best health in our people. A big thank-you for their leadership support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

NC Prevention Partners combines a passion for employee wellness with staff who are knowledgeable, professional and responsive. Their enthusiasm and expertise make for an effective and rewarding working relationship.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 20, 2013

more

August 20, 2013

NC Prevention Partners has propelled NCSD to have a comprehensive wellness program with target goals. Doing the asssessment and getting a report card is well-understood. One major factor that is keeping us motivated is the support we receive through webinars and wellness events. We are inspired and encouraged to continuosly improve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

NC Prevention Partners is an outstanding organization that has taken a leadership role in the region and the country to reduce preventable illness and early death caused by tobacco use, poor nutrition and physical inactivity. Their assessment and implementation tools are user friendly and easy to use. The NC Prevention Partners staff are service-oriented and always willing to provide useful advice and tools to assist with making postive changes in our environment. I recommend them without reservation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

NC Prevention Partners has worked with Chatham County Schools for several years in helping guide both student and staff wellness activities and programs. Through their ZoneHealth program, they have provided incentives for schools and the district to begin assessing the wellness programs and developing action plans to increase activities and participation. We could not have done this ourselves. The technical assistance has been most helpful in moving schools toward a wellness-oriented approach to staff and student wellbeing. In addition, the information contained on the NC Prevention Partners webpage is a valuable resource for both teachers and administrators.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a whole lot more money.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

I have been working with this group since it's inception. They seek out people/organizations that have potential to work on wellness activities, and schools are prime partners in education about wellness.

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

Meg Malloy, the ED of Prevention Partners, has been a staunch ally of Youth Empowered Solutions!, a young organization on whose board of directors I serve. The goal of YES! is to empower young people to work alongside adults for social change, much of that change related to policy on adolescent health issues. Meg has assisted YES! in two critical ways. She has supported the involvement of one of her staff on the YES! board, and she has agreed to serve as a consultant to our ED and our board on crucial issues related to the growth, organization, and governance of YES!. She has met with our ED and our Board Development Committee on several occasions, providing extremely valuable counsel on a variety of issues we are facing as YES! progresses to a higher level of organizational development. It is clear that Meg sees her responsibility as ED of Prevention Partners as extending beyond her own organization to supporting other agencies that share Prevention Partner's mission of creating a healthier and more just society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

About two years ago, the SC Hospital Association Board of Trustees instructed our staff to initiate a statewide campaign within our membership to rid our campuses of trans-fat in cafeterias and vending machines, and we really thought we were about to embark on something big. Later conversations with a statewide prevention organization broadened our thoughts of what we could achieve to improve population health, and a simple internet search into what hospitals in NC were doing in wellness led us to NC Prevention Partners.

What a God-send they have been. As partners, SCHA and NCPP has assessed worksite wellness in hospitals across the state of SC and is now leading a statewide campaign to encourage 80,000 hospital employees to make healthy food choices, become more physically active and stop tobacco use.

NCPP has also assisted SCHA in leading members by example. Our organization has revamped our catering menu for heart healthy options, instituted workouts at work, has fresh produce delivered to staff from a local CSA, etc. And our employees are seeing the benefits of healthier lifestyles.

"Partners" is such a fitting word for this organization, as we are truly in this effort together. I have never personally met people so passionate and optimistic about their work and improving public health.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...my personal life. I'm more physically active, I make better food choices, and I'm more determined to assist people with smoking cessation. And because I now make healthier choices, so does my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...transfer them to the state of SC! Ok, I wouldn't be a hog... maybe I'd place one NCPP in each state. Their work is impacting lives...seriously.

June 15, 2011

more

June 15, 2011

I am a school board member in Durham, NC and believe our schools must offer students a healthy environment in which to learn. The district Wellness Coordinator has worked with NC PRevention Partners and their Zone Health program to help our schools promote physical activity and good nutrition among students and faculty.

Our schools have used Zone Health to support the establishment of school-based wellness committees, which can use the online tools to assess the needs of the school, create action plans, and develop programs and policies to address the health needs of the schools. Our district has also worked with NCPP and Work Healthy America to create an employee wellness program in the district and to help individual schools foster staff wellness.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my school district.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

align the Zone Health school assessment criteria with those of the Healthier US School Challenge so schools can improve and qualify for awards from the federal government and Zone Health.

June 13, 2011

more

June 13, 2011

We have contracted with NC Prevention Partners to provide services to the NYC Dept of Health Bureau of Tobacco Control. We are very excited to be working with them as they have demonstrated a high degree of professionalism and expertise on the issue of tobacco control. They have developed web based tools that are well researched, easy to use and tailored to the specific needs of various organizations. NC Prevention Partners has strong leadership and a tremendous dedication to work that is rigorous and evidence based.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Teh staff at NC Prevention Partners are collaborative, dedicated and fun to work with. They bring their presonalities and their professionalism to everything that they do and we have found this to be an excellent partnership.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NC Prevention Partners has developed a model that has worked well in North Carolina and they are expanding their work to South Carolina. They are also workiing with the CDC to bring their products and services to a national audience. They currently have limited experience in tailoring their system for different cities and municipalities but we're working closely with them and they are making great progress on developing a system that meets our needs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Through national partners who recomended them to us.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers