Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.924535
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

Meg Malloy, the ED of Prevention Partners, has been a staunch ally of Youth Empowered Solutions!, a young organization on whose board of directors I serve. The goal of YES! is to empower young people to work alongside adults for social change, much of that change related to policy on adolescent health issues. Meg has assisted YES! in two critical ways. She has supported the involvement of one of her staff on the YES! board, and she has agreed to serve as a consultant to our ED and our board on crucial issues related to the growth, organization, and governance of YES!. She has met with our ED and our Board Development Committee on several occasions, providing extremely valuable counsel on a variety of issues we are facing as YES! progresses to a higher level of organizational development. It is clear that Meg sees her responsibility as ED of Prevention Partners as extending beyond her own organization to supporting other agencies that share Prevention Partner's mission of creating a healthier and more just society.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2012

more

September 7, 2012

NC Prevention Partners has been a major influence in helping hospitals in NC become tobacco free. They have a 100% record. This is especially impactful coming from NC, with big tobacco so influential. They have also been the driving force behind restaurants/bars becoming smoke free. This work has been noted by others. While not directly treating smokers to help them quit, their activities have helped many in NC become non-smokers.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

NCPP is a leader in providing and implementing insightful and thought provoking preventive health initiatives within community settings, whether they be community hospitals, employers or other public agencies. Their preventive health and health improvement focus leads the way for improving general community health and setting examples of correct approaches for achieving adoption of healthy behaviors.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

The staff at NC Prevention Partners are experts in their field and have a strong desire and commitment to collaborate with other organizations. I have experienced this in my role as an Executive Director for a nonprofit organization. We have partnered with them on several program initiatives. As a less experienced nonprofit ED, I have also been extremely impressed with the Executive Director for NCPP and her willingness to serve as a mentor to me. She has given so much of her time and expertise in helping me with issues of board governance, budgeting, strategic planning and many other issues. NCPP has a great reputation among industry leaders.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 31, 2012

more

August 31, 2012

NC Prevention Partners is an organization with strong, professional leadership and a team of passionate and dedicated professionals committed to wellness in schools, hospitals and businesses. NCPP also has a strong internship program and highly values its interns as members of the organization. They openly acknowledge their work and accomplishments and provide mentorship and meaningful learning opportunities for professional growth. With my background in education, public health and social work, my summer internship with NC Prevention Partners’ schools team provided many valuable learning opportunities to broaden my understanding of the innovative ways schools, communities and policymakers can work collaboratively together toward school health and wellness. I would recommend an internship with NC Prevention Partners to anyone interested in pursuing work in health promotion or chronic disease prevention.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 30, 2011

more

June 30, 2011

I have done considerable work with North Carolina Prevention Partners (NCPP) in my previous capacity at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office on Smoking and Health staff person.
NCPP has provided both state and national leadership in physical activity, tobacco control and work
with hospitals. Few other states have been able to get 100% of hospitals to implement tobacco free campuses, an improtant health policy. This is a significant accomplishment in one of the major tobacco producing states in the US. Meg Molloy has provided outstanding leadership for the organization and has attracted high level competent staff.
The organization's accomplishments over the course of their years of operation has been significant. I would sincerely recommend a continued high rating for this extremely effective organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NCPP has frequently used consultation to improve and expand their activities. They are recognized nationally for hospital systems change initiatives in tobacco dependence treatment. NCPP has worked with hospitals to imporve food and nutrition services available to employees and patients, sponsored competitions between hospital chefs and encouraged hospitals to improve employee physical activity. Work with the State Medicaid Program was done to improve tobacco dependence treatment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have seen little about this organization that I would suggest changing. There is strong leadership, effective staffing that works in a supportive atmosphere, which has accomplished a great deal compared to other organizaitons of this type. I would hope the organization is able to obtain additional funding to increase staffing and expand similar initiatives to additional organizations around the state.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

I developed a working relationship with NCPP in 2008 when I first began working for the Alliance for a Healthier Generation Healthy Schools Program as the NC relationship manager. Since NCPP has a similar school health program and also works with K-12 NC schools we decided to connect to discuss strategic ways to offer our programs in separate school districts to ensure that similar efforts were not being duplicated. This working relationship has allowed both of our organizations to offer assistance to NC schools to create healthier school environments by offering best practices tool & resources without duplicating efforts within the same schools or districts.
Our working relationship has also allowed us to collaborate with other school and community health organizations to build relationships with roundtable discussions to assist with strategically planning on how to offer services and resources to create healthier North Carolinians. With these effective collaborations NCPP was able to create a school health connection website that can assist schools and community health professional to identify where school health programs are being offered. I look forward to continuous efforts to reduce the obesity epidemic and create a healthier state.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

School and community health initiatives in the State of NC

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like for this organization to narrow their work efforts to communities, hospitals, other workforce institutions.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

I am the Director of Food Nutrition at CMC Union hospital in Monroe, NC. When I was hired at this account one of the top priorities for the admistration was to turn the cafe into a Red Apple operation. Our staff and RDs worked with the folks at NCPP and came up with the menu options to sastisfy Red Apple status. The material and information from the NCPP is very clear and helpful. The people at NCPP are very helpful and asssited us reaching our goals. As a result of a great team effort, we were recently awarded the Red Apple! Thank you, thank you, NCPP

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I rate NCPP 10 out of 10!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They do a great job.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

I volunteered with NCPP on their Quit Tobacco initiative and other projects related to tobacco cessation systems in hospitals. NCPP's long-term commitment to prevention is definitely ahead of its time. The organization has a demonstrated commitment to its mission, through influencing policy, helping other organizations promote wellness, and ensuring that health is a priority within NCPP. After volunteering with the organization, I have kept watch of NCPP's work and expansion. In an economy and climate where organizations with admirable missions are struggling, NCPP is thriving because of its commitment to prevention--something that is rightfully gaining traction in policy realms and in our communities. They use well-supported evidence based tactics, collaborate within NC and beyond, and have had considerable influence on policies for a healthier NC. I continue to be impressed with their reach and collaborative efforts as a relatively small organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching them move from one goal to another--from helping NC hospitals go tobacco free, to improving school health. I've also had the pleasure to watch NCPP purposefully expand and continue to be very resourceful.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have NCPP continue to scale up to the national level, beyond NC, while still maintaining an active focus on NC issues.

June 28, 2011

more

June 28, 2011

About two years ago, the SC Hospital Association Board of Trustees instructed our staff to initiate a statewide campaign within our membership to rid our campuses of trans-fat in cafeterias and vending machines, and we really thought we were about to embark on something big. Later conversations with a statewide prevention organization broadened our thoughts of what we could achieve to improve population health, and a simple internet search into what hospitals in NC were doing in wellness led us to NC Prevention Partners.

What a God-send they have been. As partners, SCHA and NCPP has assessed worksite wellness in hospitals across the state of SC and is now leading a statewide campaign to encourage 80,000 hospital employees to make healthy food choices, become more physically active and stop tobacco use.

NCPP has also assisted SCHA in leading members by example. Our organization has revamped our catering menu for heart healthy options, instituted workouts at work, has fresh produce delivered to staff from a local CSA, etc. And our employees are seeing the benefits of healthier lifestyles.

"Partners" is such a fitting word for this organization, as we are truly in this effort together. I have never personally met people so passionate and optimistic about their work and improving public health.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...my personal life. I'm more physically active, I make better food choices, and I'm more determined to assist people with smoking cessation. And because I now make healthier choices, so does my family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...transfer them to the state of SC! Ok, I wouldn't be a hog... maybe I'd place one NCPP in each state. Their work is impacting lives...seriously.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers