Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

I will be honest - I had never heard about Nazareth House until my mother moved to Kentucky. While there she became very involved with NHA and her enthusiasm is contagious. I think they do more for the people they are trying to help than other larger organizations because their overhead is so low with most of the administrative work being done by unpaid volunteers. Their outreach in Sierra Leone is unparalleled and I have now made them a priority in my charitable giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

Father Tom and Vicki do such a phenomenal job at Nazareth House Apostolate. The thing that I love about these two is that you don't have to be around them long to see how passionate and caring they are to everyone they come in contact with. You also see how eager and excited they are to share their work at NHA with any and everyone. I love receiving news hearing what they are working on and how NHA is making a difference. There are very few people that I interact with and say, "those people are changing the world," and they are definitely in that statement. Thank you guys for all the hard work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

Definitely one of the very best nonprofits around. While many worldwide are worthy, the Nazareth House truly walks and talks the real deal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Nothing in the world is equal to Nazareth House Apostolate. There are many great charities, and service done by others is vital where they apply their heartsong for those in many kinds of need.
But Nazareth House is the God-Heart child of a man on a mission, with a life-path so unique,
especially among Americans, as to defy description. Father Seraphim, aptly named, has served in Christian ministries of every kind, followed ancient roads to spirituality, and shed any Western-driven norms while staying completely in concert with Jesus Christ, that the outgrowth of this ministry runs pure and clear as a high mountain stream.
The NHA work in Sierra Leone, borne out of deep suffering and prayer over a war-torn nation, give life to hundreds of children who live, learn, and survive the world's highest infant and young-child mortality environment, with stories I am not fit to tell. These little ones will change the country, and thus the world.
From those distant shores to the St. Simeon's Skete in the rolling Kentucky countryside, an air of deep devotion, steady visions shared without cost, and the chance to walk the spiritual trail with Fr. Seraphim and his wife, Vicki. The experience has changed the many who have stayed there. It's an Anglican-Orthodox-Catholic-Evangelical Christian diving board into the pool of Jesus Himself.
Father often says, almost with surprise, "I don't just love God, I like Him!" Would we all could say that with such delight every day.
This ministry keeps kids alive, and we who don't struggle with that, may find there the way to keep our souls alive in these days of discouragement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a larger donation to it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

St. Simeon Skete/Nazareth House Apostolate is a wonderful charity. They take a hands on approach
and really care about the people, kids and school they founded in Sierra Leone, West Africa. The administrator does all in her power so donations are used wisely. Most of her energy is spent to

see that the school, kids and people they help have everything that is needed. That is important.
The Board of Directors totally believes in their mission and are very conscientious of any and all
efforts they make. In my past, I helped to incorporate and administer another non-profit for eight
years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 26, 2014

Meeting the founders of NHA was a life changing experience. I can honestly say that my life, and my spiritual life has truly been enriched by the ministry of NHA. They are a wonderful Religious and humanitarian organization. I have not been able to give as much as I would like to give to them, but what I have given I know has gone to a wonderful cause, helping children in Sierra Leon. I try to donate as much as I can to this organization, be it money or prayers. I am so very thankful of NHA and for their guidance in my life. I have become a better person through their ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Nazareth House Apostolate is a Christ centered organization that truly carries out the exhortation of St. James to “Be ye doers of the word, and not hearers only…”. Their work in Sierra Leone is up close and personal with the full expression of our Lords Gospel…the Word is spread and backed up with food, clothing, and education to the needy. Their work should be an example to all who call themselves a “Follower of Christ”. NHA has our support, and will continue to have that support in both our prayers and financial offerings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Nazareth House Apostolate is an exemplary nonprofit! They don't waste a penny gifted to them, but put all monies and goods donated to immediate use for the good of those they serve. We appreciate seeing pictures of the goods arriving in Sierra Leone; we KNOW those who are in need are the ones receiving what is given. Having met Father Seraphim and Vicki and James, we can vouch for their integrity and their love. We feel blessed to support their ministry!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

So grateful for the work that NHA does. And the communication that comes from Sierra Leone after a donation means the world! It is personal and clearly appreciative. I also respect the way the organization is run and the desire to make the current project sustainable by the locals so that efforts can be expanded elsewhere. To know that my money is helping to heal an entire country from the devastation of war, one village at a time, is a source of joy and satisfaction. And to know I can trust this organization to distribute 100% of the money I give, directly to people I see in the pictures of appreciation brings peace of mind.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Publicize is more and go on speaking and fundraising trips all over the U.S. Only 1000 committed donors at 25 dollars a month would cover a multitude of projects.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 11, 2013

Long before Vicki and her Sierra Leone family arrive, the roads and footpaths out of Freetown are lined with thankful, eager villagers awaiting them. They travel by rented car, and walk miles off the ... more

October 19, 2013

This small charity must surely do more for it's recipients than most, regardless of their size--and Vicki is the power behind it, and at NO PAY! She and her husband, Fr. Seraphim, take care of hundreds of poor people of all ages in Sierra Leone, regardless of religion (or lack thereof). They fly over there bringing suitcases filled with much needed medical and non-medical supplies, use a rental car, and, with the aid of helpers there, travel miles over substandard and dangerous roads; and on most trips, they walk many more when the roads give out--still hauling food and other goods. They are among the most loving, caring, and dedicated people I know of, and I wish that I could do more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

if I could, give them millions of dollars, thousands of doners and hundreds of workers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Long before Vicki and her Sierra Leone family arrive, the roads and footpaths out of Freetown are lined with thankful, eager villagers awaiting them. They travel by rented car, and walk miles off the more passable roads to reach groups of sometimes only two or three families, bringing food, medicine, hope, and love. The school is thriving, the children dressed in uniforms that Vicki and many volunteers make. NHA likely does more for more people than any other charity of its size--and with far less. I have been a 'helper' for a number of years now, and wish that I had a fortune to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers