Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

I am a board member of Nazareth House Apostolate ( NHA) living and working on the ground, born and raised in Sierra Leone. I oversee and manage the school here in Kabala and it is my responsibility to provide rice supplies and medical to those in need. NHA has impacted so many lives in my poor community and its surrounding villages. Seeing the big smiles everyday on the faces of our school kids reminds me of nothing but the wonderful joy brought in by Nazareth House Apostolate. I feel so honored to be part of this noble course and would give my life serving Nazareth House Apostolate as their goal is to change more lives in mama Sierra Leone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Convince people to make more donation and help us do more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I have known Father Seraphim and Vicki for over 10 years. They have become such an integral part of our lives. Father Seraphim baptized my children, traveled from Kentucky to our home in Georgia to give my Mother her last rights, and came back a few weeks later to conduct the funeral services. Without them in my life, I don't know where I would be. The power of prayer can truly be felt when at St. Simeon Skete. As influential and devoted they are in my life, they are just as much so in the work they do in Sierra Leone. Every dollar donated goes towards helping those in need, unlike some other non-profits where only a fraction of every dollar actually goes to those that need it. You know, with 100% certainty, that any donation you make towards their mission work is changing someone's life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get them more exposure for their mission work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

The work that NHA does in Sierra Leone is life-changing for the people they are able to help. Being a small organization, NHA is able to go where the big groups cannot, and help folks that might otherwise be overlooked. The school in Kabala is especially dear to my heart, providing an invaluable service--education--to so many children that otherwise would not have the opportunity. The Hicks are amazing administrators, doing so much good with the limited resources available. I heartily recommend donating to NHA; you can feel good knowing it will be put to good use.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I first became involved with Nazareth House Apostolate in early 2008 after having retired from a non-profit organization in Charleston, SC and moved to Louisville, KY. In my quest for a church to attend regularly, I found not only that but NHA, Father Seraphim and Vicki Hicks! The idea of NHA struck my
heart strings....I had retired from a non-profit charged with providing food for the hungry primarily. Here was my opportunity to help not only help a God driven cause to feed, clothe, provide medical care, housing and education to some of His most needy and abused people...Sierra Leone... I became absorbed in His Mercy working with so little yet accomplishing so very much. I moved back to Augusta, GA in 2010 and have not ever stopped supporting NHA with prayers, money and any other assistance I have been instrumental in providing. To know children are able to obtain educations hence allowing them to make better lives for themselves and others, especially since God charges us all with the care of each other, makes my life a much richer one. Visit the NHA website for photos of how the money donated is used...you will be AMAZED!! I am personally awed every time I see those people and how much NHA does with so very little!!! Do yourself one of the biggest and most important favors you will ever do for yourself - BECOME A REGULAR DONOR TO NAZARATH HOUSE APOSTOLATE....REMEMBER.. YOU CAN'T OUT GIVE GOD!! YOU will be greatly blessed! I know this to be factual because I AM BLESSED BEYOND MY WILDEST EXPECTATIONS! Your donations are also tax deductible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2013

NHA provides a primary education to 300+ students in Sierra Leone, paying local teachers, and providing them with one classroom and education materials and uniforms. NHA provides food and medicine to a number of villages and families in places ranging from Kabala to Freetown. They provide assorted other humanitarian aid as needed.

NHA is run by Vicki and Father Seraphim, who are street savvy and practical and want to make a difference in small communities and maintain a personal connection with those they help. They strive to make very smart decisions about how to spend donation money and use it wisely.

Two things that initially attracted me to NHA and continue to be true:
- This work is the charitable output of a cloistered religious organization based out of rural Kentucky. NHA has essentially zero overhead and all money donated for the work in Africa actually makes it there.
- While this is the mission of NHA, it's not "missionary", it's about helping others. This is not a crusade, or even an overt attempt to convert non-Christian folks in Sierra Leone. The organization gets along quite well with the local Muslim communities and receives their support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Being a part of Nazareth House Apostolate is more than a position as board member or donor or volunteer - its being a part of a family that works together to help each other out. From the giver to the receiver, everyone gets to know each other - there are faces behind the needs and faces behind the donation - everyone benefits. Through this family-like bonding much has been accomplished. We have built, operate, supply and support a school in Kabala, Sierra Leone that educates 300 students. Its a free school, too - we do not charge tuition and we supply the uniforms - all from the donations we receive. Medications and hospital supplies are provided both to individuals in needs and many clinics in the area. Families are given the boost they need in food, shelter - whatever the need - so that their families can function and flourish. We've put in wells for fresh water, built a compound that houses our staff and supplies. Daily aid is given. Check out our blog and you will see your donation in action. http://blog.nazarethhouseap.org/

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers