Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

I am a board member of Nazareth House Apostolate ( NHA) living and working on the ground, born and raised in Sierra Leone. I oversee and manage the school here in Kabala and it is my responsibility to provide rice supplies and medical to those in need. NHA has impacted so many lives in my poor community and its surrounding villages. Seeing the big smiles everyday on the faces of our school kids reminds me of nothing but the wonderful joy brought in by Nazareth House Apostolate. I feel so honored to be part of this noble course and would give my life serving Nazareth House Apostolate as their goal is to change more lives in mama Sierra Leone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Convince people to make more donation and help us do more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

I will be honest - I had never heard about Nazareth House until my mother moved to Kentucky. While there she became very involved with NHA and her enthusiasm is contagious. I think they do more for the people they are trying to help than other larger organizations because their overhead is so low with most of the administrative work being done by unpaid volunteers. Their outreach in Sierra Leone is unparalleled and I have now made them a priority in my charitable giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

more

June 9, 2014

I have known Father Seraphim and Vicki for over 10 years. They have become such an integral part of our lives. Father Seraphim baptized my children, traveled from Kentucky to our home in Georgia to give my Mother her last rights, and came back a few weeks later to conduct the funeral services. Without them in my life, I don't know where I would be. The power of prayer can truly be felt when at St. Simeon Skete. As influential and devoted they are in my life, they are just as much so in the work they do in Sierra Leone. Every dollar donated goes towards helping those in need, unlike some other non-profits where only a fraction of every dollar actually goes to those that need it. You know, with 100% certainty, that any donation you make towards their mission work is changing someone's life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to get them more exposure for their mission work

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 9, 2014

Father Tom and Vicki do such a phenomenal job at Nazareth House Apostolate. The thing that I love about these two is that you don't have to be around them long to see how passionate and caring they are to everyone they come in contact with. You also see how eager and excited they are to share their work at NHA with any and everyone. I love receiving news hearing what they are working on and how NHA is making a difference. There are very few people that I interact with and say, "those people are changing the world," and they are definitely in that statement. Thank you guys for all the hard work!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

Definitely one of the very best nonprofits around. While many worldwide are worthy, the Nazareth House truly walks and talks the real deal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 3, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Nothing in the world is equal to Nazareth House Apostolate. There are many great charities, and service done by others is vital where they apply their heartsong for those in many kinds of need.
But Nazareth House is the God-Heart child of a man on a mission, with a life-path so unique,
especially among Americans, as to defy description. Father Seraphim, aptly named, has served in Christian ministries of every kind, followed ancient roads to spirituality, and shed any Western-driven norms while staying completely in concert with Jesus Christ, that the outgrowth of this ministry runs pure and clear as a high mountain stream.
The NHA work in Sierra Leone, borne out of deep suffering and prayer over a war-torn nation, give life to hundreds of children who live, learn, and survive the world's highest infant and young-child mortality environment, with stories I am not fit to tell. These little ones will change the country, and thus the world.
From those distant shores to the St. Simeon's Skete in the rolling Kentucky countryside, an air of deep devotion, steady visions shared without cost, and the chance to walk the spiritual trail with Fr. Seraphim and his wife, Vicki. The experience has changed the many who have stayed there. It's an Anglican-Orthodox-Catholic-Evangelical Christian diving board into the pool of Jesus Himself.
Father often says, almost with surprise, "I don't just love God, I like Him!" Would we all could say that with such delight every day.
This ministry keeps kids alive, and we who don't struggle with that, may find there the way to keep our souls alive in these days of discouragement.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make a larger donation to it.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 3, 2014

The work that NHA does in Sierra Leone is life-changing for the people they are able to help. Being a small organization, NHA is able to go where the big groups cannot, and help folks that might otherwise be overlooked. The school in Kabala is especially dear to my heart, providing an invaluable service--education--to so many children that otherwise would not have the opportunity. The Hicks are amazing administrators, doing so much good with the limited resources available. I heartily recommend donating to NHA; you can feel good knowing it will be put to good use.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

St. Simeon Skete/Nazareth House Apostolate is a wonderful charity. They take a hands on approach
and really care about the people, kids and school they founded in Sierra Leone, West Africa. The administrator does all in her power so donations are used wisely. Most of her energy is spent to

see that the school, kids and people they help have everything that is needed. That is important.
The Board of Directors totally believes in their mission and are very conscientious of any and all
efforts they make. In my past, I helped to incorporate and administer another non-profit for eight
years.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2014

Nazareth House Apostolate continues this day and everyday in the tradition of the Apostolic Fathers to execute the Great Commission of our Lord, "You will make Me known to the whole world," and they do this by "helping the least of these," specifically in the incredibly challenging environ of Sierra Leon, West Africa with a ministry directed at educating children while, at the same time, improving the general health of those children and their adult relatives.
There are, I am sure, many similar efforts being performed by all manner of other organizations. But I dare say that none have done so much for so long with so very, very little.
Reverend Father Michael V. Church+
Vicar, St. Thomas Aquinas Anglican Mission Chapel
Montgomery, Alabama

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 26, 2014

Meeting the founders of NHA was a life changing experience. I can honestly say that my life, and my spiritual life has truly been enriched by the ministry of NHA. They are a wonderful Religious and humanitarian organization. I have not been able to give as much as I would like to give to them, but what I have given I know has gone to a wonderful cause, helping children in Sierra Leon. I try to donate as much as I can to this organization, be it money or prayers. I am so very thankful of NHA and for their guidance in my life. I have become a better person through their ministry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make no changes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers