Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 11, 2013

Long before Vicki and her Sierra Leone family arrive, the roads and footpaths out of Freetown are lined with thankful, eager villagers awaiting them. They travel by rented car, and walk miles off the ... more

October 19, 2013

This small charity must surely do more for it's recipients than most, regardless of their size--and Vicki is the power behind it, and at NO PAY! She and her husband, Fr. Seraphim, take care of hundreds of poor people of all ages in Sierra Leone, regardless of religion (or lack thereof). They fly over there bringing suitcases filled with much needed medical and non-medical supplies, use a rental car, and, with the aid of helpers there, travel miles over substandard and dangerous roads; and on most trips, they walk many more when the roads give out--still hauling food and other goods. They are among the most loving, caring, and dedicated people I know of, and I wish that I could do more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

if I could, give them millions of dollars, thousands of doners and hundreds of workers.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Long before Vicki and her Sierra Leone family arrive, the roads and footpaths out of Freetown are lined with thankful, eager villagers awaiting them. They travel by rented car, and walk miles off the more passable roads to reach groups of sometimes only two or three families, bringing food, medicine, hope, and love. The school is thriving, the children dressed in uniforms that Vicki and many volunteers make. NHA likely does more for more people than any other charity of its size--and with far less. I have been a 'helper' for a number of years now, and wish that I had a fortune to give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I first became involved with Nazareth House Apostolate in early 2008 after having retired from a non-profit organization in Charleston, SC and moved to Louisville, KY. In my quest for a church to attend regularly, I found not only that but NHA, Father Seraphim and Vicki Hicks! The idea of NHA struck my
heart strings....I had retired from a non-profit charged with providing food for the hungry primarily. Here was my opportunity to help not only help a God driven cause to feed, clothe, provide medical care, housing and education to some of His most needy and abused people...Sierra Leone... I became absorbed in His Mercy working with so little yet accomplishing so very much. I moved back to Augusta, GA in 2010 and have not ever stopped supporting NHA with prayers, money and any other assistance I have been instrumental in providing. To know children are able to obtain educations hence allowing them to make better lives for themselves and others, especially since God charges us all with the care of each other, makes my life a much richer one. Visit the NHA website for photos of how the money donated is used...you will be AMAZED!! I am personally awed every time I see those people and how much NHA does with so very little!!! Do yourself one of the biggest and most important favors you will ever do for yourself - BECOME A REGULAR DONOR TO NAZARATH HOUSE APOSTOLATE....REMEMBER.. YOU CAN'T OUT GIVE GOD!! YOU will be greatly blessed! I know this to be factual because I AM BLESSED BEYOND MY WILDEST EXPECTATIONS! Your donations are also tax deductible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

NHA is a religious organization that works in Sierra Leone not to prosthelytize but to improve the lives of the people in rural communities. These people benefit from NHA's commitment to education through access to a school run by locals. In addition, NHA is committed to public health by providing medical treatment and supplies as well as preventive medical resources to the community. Although NHA is based out of Kentucky, it truly has a grassroots feel because it involves and empowers the people of Sierra Leone to increase the wellbeing of those around them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 17, 2013

NHA provides a primary education to 300+ students in Sierra Leone, paying local teachers, and providing them with one classroom and education materials and uniforms. NHA provides food and medicine to a number of villages and families in places ranging from Kabala to Freetown. They provide assorted other humanitarian aid as needed.

NHA is run by Vicki and Father Seraphim, who are street savvy and practical and want to make a difference in small communities and maintain a personal connection with those they help. They strive to make very smart decisions about how to spend donation money and use it wisely.

Two things that initially attracted me to NHA and continue to be true:
- This work is the charitable output of a cloistered religious organization based out of rural Kentucky. NHA has essentially zero overhead and all money donated for the work in Africa actually makes it there.
- While this is the mission of NHA, it's not "missionary", it's about helping others. This is not a crusade, or even an overt attempt to convert non-Christian folks in Sierra Leone. The organization gets along quite well with the local Muslim communities and receives their support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Then shall the King say unto them on His right hand, "Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungered, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me."

Then shall the righteous answer Him, saying "Lord, when saw we Thee an hungered, and fed Thee? or thirsty, and gave Thee drink? When saw we Thee a stranger, and took Thee in? or naked, and clothed Thee? Or when saw we Thee sick, or in prison, and came unto Thee?

And the King shall answer and say unto them, "Verily I say unto you, inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of my brethren, ye have done it unto Me."

Read the above in The Gospel of Saint Matthew 25: 34-40
Live the above at Nazareth House Apostolate 365: 24-7

I have personally known Father Seraphim and Vicki for over 10 years. Their daily goal is to be sheep sitting on the right hand of our Lord. NHA makes a huge difference in the world one hungry person at a time, one thirsty person at a time, one stranger at a time, one naked person at a time, one sick person at a time, one prisoner at a time -- so donating here makes a difference every time. They provide for those in need both materially and spiritually. NHA staff are glorious pioneers among the high passes of the Kingdom of God, who have scaled heights which other charitable organizations have seldom even seen afar off. Go NHA!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Who would have guessed that in Taylorsville, Ky. one would find such a worldly and spiritual organization. Manned by a staff of two, Vickie and Father Seraphim, I am astounded by the amount of work accomplished. If the two worked in the private sector they would be successful entrepenuers. But that is not where their heart or calling is directed. Therefore they must as Father puts it (beg for) their money and resources. However, what they receive never stays with them. For although they are physically here they are driven to care for the poorest of the poor. They have found this in Siere Leon and with their loyal assistant James living on site have been able to do impossible things to change so many shattered lives. To continue to do this challenges all. Father Seraphim has a heavy burden praying almost nonstop for those who most need Gods help both here and abroad. As one steps onto this serene property a peaceful atmosphere permeates the soul but belies the furious hard workings going on in an unrelentless effort to save poor and poorer souls.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 7, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

We have known Vicki and Father Seraphim Hicks since 2005 when we moved to Louisville, KY. Father Seraphim’s uncompromising spirituality drew us to his church, where we learned more about the mission of Nazareth House in Sierra Leone. Vicki is the administrator of Nazareth House, as well as the treasurer, public relations liason and mail boy. She does it all with the oversight of a dedicated board of five others, none of whom receives, to our knowledge, compensation as a member. (The three “civilian” board members are in fact reliable contributors to Nazareth House.) We can attest to the modest lifestyle of Father and Vicki, so that if she is paid from donated funds over and above her expenses, it is not very much. The Hicks do not vacation or buy new clothes and furniture. Seraphim takes no salary at all.
One expense of running Nazareth House is airfare for rare trips to Sierra Leone. But once there, Vicki attends to villagers’ illnesses and Father travels on foot to villages with his prayer beads (not to convert anyone, just to pray). They reside on site with James, NHA’s Sierra Leone representative, and his family and do not seek out a comfortable hotel room.
Father and Vicki have witnessed abhorrent things done to the people of Sierra Leone. The Hicks’ goal in all this is to keep more Sierra Leoneans alive and whole and give them hope of a future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In a world of corporations, impersonal staffing, manned phone banks, and slick direct mail campaigns, Nazareth House is a little hard to explain to people. Nazareth House is two people and whoever offers to help them, somehow managing the logistics of an enormous aid effort, and taking nothing for themselves. This is the real deal - and any donor can know for sure that all of any donation goes to the relief of those who need it most.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have had the privilege of visiting their base of operations in Taylorsville, KY and witnessed the hard work and dedication of this small group of people. I have helped Vicki, Mama Vicki, package up boxes for shipment to Sierra Leone; it is amazing the amount of stuff this woman can fit in to a USPS fixed postage box at $60 a box she needs to get as much as possible in each one. Now there is a weight limit she must contend with but she thinks of everything, "I use tuna packets to fill empty spots. They need protein." Truly no organization has done so much with so little. The supplies are walked into the remote villages where others will not go. It is dangerous and hard. Children are dying of worms, intestinal parasites! they would not die if they could get enough medicine. They built a compound in the safer town of Kabala employing local builders. "It is important that we buy what we need and employ who we need there to boost the economy." Vicki's makes one dollar work like two. She and her husband have given all to help these people, to love these people. They have cried and laughed with them, they have celebrated life and mourned death with them; they are family, we are family. Your donation will not only support what they already do: support a school for 300 students, support five villages, supply a medical clinic and employ a nurse, provide clean water (They hired native men who hand dug the well), etc. The long term goal is to provide the means by which these people will no longer need Nazareth House Apostolate. "Then", says Mama Vicki, "we will move on to another area in need."

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 6, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

They help Saloneans in need, plain and simple.

Nazareth House Apostolate receive over 85% of our charitable giving, chiefly, because it is a small organization with over 90% (think it was 96-7%?) of their donations going towards humanitarian aid and *not* frivolitiies.

Four
years ago, we learned about NHA via a prayer workshop highlighting their work in the mission field of Sierra Leone. Many Saloneans (Sierra Leone citizens) do not have their basic needs of food, water, shelter and safety met. NHA distributes rice, but, often, are only able to distribute small quantities due to lack of funds and the greatness of the need over there.

Medication is distributed, but in regular doses via the operations manager, James. This prevents poverty convincing the aid recipient that it would be better to sell the medication rather than take it and care for themselves. Anti-worm medication is often distributed because clean water isn't regularly available and parasitic infestation occurs easily in such an environment.

I'm able to relate all of these details to you, because NHA is forthcoming with their missionwork. They are more than happy to show pictures of how your donations are being used.

The staff are very accessible for communication, via phone, email, their website, and Facebook.

Because their focus is on food, medicine, safe housing, and education, many of our secular friends have been comfortable donating to NHA. It is true that it is mission work of a monastery and church in Kentucky, but they distribute aid according to need. They help Saloneans regardless of Muslim or Christian.

Like I previously wrote: They help Saloneans in need, plain and simple.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers