Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.910455
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

My association with NatureServe dates to the founding of the organization at which time I was the natural resources program manager for the Department of the Air Force. In that capacity I was responsible for ensuring compliance with environmental laws and sound natural resources stewardship was practiced on Air Force lands. The nearly nine million acres of Air Force land is distributed throughout the country and is typically characterized by high biological diversity and other important environmental values. Ensuring sound stewardship of the Air Force lands was imperative for the accomplishment of the Air Force’s primary mission of military testing and training. Although the Air Force, as well as the other military services, maintain professional staffs to manage the natural resources on individual installations, those individuals often required assistance in dealing with specific issues involving critical species management. For that reason the Department of Defense established a partnership with NatureServe to assist in the management of its critical species management programs as well as other efforts for the general conservation and enhancement of biological diversity. Over the years that partnership has yielded spectacular results and directly enabled the military services to effectively manage their natural resources programs. NatureServe has felicitated access to Natural Heritage databases and other resources to help military natural resources managers make assessments of the status of individual species on their lands. Additionally, they have provided resources to assist military planners in reducing the impact of future military operations on sensitive species and they have provided educational resources to help inform military natural resources managers of current issues and strategies for enhancing biological diversity on military lands.

Since my retirement from the Air Force, I continue to use NatureServe programs and resources. For example, as an active member of the Arizona Native Plant Society, I and others in our organization working on the protection of Arizona’s native flora have found NatureServe’s Explorer website to be an invaluable source for information on the status of the sensitive plants and ecosystems we are attempting to protect.

In summary, NatureServe is an outstanding organization which provides truly unique and priceless resources to government agencies, private industry, environmental organizations, and individuals seeing to protect and enhance biological diversity.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

NatureServe is responsible for something most people presume the US (or Canadian) government would be doing: keeping the definitive database of endangered species and endangered ecosystems in the US (and in Canada).

NatureServe is a network of dedicated biologists across the US and
Canada, who collaborate to ensure this information is not only stewarded and updated, but made accessible, for free, on line, to any interested person, schoolroom, or researcher.

As a board member (unpaid, as are all non-profit board members) for NatureServe, I have an insiders' view, and am hugely impressed with the devotion to mission and careful stewardship of resources at NatureServe.
October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

NatureServe and its member network provides critical information and tools to help decision-makers make informed land use decisions. Better informed decisions will guide conservation and biodiversity efforts. I have been incredibly impressed by the commitment and passion of the NatureServe staff. All of my contributions to NatureServe have been unrestricted because I understand the care and thoughtfulness that goes into projects that meet the organization's mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

NatureServe, an offshoot of The Nature Conservancy, is the umbrella organization for the network of natural heritage programs in every U.S. state and Canadian province as well as in many Latin American countries. NatureServe provides the scientific basis for effective conservation action throughout the Western Hemisphere. It is inconceivable to me how one could effectively target scarce conservation dollars towards those species most at risk and those ecosystems most deserving of conservation attention without the information researched, compiled, and distributed by NatureServe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers