Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.910455
Write A Review
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

For the past three years I have worked closely with NatureServe in jointly managing a major collaborative project called LandScope Chesapeake. Our partnership in this effort is extremely productive, positive and mutual. NatureServe leadership and staff have been superb. We are true partners in the effort with shared values.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them even more resources to do what they do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

A great organization is all about its people, and NatureServe employs some great people who are committed to the mission of the organization. The Conservation Leadership Programme collaborated with NatureServe to implement a leadership training in Latin America, and the network members who participated were dynamic and committed to having a positive impact on conservation across the region.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

This is a get-things-done organization! I used to work for NatureServe and enjoyed the culture and inertia so when an opportunity to volunteer, I jumped right in. I have seen and been a part of the ongoing growth end development of NatureServe and what constantly amazes me is how the different members of the network diligently work away at the conservation issues of the day. I hope to continue to volunteer or work for NatureServe in some form throughout my working career or beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

look at strategies and opportunities to support private sector and civil society organizations that philosophically align with the mission or NatureServe. This organization has a lot to offer as a prospective partner while maintaining its conservation focus.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 10, 2012

more

December 10, 2012

As a conservation biologist for over 25 years, I have relied on NatureServe for the best available information so critical to protecting the Earth's rich biological diversity. Natural areas data is the single most important tool in my tool box and few organizations know more about natural areas data than NatureServe. As the national association of the state natural heritage programs within the U.S. as well as a highly respected international conservation organization, NatureServe combines essential on-the-ground local expertise with strong working relationships with leading conservation, industry and economic interests globally. This enables NatureServe scientists to develop and advance the leading conservation technologies and structured decision-making processes from around the world with locally evaluated data from scientist and natural resource professionals who know the local ecology and the unique ecological dynamics of the areas where the information will be applied. I know of few organizations comprised of more dedicated and committed professionals to protecting natural areas and local biodiversity and I would not be surprised if even the success of those organizations are due in part to NatureServe data or their ecosystem-based management tools.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 26, 2010

NatureServe helps my Conservation Data Center in man ways. They are always providing us information about opportunities of funding, awards and others. Their paig Infonatura http://www.natureserve.org/... more

November 30, 2012

NatureServe is an non-profit organization (based in Arlington), which makes the difference in the day-to-day with their innovative methodologies connect the social sciences and conservation of
nature, so it has a great influence on decision-makers, academia, business and the general
public
on crucial issues such as adaptation to climate change, species and ecosystems’ health and the establishment and consolidation of protected areas across the Americas. This organization composed of very professional and committed people; for me it is very clear that this group is
willing to offer their best to do their jobs and support other organizations and individuals with an interest or influence on the conservation of nature. If there were no NatureServe, we would have to create it ...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2010

NatureServe helps my Conservation Data Center in man ways. They are always providing us information about opportunities of funding, awards and others. Their paig Infonatura http://www.natureserve.org/infonatura/ is useful and an excelent reference about wildlife of Latinamerica and the Caribean

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My job with data of natural areas, ecosystems and wildlife of Peru and other andean countries

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

NatureServe was our (BLM) contractor to do two ecoregional assessments in the Great Basin and Mojave areas. These assessments were driven by management questions that required extensive data acquisition and evaluation along with development and application of conceptual models. NatureServe personnel were very knowledgeable in these areas and helped our project management team refine our management question for clarity and intent. NatureServe's knowledge in identifying appropriate datasets to use and developing the models helped the management team structure the assessment to get the best results in addressing the questions. NatureServe conducted several in-person workshops and webinars during this process where they worked collaboratively with the management and technical teams to resolve questions and concerns so final processes were agreed upon. NatureServe also worked with a subcontractor to provide BLM with bioclimatic change envelopes for selected conservation elements. This work is cutting edge in climate change science and provided BLM, for the first time, potential forecasts on how conservation elements may shift under two climate change scenarios. Previously BLM could only address climate change in very general terms; now we have a tool that can be used to address the potential “how” climate change may affect the landscape. NatureServe was the only contractor on BLM’s seven ecoregional assessments to provide this pioneering model. BLM staff have been very receptive of change envelopes. NatureServe's staff were always very professional and responsive to our needs and provided an impressive and useful product. It was a huge undertaking for which we will benefit for many years. Through this effort we have established an excellent working relationship that continues to expand into other areas. We will continue to work with NatureServe on future projects.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

NatureServe is a remarkable organization with outstanding programs, initiatives and personnel. In having worked closely with many NatureServe employees, I am continuously impressed with the overwhelming dedication, commitment and enthusiasm everyone has for such an incredible cause. I look forward to continuing my relationship with NatureServe.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have cooperated with NatureServe and the organization from which it budded off (The Nature Conservancy) since 1988. It is very professional and is the only organization doing what it does in a field that gets little credit in relation to the importance of its work. The organization, its mandate, its staff, and the way they go about their business have been huge inspirations for me as a conservation biologist. I highly recommend NatureServe as a starting point for finding out about the elements of biodiversity (species and ecological communities) in the Western Hemisphere.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

The strength of NatureServe and the Natural Heritage Network lies with the expertise, passion and dedication demonstrated on a daily basis by staff. Kudos to the exceptional work completed to date, and best wishes for continued success in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

NatureServe is uniquely situated between State/provincial and Federal Government agencies on one hand, and volunteers, naturalist groups and those concerned about that status of our wildlife legacy on the other. By filling the information void, and by providing value-added analyses and interpretation of the data from a wide variety of sources NatureServe enables soundly based conservation decisions to be made whether by governments, resource sector industries, or others. It is truly a remarkable organization with an intelligent and relevant business plan.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers