Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
1234.910455
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I was recently hired by NatureServe to facilitate a conversation among the Board of Directors and Senior Professional Team on deepening lay leadership engagement and strengthening the lay/professional partnership to accelerate the organization's exciting strategic direction. From the moment I met the NatureServe team, I was wowed! by their strategic acumen, passion for conservation, and commitment to achieving even greater excellence.

Andrea B. Wasserman
President and Founder of Social Profit Ventures
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

NatureServe is about science. It's about fundamentally understanding the bits and pieces of nature, seeing how they fit together, and doing everything in their modest power to bring this understanding to others. Their method combines the information gathered from 80+ conservation data centers with hundreds of top-notch biologists together with their talented science staff to provide relevant, meaningful biodiversity information.

The end-goal is science-based conservation and this is steeped in deep knowledge of the natural world, the bits and pieces of nature, understood and disseminated by this incredible organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work to endow more core science staff.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

Natureserve is a very special nonprofit. The core of it was originally the science staff from The Nature Conservancy, back when TNC had biological staff. TNC funded it for several years, after which Natureserve needed to find its own funding, which it has, and successfully so.

Natureserve
is the "mother ship" for the large array of natural heritage programs found in the United States. Natural heritage programs track the locations and status of all of the rare and endangered and special status species and natural communities in the country. There is a program in each state, as well as in Canadian provinces and in several countries in Latin America. They are all tied together by common methodology and philosophy and, to some extent technology, maintained by Natureserve. It's a big job!

I am continually impressed with the professionalism and talent found at Natureserve. I've worked for them (briefly), or with them as a colleague in another agency, for many years and count many of the staff as friends. This is a nonprofit truly worth supporting.

September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

They occupy a unique niche in the world wide effort to protect biodiversity.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

NatureServe is a unique institution gathering and synthesizing the best science to inform natural resource policies and the conservation of critical habitats.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

I've worked with NatureServe for over a decade and they have been an essential partner in helping our organization achieve its mission. They have helped us with technical expertise, scientific review/feedback (especially taxonomic expertise), strategic planning, and fundraising. Their annual conferences help us network with other organizations, give us with new ideas/inspiration, and provide training. Their staff have always been professional and helpful.
We would be hard pressed to achieve our goal of having the best scientific information for New Mexico without NatureServe's assistance.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

NatureServe is responsible for something most people presume the US (or Canadian) government would be doing: keeping the definitive database of endangered species and endangered ecosystems in the US (and in Canada).

NatureServe is a network of dedicated biologists across the US and
Canada, who collaborate to ensure this information is not only stewarded and updated, but made accessible, for free, on line, to any interested person, schoolroom, or researcher.

As a board member (unpaid, as are all non-profit board members) for NatureServe, I have an insiders' view, and am hugely impressed with the devotion to mission and careful stewardship of resources at NatureServe.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

NatureServe is one of the greatest non-profits that I have worked with. They provide essential data, data management management, organized thinking and useful tools for conservation. NatureServe takes on conservation standards, which is the less glamorous part of conservation, but is absolutely fundamental. And they do it extremely well. NatureServe provides standard template for ranking species and ecosystems that has been adopted around the word.

Go and grow NatureServe!
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

NatureServe is an outstanding organization. I have worked closely with the staff for many years and depend on them for the highest quality and most complete information on biodiversity and ecosystems. This data is essential to inform planning and management decisions across the United States and internationally. NatureServe does what state and federal natural resource agencies should be doing - collecting, maintaining, sharing, interpreting, and data on biodiversity, in a consistent and efficient manner.
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I have worked with NatureServe over the last 8 years and found them to be an outstanding not for profit. They are well run with a dedicated team of employees. They are committed to their mission and their focus on nature and the environment are to be commended.

Bill Aiton,
President
SSi Consulting

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers