Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.869575
| 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2012

more

October 28, 2012

As a botanist in the US Forest Service, I often check the "NatureServe Explorer" web site to find important information about a rare plant. NatureServe provides one-stop-shopping for global and state ranks (numerical scores from 1 to 5 indicating status from "critically imperiled"to "secure" based on rarity and threats). NatureServe's national system allows the Forest Service to take a more consistent approach nation-wide in considering relative rarity of species across state lines and among the many different National Forests and National Grasslands we manage for the public. We use this information to focus limited funds and our efforts to conserve biological diversity. Without NatureServe, we would not have this consistency.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

Hi, as a senior biologist with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, I worked extensively and closely with many Nature Serve staff, from CEO Mary Klein to various staff biologists. I found nothing but dedication and professionalism, as well as new friends, at all levels. Nature Serve did much for the National Wildlife Refuge System during the time I worked with them, and I'm sure they continue to do so under long-term agreements we set up. I highly recommend them as for their unique mission as a non-profit, for their professionalism as conservationists, and for their good-natured dedication to all they do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

NatureServe serves a critical role in accumulating, analyzing, and disseminating information on biological diversity to inform conservation planning and implementation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

NatureServe and its member network provides critical information and tools to help decision-makers make informed land use decisions. Better informed decisions will guide conservation and biodiversity efforts. I have been incredibly impressed by the commitment and passion of the NatureServe staff. All of my contributions to NatureServe have been unrestricted because I understand the care and thoughtfulness that goes into projects that meet the organization's mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

NatureServe has many strengths, but what resonates with me is the combination of global vision with a local presence. Through its natural heritage programs and conservation data centres, NatureServe is able to provide objective biodiversity data and expertise to solve problems at the local level. Through its vast network of member programs and data resources, NatureServe is able to place this local biodiversity data in both regional and global contexts -- a valuable service not available anywhere else.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

NatureServe, an offshoot of The Nature Conservancy, is the umbrella organization for the network of natural heritage programs in every U.S. state and Canadian province as well as in many Latin American countries. NatureServe provides the scientific basis for effective conservation action throughout the Western Hemisphere. It is inconceivable to me how one could effectively target scarce conservation dollars towards those species most at risk and those ecosystems most deserving of conservation attention without the information researched, compiled, and distributed by NatureServe.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

We are fortunate in the United States to have amazing biodiversity -- plants, animals, and other organisms -- including living things not found anywhere else in the world. To understand and hold on to our biodiversity, we need a reliable, science-based organization that does the hard work to pin down where the life forms are. And that's NatureServe. Their Natural Heritage program is the best, most comprehensive effort to inventory and map the life that helps to make our places special. Thanks to NatureServe, we know much more about our biodiversity, and we stand a much better chance of conserving it for future generations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I've been affiliated with NatureServe since they first launched and was a user and contributor of Natural Heritage data for many years prior. I'm a firm believer in the work they do as a fundemental building block for conservation work. It's not necessarily sexy and they don't spend money on slick calendars and gimmicky swag to sway prospective donors but they do the hard work to make sure that authoritative data and information are curated and available for agencies and the public to make informed decisions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I think most people expect conservation science information from NatureServe. Well, so do I, but more importantly, I find that NS staff provide leadership in conservation science and data delelopment. They listen to what we know or need to know and forge into data development that is responsive and progressive. Their influence is obvious when I participate in conservation planning forums, not only at the national level but at every scale. Sometimes NS staff are at the table. Even when they are not, people that are present speak to the perspectives and data products that I recognize from NS leaders. I think the conservation community expects a lot from NS. I know that I do. - Dennis Figg

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more


1 previous review
August 26, 2010

A network of people from a variety of organizations with cross functional roles all trying to work together for a purpose. Its something to be apart of. more

October 19, 2012

NatureServe has been a great partner over the last 10 years in providing timely and relevant information to help in conservation decisions. They have also helped provide tools to better manage biodiversity information.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2010

A network of people from a variety of organizations with cross functional roles all trying to work together for a purpose. Its something to be apart of.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping manage species and land.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers