Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
123.1794945
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Count me in as someone who was ready to contribute, until I saw the Director's annual compensation. Are they kidding? I am glad this website reveals this information, it is very informative. Paying someone more than 200K to head a CHARITY is unconsionable.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 31, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 31, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Like others who have commented, I was going to donate to Nature Conservancy until I saw the CEO's salary. He likely gets expenses like dinners at fine restaurants to lobby Congress, etc. paid for. I'll donate elsewhere this year.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I support the work of the Nature Conservancy but cannot support an organization that pays its director almost half a million dollars every year (plus who knows what else). This is way above salaries for the Washington DC area and way way above salaries for non-profit organizations. Surely he could manage on half that salary and use the remaining money for land preservation and conservation!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

Very informative, interesting articles that encompass the entire ecosystem. The focus includes all parts of the earth, forests, oceans and wildlife; and there are many articles that show how projects are underway to positively help improve a part of nature that is in trouble. Also the articles include excellent photography that encourages an appreciation for the natural world and wildlife! I like this group for nomination.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

There is no greater service to the Earth than the preservation of our natural resources. Once we have lost the wilderness and wildlife that the Nature Conservancy helps to protect, we will not be able to regain them. As a nation and a species we cannot survive the loss of these resources without irrevocably changing, and I doubt that it will be for the better. The Conservancy is remarkable in the effectiveness and the importance of the work that they undertake.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

The Nature Conservacy keeps us up to date with how improvements are made and can be made to look after our beautiful World and Protect all its Enviroment!!! So proud to have joined them on twitter and will always follow!!! Well done!!! Keep up,the good work guys!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 15, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 15, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

Others have complained about the Director's pay at $300,000 dollars; that's why I stopped contributing last year. Now it's $482,632. This is a charity, folks! Given how many of the well-known charities are giving their management outrageous amounts, I'm guessing it's for the same reason as Wall Street....they're all on each other's boards and give each other approval for that sort of thing. This is the way I'm sending the message....hope enough people do that they listen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 9, 2011

So their rating is 3 stars and they have raised the CEO salary from ~$320,000 to ~$360,000? Why would I want to donate to this group? I used to but this is not fiscally responsible. Sorry.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am disappointed to see the increase in salary for the CEO.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need to re-think their mission.

June 25, 2010

more

Review from Guidestar
June 25, 2010

TNC has consistently operated and worked toward its mission over many years. Check it out and if its goals match yours, then join and help become a steward of the earth.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

preservation of wetlands

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers