Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
39 Reviews
123.1794945
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

Just a thought regarding salaries. I have worked in the non-profit field my entire career, and in my current employment, the CEO is paid a six-figure salary for managing a regional program with a multi-million budget. This CEO compensation, if compared to the for-profit sector is probably in line, for a national company. Too often, the term "non-profit" seems to equal substandard. You do often get what you pay for. I have had to leave jobs, and seen my colleagues leave great organizations, because they could not feed their families. Obviously, this guy can feed his family, but if he is worth the pay in the private sector, and the job is worth the pay in the private sector, then it is not too much. What he will not likely get, by working in the non-profit world, is large bonuses and similar perks.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

As a former employeeof TNC and a current elementary school teacher, I have come to rely on the conservation work done by this org. I always make sure to donate when I have some extra cash. They are a fine examp.le of what a small group of caring individuals can do for or planet. The Tallgrass Prairie Preserve in Pawhuska, Ok will always be a bit of heaven on earth for me!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

As the founding Pres. of a National Wildlife Refuge Friends 501(c)(3) organization, I greatly appreciate the work that the Nature Conservancy does on behalf of all of us.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
March 17, 2011

As a 4th generation of settlers of land in Wyoming, I have lived with the land all of my 62years. Coming from this linage of pioneers, it has always been, and still is, our life goal to have a sustainable life, while enhancing the land we love, according to what and how God ordained it to be used. From lands I have observed being taken over by the NCI, it has not been the same management goal, nor anything resembling the Code of the West that we live by. Lands left to nature are not always the best, as we were given the 'brains' to make things better. I will grant, that not all of the West has been treated as it should, but that is a very small percentage. Of course, that small percentage is always the only news that makes the headlines. People don't realize the importance of livestock in the sustainability of rangeland....this has been proven by Alan Savory.....look him up! Without the pioneers of the Western States, the wildlife would never have been established as it is now. Thats all because of the grass production on private lands that have been managed for 'optimal' use for livestock and wildlife. If all the lands were reverted back to 'nature' it would not take long to slip back to desolate, unusable wastelands, unaccessible and useless for life there, as we see it today.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Wyoming

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Use the funding you have to enhance the lands, for everyones benefit, instead of the 'off site' minority of those 'thinking' that they know better than the people that live here!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers