Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
123.562545
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

If it is OK for Bob Redford then it is OK for me. Their record in the courts is enough to justify a donation.
December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Ask them how many states they have approved on drilling in? Ask them what their stance is? Ask them if they try to ban drilling or if they only pass road use, land use laws? Ask them if they want a ban or if they MITIGATE damage while trying to protect the lives of people in the way of drilling... Ask them FLAT OUT, what their position is.
They will do nothing any different in any other state they have worked with the industry in.. they will miitigate damage, and side with industry.
Non profits can say anything they want. It isn't law. I can say I'm santa clause. People who are stupid enough to believe it, will continue to contribute to this organization, and to me as Santa Clause. Until they PUBICALLY STATE EXTRACTION INDUSTRY NEED TO BE FORCED TO PROTECT THE HUMAN RIGHTS OF PEOPLE, don't believe anything they say..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

FULLBAN ON ALL TYPES OF SHALE GAS EXTRACTION IN THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICAN. This company isn't stupid.. they have millions of dollars.. they play both sides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 7, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I am unclear why NRDC needs 0.2 billion in assets. I am inclined to contribute to organizations that spend above 90% on program.
I am concerned that NRDC seems to view utility firms as sufficient to manage energy efficiency programs, when programs operated by local government or local
community organizations would better answer to the people. Utility firms in my area have brought in out-of-state energy audit providers that have essentially taken the market from small businesses that have served Illinois and Wisconsin residents for decades. As the large firms preferred by utilities move in they hire away staff trained by local firms. I have brought this to NRDCs attention . . . no reply.
I would like to see NRDC and other environmental organizations consider more democratic template, less PR/spin/buzz, and tap grassroots energy and wisdom in their governance. I will be grateful to learn of any environmental organization that solicits membership when selecting issues and stands.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Okay

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 12, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Not sure why they got such a high rating when after reading their 2010 tax return, half of their donated money went toward staff salaries which are administrative costs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 14, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Unfortunately the NRDC has been on the wrong side of battles over toxics for a long time.

Most notably, they supported NAFTA, one of several international trade agreements being used to impose industry-friendly regulations about toxic emissions, and to push pesticides and genetically
modified crops, on other countries.

Their name really says it all: Natural Resources Defense Fund. They take money ('Fund') to defend natural resources. But how was it determined that nature is a 'resource', to be managed, controlled, and used by humans, rather than something that exists for its own reasons, and with its own priorities?

Some other explicit examples of NRDC not supporting environmental justice:

They refused to oppose the pesticide program against the light brown apple moth (aka. LBAM), which injured at least hundreds, if not thousands of people in California, and killed hundreds of birds in the Monterey Bay. They questioned the validity of the claims of the injured, and stubbornly defended the use of the injurious synthetic 'pheromones' pesticides, to eradicate a moth which even the agency involved in the program admitted had not done any crop damage:

http://www.sfdph.org/dph/files/EHSdocs/ehsLBAM/NRDC.pdf

http://www.dontspraycalifornia.org/lbam.html

Currently they are defending the electricity, gas, and water utilities' installation of digital 'Smart' meters, which have been injuring and displacing many residents with pulsing emissions of radio-frequency radiation and dirty electricity from the meters' switching mode power supply:

http://stopsmartmeters.org/2011/07/26/the-green-sheen-wearing-thin-how-corporate-environmental-organizations-are-providing-cover-for-the-mounting-ecological-catastrophe-of-the-%E2%80%9Csmart-grid%E2%80%9D/

http://www.kpfa.org/archive/id/75265

NRDC has also been linked to wetlands developers:

http://www.nonprofitwatch.org/nrdc/

The organization is included in an important expose about 'green' groups that are involved in greenwashing:

http://www.thenation.com/article/wrong-kind-green

And I also echo others who shared their opinions in the archived comments of this site (see link at the bottom of the reviews page), that it is inappropriate for a 'nonprofit' to pay anyone a 6-digit salary.

There is really no more doubt. The NRDC is corrupt. There are far better groups to support, who need donations far more urgently to continue their work to defend communities under assault from toxic corporate greed, than the NRDC.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

betraying the efforts of grassroots movements that defend their communities from toxic assault, by stubbornly ignoring peer reviewed science and supporting the toxic nightmare being imposed on our neighborhoods.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut it down. There's not much salvageable, when you have overpaid bureaucrats, and support for government projects that are destructive to the earth, and staff scientists who ignore peer reviewed science about environmental health concerns, as well as thousands of people getting sick. Start over with something that serves the people, not industry.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you learn about this organization?

Forwarded self congratulatory mailings that misrepresent struggles, and the organization's role in them.

January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've worked with several environmental advocacy organizations, and have been volunteering for NRDC for the past several months. I noticed that there has been some concern that when a person takes action on a website and sends a message to a government agency (like the US Wildlife Services or the EPA), the agency may post it online. This is in every activist website policy, just as it is in NRDC’s. Keep in mind NRDC's work has definitely paid off; online activists have helped save millions of acres of wildlife and stopped countless polluters from endangering our health. I trust activists demonstrate the current of their convictions, and continue to take action online to protect the environment.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have donated to NRDC for years and I am confident of the positive impact their work has upon our environment. I particularly like that NRDC is brave and smart enough to calibrate their efforts primarily upon good science---even when that leads sometimes to controversial stands within the Green Movement community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 9, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 9, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

We no longer donate. NRDC clearly bows to industry instead of the environment. It repeats talking points about technology saving us from ourselves instead of defending natural resources like basic requirements for life. NRDC now speaks out for the forced installation of smart meters and the smart grid, which represent a contamination of our "wireless commons", the space around us. Smart meters have created terrible suffering and will continue to do so. If NRDC gets its way there will be no escape anywhere from the invisible unwanted microwave penetration of our homes and communities.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

You need to be aware that when you send those action letters for NRDC that all that personal information you provide can be posted online in pdf form. I just found out that not only my name and address is on a pdf action letter when you google my name but also it includes my email address and yes my phone number. NRDC knows this can occur but does not feel it is important to point this out to members it's just all part of the risks involved. I think they really should be disclosing this information to members. This letter went to a government agency. I have spoken with an Amy at NRDC HQ but haven't heard back yet. Before I found out about this pdf I had left NRDC due to all the action letters it wanted me to send out. There is no focus with this organization and a lot of busy work and my guess not a lot really gets done or impacted due to the way they take it all on. Another non profit looking busy. I wonder if Redford or Mr. Tishman the Chair would like their personal information posted on a pdf online without their knowing it? They better start googling since who knows what NRDC has gotten them into as well.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The only result I experienced was finding my personal information posted on line by using NRDC's online action letter forms.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that members know that any information they provide for the action letters may end up on the web, which could include their name, address, email address and their phone number. I would also say they need to focus on certain issues and not be sending letters on so many issues. This got ridiculous. I think they like to look busy.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Do not allow my personal information to get posted online for starters. Then focus on a few core projects to focus on with action letters.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yeah I will never send another action letter for any organization again!!!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Foolish. Duped by NRCD.

May 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I am glad that NRDC does what it does. With their teams of lawyers, scientists, policy experts, and fundraisers, they are able to fight the good fight against private industry, and government, when their practices are hurting the environment. Through the use of litigation, and strategic partnerships, awareness is raised and change happens.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Receiving the monthly NRDC magazine, emails, and the annual report, provide me with important information about current threats to our environment and the work that NRDC is doing to prevent those threats from become a further reality. Being a member of NRDC has raised my awareness, and because of that, it has raised my level of interest in these issues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its membership and lobbying power.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers