Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12.875345
Write A Review
November 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 18, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I am a member of the OST and live on the Pine ridge Indian Reservation and work with in the community CAP Program as well. NAHA donations are brought to the reservation in semi trucks maybe once a month to all nine districts. The items brought range from Off retail AND returned or OUTDATED donated items from mainly WALMART , the items consist of toothpaste, creams ,lotions and soaps mostly personal care items many of which are very useful and are necessities but either damaged or opened or have been returned to store . Old Clothes are brought sparingly and are scarcely new and most have a mildew smell to them. When food is brought it is mostly damaged canned food which is outdated also. Bread is brought maybe 3 times a year ,which is also never fresh. One of my major concerns is the fact that items such as mouth wash and hairspray which have a high alcohol content are sent in abundance where there is a known problem of alcoholism and inhalant abuse among the peoples, young and old. The food boxes which are donated thru out the year have been known to be outdated also. If there is a record of millions of dollars being donated to NAHA on an annual basis why then are the items that are being donated in such bad shape or of less than adequate content. Its a shame that the very people this organization is requesting donations for are the very people who are getting cheated with less than adequate and poor contributions. What is being done with all the $$$$???? And why are the target population only getting used or outdated items?
April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
August 13, 2013

am an 82 year old man living on Social Security based upon salaries of the 1940's, 1950, 1960's and 1970, a 'far cry' from what salaries have risen to in the following years. As uou know, Social Secu... more

April 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I WILL SUGGEST TO THOSE FOLKS WHO WROTE NEGATIVELY ABOUT NATIVE AMERICAN HERITAGE ASSOCIATION TO CHECK WITH THE SCRUPULOUSLY METICULOUS CHARITY NAVIGATOR FOR THEIR ASSESSMENT OF THIS CHARITY. CHARITY NAVIGATOR HAS THE MOST RIGID STANDARDS I HAVE EVER DISCOVERED FOR EVALUATING THE PLETHORA OF CHARITIES ABOUNDING IN THIS COUNTRY AND THAT SITE HAS GIVEN THE NATIVE AMERICAN HERITAGE ASSOCIATION (NAHA), IT HIGHEST EVALUATION FOR THE PAST 9 YEARS. CHARITY NAVIGATOR EXAMINES EVERY CHARITY'S FEDERAL CHARITIES ANNUAL SUBMISSION AS THEY UNDERTAKE THEIR OWN SCRUPULOUS REVIEW AND ANALYSES AND JUDGEMENT AND THEY HAVE, ACCORDINGLY, SO EXAMINED NATIVE AMERICAN HERITAGE ASSOCIATION'S- (NAHA) SUBMISSION. PERHAPS IT WOULD BE WELL TO LOOK A BIT MORE DILIGENTLY BEFORE RUSHING TO JUDGEMENT THAT ASSOCIATION (NAHA) SOLICITS A LAUNDRY LIST OF DONATIONS, INCLUDING AND NOT LIMITED TO: FOOD, CLOTHING, PROPANE FUEL FOR RESERVATION "SHACKS" IN WHICH HUMAN BEINGS ARE CONSIGNED TO LIVE, COOKING STOVES, HEATING STOVES TOYS FOR POVERTY-STRICKEN C\NATIVE CHILDREN, MEDICAL SUPPLIES, PERSONAL HYGIENE PRODUCTS, ETC., ETC. WHO DO YOU THINK SOLICITS THESE THINGS IN AN NON-ENDING PERSONAL APPEAL.... BEGGING, IT WAS ONCE CALLED. REMEMBER, THESE RESERVATIONS,(CALLED CONCENTRATION CAMPS OR GHETTOS IN EUROPE JUST SOME 70 SHORT YEARS AGO. NOT IN AMERICA, SOME MAY SAY BUT I SAY, YES--- DEFINITELY IN AMERICA. AND THAT FOLLOWED 200+ YEARS OF A CONTINUING SYSTEMATIC CAMPAIGN OF NOTHING BUT ETHNIC CLEANSING UPON, ONCE,ONCE UPON THE EXPLICIT ORDER OF A VERY PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES, NAMELY, ANDREW JACKSON. AS CHRIST SAID, 2000+ YEARS AGO: "LET HE WHO IS WITHOUT SIN, CAST THE FIRST STONE!" BUT THIS COUNTRY HAS BEEN WARING WITH NATIONS PURSUING ETHNIC CLEANSING BUT HYPOCRITICALLY, DOES N-O-T-H-I-N-G= ABOUT THE LINGERING EFFECTS OF IT OWN MURDEROUS CAMPAIGN TO E-X-T-I-N-G-U-I=S=H AN ENTIRE PEOPLE IN THIS VERY LAND UPON WHICH THEY LIVED UNDER THEIR OWN GOVERNING DOCUMENTS FOR THOUSANDS OF YEARS AND NOW, WHERE WE LIVE AND WHICH WE NOW CALL---- "THE LAND OF THE FREE AND HOME OF THE BRAVE"!!!! BUT N-E-V-E-R- AN ADMITTED OPPRESSOR NATION. IT'S IN THE HISTORY IF ONE, HONESTLY AND SINCERELY, WISHES TO DISCOVER THE TRUTH! OF OUR "OWN MAN'S INHUMANITY TO MAN!!!! SUCH AN EFFORT IS HARD AND TIME-CONSUMING BUT WELL WORTH THE EFFORT TO REPLACE IGNORANCE WITH TRUTH AND KNOWLEDGE. DO NOT RELY ON HOLLYWOOD'S DEPICTION AND ITS' CHARACTERIZATION OF NATIVE PEOPLES'+ GREAT SPIRIT+, WHOM WE KNOW AS GOD..... WILL JUDGE! Jim Garzone

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

am an 82 year old man living on Social Security based upon salaries of the 1940's, 1950, 1960's and 1970, a 'far cry' from what salaries have risen to in the following years. As uou know, Social Security is based upon those salaries. The same applies to pensions except in those early years, many if not most but the national companies paid pensions because of their unions and they were high. But if one didn't work for one of these3 Corporations, pensions, if they were provided, were comparatively much less.

Every month, I and my wife separate out, IMMEDIATELY, 10% of our incone which consist solely of our Social Security and a small pension I receive from an employer in the '40's, 50's 60's and 70' before I retired following emergency open heart surgery.

THE VERY 1st Charity we send donation to is the NAHA. I have spoken by phone to several of their workers, many of whom are volunteers. I viewed their WEB-SITE in great detail and I viewed their Organization of CHARITY NAVIGATOR. I have every confidence that by far, most of our scarce $$$$$$ given to NAHA, likely 97cents, goes to those Ethnic AQmericasns most in need.... in every kind of weather and every Season. I would urge others to view the resources which we used and I am sure, you will arrive at the same conclusion. I NEVER had a high-paying job and my wife remained home to care for our children so I have no 'pile' of mony sitting anywhere except enough to bury me.

NAHA couldn't be a more worthy charity, in our opinion. Jim G. Troy, N.Y.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I just copied and pasted this from the BBB.org after reading the reviews here. I get donation requests from them. after seeing your sight I will do more research before considering donating to them.
This charitable organization either has not responded to written BBB requests for information
or has declined to be evaluated in relation to BBB Standards for Charity Accountability. Charity participation in BBB review is voluntary. However, without the requested information, it is not possible to determine whether this charity adheres to all of the BBB Standards for Charity Accountability. The BBB encourages charities to disclose accountability information beyond that typically included in financial statements and government filings, in order to demonstrate transparency and strengthen public trust in the charitable sector.


The BBB reports on charities and determines if they meet 20 voluntary standards on matters such as charity finances, appeals, and governance. The BBB does not evaluate the worthiness of the charitable program.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

February 1, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I would highly suggested taking the numbers you see in donation and adding up how much is going to administration. They also are USING their trucks to move the food (that was donated), but not in purchasing food. This is from oohayliam64's website investigation about Indian Scams in US: here you go: In 1993, when Brown’s AIRC scam was laid bare by the media, the charity discreetly downsized its South Dakota operations and shifted its focus to the American Southwest. Today the charity has been reborn under a different parent organization, National Relief Charities (NRC), which operates two new subsidiaries, Council of Indian Nations and Southwest Indian Relief, both in Apache Junction, AZ.

"Despite its makeover, NRC is still distributing a pitiful portion of its revenues to the constituency it purports to serve. According to NRC’s 1999 federal tax filings, it brought in over $8.3 million in donations last year but only 30 percent were spent on programs. In contrast, Brown’s salary has hovered at about $120,000 for the last two years. The National Charities Information Bureau, a Washington, DC-based watchdog group, suggests charities should spend at least 60 percent of donations on programs and services.

Brown’s tactics are par for the course among a few other large charities like the Native American Heritage Association (NAHA), a sibling of AIRC.

The couple at the helm of NAHA, Dave and Bernice Myers, were co-defendants in the Pennsylvania lawsuit against AIRC. That’s because the Myers actually created AIRC in 1990, then gave it to the board of directors who elected Brown as president. The sweetheart deal guaranteed the Myers a $10,000 “bonus for past services” and a $650,000 award for a contract to deliver future services to Native Americans. No services were ever rendered with that money. Both charities have consistently received failing marks from watchdog groups. One, the American Institute of Philanthropy, gave NRC an “F” grade and NAHA a “D” for its fundraising and service delivery performance."

You might find a more direct way to HELP if you want to give to Natives than this association, that literally is using the plight for sympathy and while theadmin in according to your own information: $235,286.00/ president in 2011, VP $85,774.00, director $76,156.00. This does not count bonuses just straight salary.

I, like oohayliam64, find the website not up to date nor questions answered. Nor do they respond to various BBB inquiries either, making them highly suspicious in my view. You must choose your charities as safely as you can. As a disabled person, I know first handed about "off charities" that prey on using folks like us for bait to make you want to give.

I figure I got asked to donate because of being a member of "Feeding America", which I will willingly donate again to.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I received a letter in the mail from NAHA requesting donations. They tell the very compelling story of Sara Swift Hawk. According to this Thomas Congressional record, she died in 1999 http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/z?r106:S25FE9-0020:

It seemed a little strange to not have any more
up to date information. Then I went to the website and there has been no news entered for the entire year of 2012.

I also tried to find information about the CEO salary but only saw this article on charities taking advantage of Native Americans http://www.colorlines.com/archives/2000/12/charity_scams_making_big_business_out_of_native_american_poverty.html


Does anyone know what's going on with this Charity?

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have given to this organization for many years, and I can tell you that they are genuinely concerned about their people. Their efforts have helped improve many lives by eliminating the suffering felt by these Native Americans.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

refused to answer questions about what donations are used for and after i asked to unsubscribe they have continued to mail me for 7 months

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers