Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.666675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The National Women History Museum performs a number of needed functions, superbly as it pursues a building site on or near the Mall in Washington DC. Included are its wonderful website nwhm.org, major events, for example its De Pizan Galas honoring contemporary women whose achievements garner awards in various categories and "linked" to women in history in similar fields. It has great online exhibits on the website, an exciting and informative newsletter about its activities and about the role of women in the development of our country and often the world. Also a serious and academic lecture program in Washington,. It's goal is to fill in the missing part of U.S. history. Knowledge of that history will influence the future as more people of both genders know their history in full and learn about prior and current women path finders. Girls will realize realize their goals can be reached. There will be more unleashed brain power to help our country in this new and exciting times, less teen pregnancy and domestic violence. It is not asking for too much when one realizes that now children and adults are asking why they didn't learn about that earlier? The NWHM is doing all this with a small staff and some very dedicated volunteers. It's sights are set and it will achieve its goal of a world class national women's history museum on the Mall in Washington DC, the only country in the world to recognized the achievements and contributions of its women now and in history.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

MISSING IN THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: A national museum for women's history anchoring their
collective records, stories, and facts.

The omission of women's contributions from the bulk of recorded history needs to be abated.
That is what the National Women's History Museum is set to
accomplish.

I am here from Texas to assist in the effort and success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I joined the Board of Directors in 2011 and have been immensely impressed with the staff and Board commitment to the cause of women's history. This is a much-needed step in public education of women's history. The excellent online exhibits are only the beginning. A permanent location on the Mall is an absolute necessity. I can't wait to walk through the front doors when it is built. It can't happen without public support, however, and our recent polls confirm a majority of Americans support creation of the Museum on the Mall in Washington D.C. I want my children to be able to see firsthand how important history education is to me, my peers, and our future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have worked with the National Women's History Museum for over 13 years. Its growth and reach during those years is remarkable! Today it operates as a cyber-museum allowing anyone with internet access to enjoy the educational exhibits, see profiles of remarkable women and interesting events. Teachers use the NWHM site to download lesson plans for each exhibit. When I tell stories of women who made a big impact on our nation the question from the listener is always "Why didn't I know about this? Where can I learn?" This is what the NWHM is all about. One day visitors will be able to learn about women's contributions to our culture and society by visiting the National Women's History Museum in Washington, DC. This will be the first museum dedicated to the history of women in any nation's capital in the world.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has multiple kinds of programs; speaker's bureau, traveling exhibits, lecture series, online exhibtis that contain information found nowhere else. Their work is life changing and ground breaking.

It took them 15 years to find a site worthy of their subject matter and
now they have bipartisan support to get Congress to act to give them a permanent home. We look forward to them joining the other great museums on the National Mall to show that America truly honors their women.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers