Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.666675
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

You mean there isn't one? The reality is that there is no museum about women in Washington, DC or any other world capitol. I would give the NWHM 5 stars, if it were not for the fact that there is no building on The Mall to tell the many stories of many women who have contributed to our nation's history. Men in Congress have had the power to stop or delay a bill that would create land without government money to build a Museum. Check out the museum's website to see informative summaries of women in history. It is fun to play with and interesting to read. All privately funded and with no taxpayer taxed. I have enjoyed my relationship with this museum so much because of its committed staff and volunteers and watching the growing support for this soon to be national treasure. Everyone will have a lot to learn about the role of women in science, technology, the arts, the military, entrepreneurship. . .

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has multiple kinds of programs; speaker's bureau, traveling exhibits, lecture series, online exhibtis that contain information found nowhere else. Their work is life changing and ground breaking.

It took them 15 years to find a site worthy of their subject matter and
now they have bipartisan support to get Congress to act to give them a permanent home. We look forward to them joining the other great museums on the National Mall to show that America truly honors their women.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is no small task to build a national museum in Washington -- two male senators put a hold on this museum's legislation last session of Congress -- and that meant starting over again. But while the museum works to get a building site, it also gets women's history out into the public through its website (www.nwhm.org) that has a ton of information about the many ways women have helped to build our nation. There are online exhibits on a range of topics -- a recent one is on women entrepreneurs. I've heard teachers say how much they appreciate the website and its lesson plans because textbooks have very little about women in history.

As long as Congress is only 20% women, it may be a tough climb for this museum to get federal land but the more people know about this effort to honor our nation's women at the National Mall, the more likely it will happen.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to this org for years. In the last 15 years they post the same updates "our bill just passed Congress or the Senate" blah blah blah but nothing happens. Over 40% goes to admin and fundraising. They hired a content person one month ago but they only exist on-line. I'm have to withdrawal my support and others like me who have given for years should do the same or take a closer look.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

After working with hundreds of charities over the last 35 years, this is one that I feel will one day touch and change the lives of millions of children, women and men -- young and old. NWHM works hard to share the missing part of history -- women's history and the countless accomplishments women have made to our great nation. Their website is phenomenal -- and educational institutions around the world are now using information from their various online exhibits in their classrooms -- and they even provide free lesson plans for teachers. I can't wait for this Museum to be built because their vision of sharing women's history is very innovative and interactive. This is one educational organization I hope everyone will support. It is long overdue. I learn someone new every day from just visiting their site! Don't take my word for it -- visit www.nwhm.org yourself and you will see why I financially support this great non-profit!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It has been amazing how much this organization has accomplished since its founding and with the limited funds they've had to work with.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers