Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.68755
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 13, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

This organization has multiple kinds of programs; speaker's bureau, traveling exhibits, lecture series, online exhibtis that contain information found nowhere else. Their work is life changing and gr... more

July 13, 2014

I was shocked at the amount of women's history I never knew. I am a history geek and was looking for this information from High School through College and beyond but it was missing. It has been left out of our textbooks, our museums, our parks...everything, but this group is fighting to bring it into the mainstream. The stories of women as individuals who did great things and amazing group efforts by women that helped make America great are fascinating. Some of the stories are shocking...some are joyful ...all are interesting!! They are also influencing women's history to be discovered and spotlighted in other countries as well ! They are very careful with their donor's money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money to finish all the online exhibits they have planned and finish the overhaul of their website (in process). I would expand their speaker's bureau as well and look at doing more traveling exhibits while they work to find a site for the physical museum....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has multiple kinds of programs; speaker's bureau, traveling exhibits, lecture series, online exhibtis that contain information found nowhere else. Their work is life changing and ground breaking.

It took them 15 years to find a site worthy of their subject matter and
now they have bipartisan support to get Congress to act to give them a permanent home. We look forward to them joining the other great museums on the National Mall to show that America truly honors their women.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The National Women History Museum performs a number of needed functions, superbly as it pursues a building site on or near the Mall in Washington DC. Included are its wonderful website nwhm.org, major events, for example its De Pizan Galas honoring contemporary women whose achievements garner awards in various categories and "linked" to women in history in similar fields. It has great online exhibits on the website, an exciting and informative newsletter about its activities and about the role of women in the development of our country and often the world. Also a serious and academic lecture program in Washington,. It's goal is to fill in the missing part of U.S. history. Knowledge of that history will influence the future as more people of both genders know their history in full and learn about prior and current women path finders. Girls will realize realize their goals can be reached. There will be more unleashed brain power to help our country in this new and exciting times, less teen pregnancy and domestic violence. It is not asking for too much when one realizes that now children and adults are asking why they didn't learn about that earlier? The NWHM is doing all this with a small staff and some very dedicated volunteers. It's sights are set and it will achieve its goal of a world class national women's history museum on the Mall in Washington DC, the only country in the world to recognized the achievements and contributions of its women now and in history.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

MISSING IN THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA: A national museum for women's history anchoring their
collective records, stories, and facts.

The omission of women's contributions from the bulk of recorded history needs to be abated.
That is what the National Women's History Museum is set to
accomplish.

I am here from Texas to assist in the effort and success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

The National Women's History Museum is a superb resource on information about women known and unknown who have had a major impact on the history of our country. When I was growing up, I had no role models in history or those in contemporary life. If the Museum had existed then, I would have been further inspired and much more prepared in my chosen field of political science. Senator Margaret Chase Smith was the only woman in the Senate at the time and precious few in the Congress.

The National Women's History Museum has opened not only my eyes to the hundreds of thousands of women who have made our Nation great through their contributions, large and small, and their accomplishments in every field of endeavor but also those of girls,boys, tenagers, college students and the general public...women and men alike.

The Museum's educational program with online exhibits, biographies and a whole host of curriculum materials for teachers is making a signficiant difference in the role of women in our country. No longer do young girls have to search for women whose experience inspires them. Its materials are reaching students at every level, including online, in libraries and volunteer organizations.

From all the many charities, I have chosen the National Women's History Museum to support with my hard earned dollars. I only hope that the Museum finds its rightful place on or near the National Mall in Washington, DC. Fifty-one percent of our citizenry deserves to be so honored for their countless contributions thoroughout our Nation's History.
BL Schergens

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I joined the Board of Directors in 2011 and have been immensely impressed with the staff and Board commitment to the cause of women's history. This is a much-needed step in public education of women's history. The excellent online exhibits are only the beginning. A permanent location on the Mall is an absolute necessity. I can't wait to walk through the front doors when it is built. It can't happen without public support, however, and our recent polls confirm a majority of Americans support creation of the Museum on the Mall in Washington D.C. I want my children to be able to see firsthand how important history education is to me, my peers, and our future.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

There is a tremendous need for a Women's History Museum so we can share the full history of our nation. We receive so many calls and requests for data from across the country and internationally. They want more online exhibits, biographies and lesson plans that have been well researched and verified.
We need a groundswell of support to get the legislation passed this year. We are not asking for money from Congress - just the authority to build our museum.
With a building in DC we will be able to share so much more and can start traveling exhibits too. It will be a great inspiration for our children. It will also encourage other countries to do the same. We need to share the full history and not just the wars and chronological timelines.
This organization has a very hard-working staff and volunteers and is on the right path. However, we really need more volunteers to garner support in their communities to get the commission legislation passed this year!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have been working with the Museum for many years and am continually impressed with their Online Exhibits and educational resources. The Museum is committed to educating the public on the important contributions women have made to our nation. I can't wait to visit the Museum once it finally gets a physical location at the National Mall in Washington, DC, but until that time, I highly recommend checking out all of the amazing Online Exhibits on NWHM's website!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have been part of the NWHM team for about a year and a half now and find it a fast-paced, interesting, hard-working group of people. It helps that the staff and 50,000+ members share a passion for creating a National Women's History Museum on or near the national Mall asap. In fulfilling the Museum's mission, there are hundreds of on-line biographies and exhibits worth visiting. (www.nwhm.org)
For March-Women's History Month-we had numerous events, activities and an exhibit at the National Press Club on the role of the press for the 1913 Suffrage march.
Billie Jean King says it best: "how are you going to shape the future if you don't know the past?"
-K. Clinton

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

I have been involved with the National Women's History Museum for a number of years and find it a wonderful way to cherish and honor the memory of the amazing women who came before me. Right now the Museum is online and virtual - but their goal is to have a building on the Smithsonian Mall. Imagine how special it would be to bring a young girl to a one-of-a-kind, National Women's History Museum, where the impact of women on America's culture and society is not just a side exhibit, but fully showcased for all to see and learn from! What an inspiration it would be for generations to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

I have been involved with this Museum for many years and will continue to help them any way I can to accomplish their goal! Why? Because not only do I believe in their mission...I learn something new fromtheir dedicated staff and visiting their website and especially their blog and Facebook pages almost everyday. It only proves to me that there is so much more women's history to learn and maddens me that I was never taught it along with men's history in school. Worse yet, it is frustrating the media continues to under report women's achievements even in the 21st Century!

Over and over again it proves to me and to others exactly why this Museum is needed. I wish I'd known about many of the women who helped found our nation when I was a child. I wish I'd heard about Sybil Ludington and how she rode longer and further than Paul Revere that famous night to warn of the coming danger. George Washington recognized her heroism but I never learned about her until NWHM shared her story. I grew up believing Eli Whitney invented the Cotton Gin. And if you ask most men and women, they will tell you the same thing. Imagine my surprise upon learning the missing part of that history all because a woman couldn't hold a patent in those days. We are teaching our children incomplete history!

There are so many amazing women -- so many trailblazers -- who helped America become what it is today. It is a disgrace that for so many years Congress has not granted this Museum the site they have requested -- especially since NWHM has said all along it will pay for it through private funding -- NOT at taxpayer expense!

I listened in on a focus group of teachers and another one with students and over and over again they referred to the lack of women's history in their textbooks and the students were frustrated so little was even taught in their classrooms. The boys on the panels as well said they never realized girls and women had done so much until they visited NWHM's website doing research for a school assignment. One girl even mentioned the only women's history that was taught in her class last year was from an oral book report she gave on Victoria Woodhull.

It is an injustice that we are not teaching and reporting all of America's rich history -- both from the past and today. We have much to be proud of. Thank goodness for NWHM and their recognizing that this void needs to be filled and for fighting this uphill battle to get a Museum in our nation's capital.

One day this Museum will become a reality -- and I look forward to learning all that I didn't know -- that I didn't know!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers