Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12.16667345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

NWF does a ton of educational outreach for children. They hold a huge annual hiking event for kids around the country, they get involved in local environmental events, and they sponsor yearly camp-outs. They also have the backyard habitat program which helps people learn what plants are most attractive to wildlife in their yard.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 19, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

The National Wildlife Federation is definitely NOT a charity I would recommend. They have completely ignored my requests to remove my name from their mailing list. The worst experience I had from them was when I called to remove my address but they had cowardly hung up on me as soon as I mentioned mailing list removal! The "conservation" charity is absolutely absurd in the way they continue to mass market to me with paper, paper gift cards, paper membership offers, and paper labels. They obviously use all their funding just on direct marketing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dissolve the charity as it is just a marketing machine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 19, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 19, 2013
8 people found this review helpful

The National Wildlife Federation through it's state affiliates actively supports and promotes not only hunting but also trapping. This wildlife killing especially the brutality of trapping is not evident in its National magazines or the way it presents itself to the ordinary member. I think this is duplicitous at best to lure people to donate money because they love wildlife only to use turn around and use that money to promote wildlife killing and exploitation using cruel methods and even by children. In New Mexico, the NM Wildlife Federation also supports coyote killing contests, organized events where the purpose is to offer cash and prizes for amassing the highest body count.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

No. Not to this organization. Your review is awfully short. We would like to know more.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 2, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After donating to NWF, I was bombarded by a ton of unwanted mailings from NWF. In addition, I was sent more mailings from other environmental groups. Similarly, I was sent at least 2 solicitations requesting more donations, before I ever got my free gift from them.

I've decided to not
donate again, and have moved more of my money to donating to St. Jude's Children's Hospital, my local church, and I plan on supporting my local wildlife organization instead of NWF. Selling your donor's information means no more donations from me...
Cheers!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
February 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I give to plenty of environmental groups, but not this one. They inundate me with unwanted mailings full of extra paper, to both my home and to my office. I can't see how this is efficient use of donor funds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have donated small annual amounts to NWF for over 20 years. I also subscribe my nieces and nephews to their children's magazines. I often wonder how much money is wasted when I find bulky materials from them in the mail, on an increasing pace -almost weekly! They have taken the nonprofit marketing strategy of 'if a person is gifted with something, whether it be stationary or other gifts, then they will feel compelled to make a donation in return' to a very extreme degree. A part of protecting the environment for our children's future includes conserving precious resources and carefully considering how money is spent. Furthermore, their record keeping is deplorable. I am constantly receiving notices that it is time to renew my membership or a magazine subscription when I just paid/renewed. I have been double charged on many occasions and have not once received a reply to a number of email requests for support. I think their magazines are wonderful for kids, but they really need to spend more time engaging their members on social media and via email with educational pieces and reports on what is being accomplished with member funds. If this is done right and proper member services are in place, then a new social marketing trend will happen naturally and they can stop their abusing snail mail practices and do some real good. Until then, I am done with NWF, as there are so many other great nonprofits that can use my regular small contributions.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
December 21, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

My loving husband donated our ranch/oil royalties to NWF. They have shown themselves to be greedy, extremely and uncessarily bureaucratic and hindered by layers and layers of admin (where all the money must go!) This total thanklessness for a VERY valuable donation is sad and supports the phrase 'no good deed goes unpunished'. In Hindsight, I wish we had donated to The Nature Conservancy.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I recently particapted in a Hike & Seek event with my familiy. It was wonderful, they really inspired my kids! Ive recently order them the Ranger Rick magazine and am very pleased! Plus the kids love the photos!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 26, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I've been a donor to National wildlife Federation for many, many years. Unfortunately, they are now engaged in misleading and manipulative mail fundraising. About a month ago they sent me a DVD in the mail and said it was a preview of a DVD series they were producing. The letter said I could pay $12.95 for the DVD and sign up to preview other DVD's, or return the DVD. In small print, they noted that since II didn't order the DVD, I was under no obligation to participate at all. Today I received a mailing from them with "Please pay for or Return Your DVD Today" in large boldface letters across the letter. The letter tells me to keep the DVD and pay the $12.95 or return the DVD. In small print after the complimentary close, is a "Service Guarantee" stating I am under no obligation to do either of these things. Yes, they are towing the legal line with this disclosure, but tricking folks into handing over cash is NOT good stewardship.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers