Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
September 19, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 3, 2011

What a wonderful organization dedicated to promote the SOUND Tennessee Walking Horse. A member for 10+ years, it has been a great activity for our children and entire family. Great people and wonder... more

September 19, 2013

The Tennessee Walking Horse can still hold it's head high as a breed with organizations like The National Walking Horse Association promoting the sound flat shod naturally gaited walking horse. No gimmicks, no soring. Just a naturally talented breed with appeal to the whole equestrian world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

more opportunities for growth

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 3, 2011

What a wonderful organization dedicated to promote the SOUND Tennessee Walking Horse. A member for 10+ years, it has been a great activity for our children and entire family. Great people and wonderful horses make for a Great organization.

NWHA has never waivered from it original goal.
Through thick and thin of the USDA HPA world, NWHA has always stood firm for the horse. Based all decisions on doing the right thing when it came to God's wonderful creatures.

What a great place to bring my children up in - knowing the difference between right and wrong when it came to treating animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Bringing back the true Tennessee Walking Horse with true un-sored gaits. Standing up for inhume practices of soring this horse for a cheap ribbon. Presented as the official breed representative to the 2010 World Equestrian Games in KY. Never has this breed been allowed to participate until NWHA stood up and gave this breed of horse a voice in the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make them financially sound to continue the mission of anti-soring legislation within the USDA.

February 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2011

The National Walking Horse Association was formed in 1998 to promote the sound Tennessee walking horse and to end the practice of soring.

Most people outside the horse world, and even some people inside it, are not aware of the abusive training and showing practices of a certain segment of
the Tennessee walking horse world. These practices have existed for decades and there is specific legislation prohibiting it, known as the Federal Horse Protection Act. The NWHA offers a show circuit for owners who wish to compete against only sound, healthy horses. At their horse shows, entries are carefully examined prior to admittance, and there is zero tolerance for horses that have any signs of present or past abuse. Horses that do not meet the standard are rejected; while their owners are ticketed and face other consequences.

The NWHA continues its goal of advocating for the end of abusive and inhumane treatment of the Tennessee walking horse. Receipt of the prize money would assist this group in acting on behalf of these voiceless animals.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen a growth in the sound horse movement, and a reduction in the popularity of engaging in the soring of horses. Horses that were formerly victims of abusive treatment, are now sound and pain free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My change would be to increase the power of the organization to increase the punishment of persons who engage inabusive treatment of horses.

February 7, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 7, 2011

I have been involved in the Tennessee Walking Horse Industry for over 20 years now. As a child I enjoyed trail riding and showing in youth classes at local shows. My father and I seemed to collect horses over the years, for both the trails and the "rail" and I was very blessed to have owned and own some truly wonderful horses that have become forever friends. The Tennessee Walking Horse Industry is very complex you see. It is comprised of such a wide variety of individuals that each have their own agendas and wish to promote that agenda entirely. My father and I have always and ever been advocates for the SOUND horse and we beleive that horses should be treated and respected and given an environment as close to their natural one as possible to flourish. For an individual like myself who loves to show and wants to educate and network with other SOUND horse people, the NWHA provides a wonderful place to do this. It is truly the only Horse Industry Organization that stands by their word with fair inspections and honest judging. It is a wonderful tapestry of individuals that beleives in the naturally gaited horse and how to go about showcasing their abilities the best way for the horse and the rider. The NWHA also provides an outlet for trail riders, youth and versatility, which are all areas where the Tennessee Walking Horse excels and should be in the public spotlight. The NWHA is the only Tennessee Walking Horse HIO that was invited to preform at the World Equestrian Games that was held in Kentucky this past year (2010) and I can tell you that this came to be becasue of the amazing volunteers, the organization members and the fact that we as gaited horse lovers police ourselves and want good genuine people to promote our breed and not be a deterrent to our wonderful breed. The NWHA does what no other HIO does, it provides unity among it's members and gives us a safe place to exhibit and promote our horses with like-minded individuals. I can honestly say that from showing for over 20 years that this is the first time I have actually felt like I am a part of a family, a show family that appreciates my dedication, my love and my obvious sincerity to the Tennessee Walking Horse and the NWHA not only rewards those that they feel are exceptional they stand by those individuals ideas and contributions. I have been welcomed to the NWHA with warm welcome arms, unlike other organizations I have belonged to in the past and I feel that the NWHA has high standards for it's members yet each and everyone of us want to be a part of this organization because of that. This is an organization with integrity, character and morals and for that I am grateful because I have not been able to find that or the comraderie in other organizations like I have found in this one. A+ to the NWHA and what they provide, their mission sells itself.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The unity and the promotion of the Healthy and Sound horse and the comraderie among it's members. I have seen a growth in numbers of people who attend the horse shows and an overwhelming number of these individuals that return to these shows and events. There is also a growth in those wanting to not only participate in the events associated witht he NWHA but they would also like to host them which is a difficult task to request of volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My changes to this organization would be very minimal. I would love to see an active forum where those involved could chat easily about upcoming events, horse issues, stories, artwork and obviously a classifieds section. Forums are a great tool and I think many sound folks would really enjoy the opportunity to mingle wth one another.

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

The National Walking Horse Association is a family friendly organizaiton whose mission is to protect the Tennessee Walking Horse from the abusive practices that some use to train the horses of the show world. NWHA offers a sound, level playing field for everyone from the novice horse owner to the professional trainer to show their horses. NWHA was recently accepted as a associate organization by the United States Equestrian Federation and is the first TN Walking Horse Association to receive this honor.

In addtion, the FEI selected the NWHA as the sole breed representative of the TN Walking Horse during the 2010 World Equestrian Games.

With an office at the prestigious KY Horse Park, NWHA not only offers a sound, competitive show venue but has developed programs for verstality promotion, youth and trail. NWHA is partnered, as a supporter of the American Competitive Trail Horse Association in their efforts of finding jobs and caring for the thousands of rescue horses living in the USA.

Through educational programs and expansion nationwide, NWHA is bringing the issue of abusive practices in the TN Walking Horse world closer to an end. The 100% USDA Horse Protection Act compliancy is a title that only NWHA holds. Through the dedicated inspectors and judges, as well as the directors and executive committee, NWHA has become a valuable asset in the fight against abuse.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being able to offer a safe, sound place for people to show their TN Walking Horses and getting them to understand that the abusive methods used by some trainers cannot continue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to infuse capital so that programs could be expanded to reach more people and save more horses.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers