Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 6, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 6, 2011

The NWHA has helped wonderful, kind, athletic horses, to be taken away from inhumane treatment, and give them an opportunity to be shown in venues, where their natural talents and great dispositions can be appreciated.
It also affords riders of all abilities, and disabilities, to enjoy these
great horses, whether they are ridden on the trail, in the show ring, or in their versatility events like dressage, trail obstacle, reining, jumping, etc. Thus NWHA is providing opportunities for a great breed of horses and people of all kinds of abilities to enjoy them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Various riding competitions and clinics.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ask them to promote these horses more to the FEI and USEF, so they can be included in their world competition events, where only horses that trot are included and "gaited"horses are excluded.

February 5, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 5, 2011

NWHA has definitely changed the overall image of the Tennessee Walking Horse for the better. Before NWHA, there were few horse shows that one could exhibit their horse and know they were on a level playing field. NWHA has changed that, and given the TWH owners a venue to show with respect, sound practices, and horses who are not in pain and who have better conformation due to more selective breeding practices to get back to that original natural "walking" horse instead of the pacey big lick horses. There is a huge youth membership in this organization, and versatility of the horses owned by these youth is amazing to watch at shows. I love taking my students to shows now, they aren't exposed to unethical training practices at NWHA events.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NWHA affiliated shows with students, judging, managing shows, and as the youth committee co-chair.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move our National Show every 4 years to a different location to accommodate more of the membership around the U.S.

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

A 'horse nut' since a toddler, as a young adult I riding smooth-gaited horses. I've advocated and tried to promote the Walking Horse since 1987 (24 years).
Upon entering the show world as an owner/exhibitor (about 20 years ago) I learned of the routine burning of horses' legs
chemically. This was one method of several to help the 'trainer' succeed. Clearly, I was a novice!
Over time, I learned that basic cruelty was commonly accepted and expected in that show world. People were driven by the desire for public and/or professional status. I learned too much of various ways to cause pain in the animal.
The initial members of NWHA began organizing those who cared for their animals humanely, regardless of show performance. The horse was expected to move freely and naturally, With No Pain.
My best advice to NWHA is to stay true to these roots. Remember the simplicity of the natural horse. Promote That Horse. Train judges who grade by this standard. Train judges to grade Down any horse performing a gait not normally seen in a horse in the pasture.
Form a committee/s to describe the marketable assets of this horse. To describe the existing market for the horse, future hopes of expanding this market, and ways to make this breed a trustworthy business investment for trainers/breeders/ others in the industry.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Observing horses moving without pain, in seeing the growth of the numbers of people proud to promote their pain free horse. Seen the growth of or recognition of the number of people who enjoy a smooth moving horse in many activities other than the show world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow the market for the breed by expanding on other talents than the smooth gait. Promote all the assets of this breed. Describe, without hesitation, areas in which other breeds may excel. Educate the membership through offering continuing ed opportunities. Promoting ways that members could demonstrate advancement in their horsemanship. Identify differences in our members, then promote programs designed for these markets. Make membership an asset to each member!

February 3, 2011

more

February 3, 2011

The National Walking Horse Association changed an industry. My Wife and I were months away from quitting as Professional Horse Trainers because our industry had become so corrupt. Horses were suffering and people were cheating by paying off judges to receive higher placements during the World Championships. If the national news media covered the Walking Horse, it was usually talking about the horrible abuse of horses found within our industry. NWHA stopped this abuse. They created a no tolerance industry, where if you were found to be abusing horses you were suspended from competition for life. Over the last decade, the signs of abuse are almost forgotten and the show ring has become a friendly place again because the abusers left and the membership united against them. NWHA taught us that no government agency, like the USDA or the Humane Society, can stop abuse by themselves, it takes the public or the membership of an organization like ours to unite against it. You must point a finger at the abuser and call their actions out for what they are. The National Walking Horse Association and its members chose to do this and save a breed of horse that suffered under horrible training and showing abuse. NWHA now has 8 of the 10 largest Walking Horse show under its supervision and MacGregor Stables is proud to be a part of this movement and association. Our business is doing great and we just finished representing the Walking Horse at the World Equestrian Games in Lexington Kentucky last fall, which is the largest all horse competition in the world and the first time that it was held in the USA. MacGregor Stables also became the most winning team in the Walking Horse industry because we chose to believe in a new idea, horses could win while showing sound in a protected environment. Thank you, NWHA, for all that you did to save our amazing breed of horse and congratulations for being accepted into the United States Equestrian Federation as an associate member.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw the most abused breed of horse in world accepted into the USEF which is the governing body for competition horses in this country. NWHA had to prove that they belonged and that their horses could stand up to the world's scrutiny. Because of this organization's commitment to soundness (horses not trained through abusive techniques) my business doubled in size and I became respected within the whole horse community for both the quality of my horse training and my commitment to see abuse ended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase the membership so that NWHA would have the economic resources to continue to fight abuse, develop new venues to show horses and add other breeds of horse under their protective shield.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

No tolerance policy - if you abuse horses you are suspended for life, no second chance.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers