Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
1234.755
Write A Review
February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

A 'horse nut' since a toddler, as a young adult I riding smooth-gaited horses. I've advocated and tried to promote the Walking Horse since 1987 (24 years).
Upon entering the show world as an owner/exhibitor (about 20 years ago) I learned of the routine burning of horses' legs
chemically. This was one method of several to help the 'trainer' succeed. Clearly, I was a novice!
Over time, I learned that basic cruelty was commonly accepted and expected in that show world. People were driven by the desire for public and/or professional status. I learned too much of various ways to cause pain in the animal.
The initial members of NWHA began organizing those who cared for their animals humanely, regardless of show performance. The horse was expected to move freely and naturally, With No Pain.
My best advice to NWHA is to stay true to these roots. Remember the simplicity of the natural horse. Promote That Horse. Train judges who grade by this standard. Train judges to grade Down any horse performing a gait not normally seen in a horse in the pasture.
Form a committee/s to describe the marketable assets of this horse. To describe the existing market for the horse, future hopes of expanding this market, and ways to make this breed a trustworthy business investment for trainers/breeders/ others in the industry.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Observing horses moving without pain, in seeing the growth of the numbers of people proud to promote their pain free horse. Seen the growth of or recognition of the number of people who enjoy a smooth moving horse in many activities other than the show world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow the market for the breed by expanding on other talents than the smooth gait. Promote all the assets of this breed. Describe, without hesitation, areas in which other breeds may excel. Educate the membership through offering continuing ed opportunities. Promoting ways that members could demonstrate advancement in their horsemanship. Identify differences in our members, then promote programs designed for these markets. Make membership an asset to each member!

February 3, 2011

more

February 3, 2011

The National Walking Horse Association changed an industry. My Wife and I were months away from quitting as Professional Horse Trainers because our industry had become so corrupt. Horses were suffering and people were cheating by paying off judges to receive higher placements during the World Championships. If the national news media covered the Walking Horse, it was usually talking about the horrible abuse of horses found within our industry. NWHA stopped this abuse. They created a no tolerance industry, where if you were found to be abusing horses you were suspended from competition for life. Over the last decade, the signs of abuse are almost forgotten and the show ring has become a friendly place again because the abusers left and the membership united against them. NWHA taught us that no government agency, like the USDA or the Humane Society, can stop abuse by themselves, it takes the public or the membership of an organization like ours to unite against it. You must point a finger at the abuser and call their actions out for what they are. The National Walking Horse Association and its members chose to do this and save a breed of horse that suffered under horrible training and showing abuse. NWHA now has 8 of the 10 largest Walking Horse show under its supervision and MacGregor Stables is proud to be a part of this movement and association. Our business is doing great and we just finished representing the Walking Horse at the World Equestrian Games in Lexington Kentucky last fall, which is the largest all horse competition in the world and the first time that it was held in the USA. MacGregor Stables also became the most winning team in the Walking Horse industry because we chose to believe in a new idea, horses could win while showing sound in a protected environment. Thank you, NWHA, for all that you did to save our amazing breed of horse and congratulations for being accepted into the United States Equestrian Federation as an associate member.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw the most abused breed of horse in world accepted into the USEF which is the governing body for competition horses in this country. NWHA had to prove that they belonged and that their horses could stand up to the world's scrutiny. Because of this organization's commitment to soundness (horses not trained through abusive techniques) my business doubled in size and I became respected within the whole horse community for both the quality of my horse training and my commitment to see abuse ended.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would increase the membership so that NWHA would have the economic resources to continue to fight abuse, develop new venues to show horses and add other breeds of horse under their protective shield.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

What is unique about this organization?

No tolerance policy - if you abuse horses you are suspended for life, no second chance.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

As a new owner of Walking Horses, The National Walking Horse Association, has helped me have a deeper, well rounded, knowledge base of the Walking Horse. I have been provided with "go to" resources, and helpful voices for all questions regarding Walking Horses. This breed and those involved in the Association could not be deemed as anything but relaxed, friendly, and versatile! Debra Conaway

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced this organization's ability to meet a wide variety of needs in a timely manner. I have seen the organization help owners in financial need place their horses in healthy homes. I believe thisorganization looks out for their horses and for their members.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its size, so it could reach more people.

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

The National Walking Horse Association is a family friendly organizaiton whose mission is to protect the Tennessee Walking Horse from the abusive practices that some use to train the horses of the show world. NWHA offers a sound, level playing field for everyone from the novice horse owner to the professional trainer to show their horses. NWHA was recently accepted as a associate organization by the United States Equestrian Federation and is the first TN Walking Horse Association to receive this honor.

In addtion, the FEI selected the NWHA as the sole breed representative of the TN Walking Horse during the 2010 World Equestrian Games.

With an office at the prestigious KY Horse Park, NWHA not only offers a sound, competitive show venue but has developed programs for verstality promotion, youth and trail. NWHA is partnered, as a supporter of the American Competitive Trail Horse Association in their efforts of finding jobs and caring for the thousands of rescue horses living in the USA.

Through educational programs and expansion nationwide, NWHA is bringing the issue of abusive practices in the TN Walking Horse world closer to an end. The 100% USDA Horse Protection Act compliancy is a title that only NWHA holds. Through the dedicated inspectors and judges, as well as the directors and executive committee, NWHA has become a valuable asset in the fight against abuse.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Being able to offer a safe, sound place for people to show their TN Walking Horses and getting them to understand that the abusive methods used by some trainers cannot continue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to infuse capital so that programs could be expanded to reach more people and save more horses.

February 3, 2011

more

Review from Guidestar
February 3, 2011

NWHA is an organization that promotes the "chemical-free" Tennessee Walking Horse.

This is NWHA's 11th year of promoting "sound" horses and giving those that love them an opportunity to show and compete fairly.

I started showing Tennessee Walking Horses about 20 years ago. I
knew going into the show ring that the best ribbon I could ever hope to win was a 5th or 6th, if any, due to the fact that all of the competition was "chemically" soring their horses. (chemicals are placed around the horse's front feet, wrapped in plastic to burn the flesh & next chains are applied to the "sore" area. The horse hurts too badly to put weight on the front feet resulting in an exageratedly "big" front end.) The pain is excrutiating.

NWHA was started at great personal expense to a few brave & humane individuals who no longer wanted to show against "sore" horses. They received death threats and the lives of their horses were threatened by those who didn't see a problem with the abusive training methods. IF they were successful in starting an organization that did not believe in hurting horses, then that would mean that soring must be WRONG.

Now, over a decade later, NWHA is going strong & increasing in members while the "other" Walking Horse organizations are imploding. Heartfelt thanks goes to the USDA for policing the horse shows through strict inspections that penalize soring. And great admiration to NWHA for providing the Tennessee Walking Horse with a "pain-free" arena to show & their owners a "non-abusive" family with which to belong.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NWHA has given me a venue to bring many area children to show Tennessee Walking Horses for the first time. The NWHA family welcomes each child with open arms & cheers them on in the show ring. The smiles on the kid's faces is what showing horses is all about. FUN!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have MORE shows!!!

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers