Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
August 9, 2014

more

August 9, 2014

Do not donate to this "charity." Once they suck you in you will NEVER get get rid of them. They will not communicate with you either. And they will never stop. They are also listed on Americas Worst Charities. Sorta says it all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get rid of this organization all together.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

Terrible organization. As a social worker who has referred my homeless and disabled veteran clients as a last resort to this place for financial assistance when our organization cannot help them - not one has ever gotten any help from NVSF despite following all the specifications outlined on the application form. Instead, we've only have nasty communications from the people running NVSF. Stay FAR away, and seek out a BBB-accredited organization to donate to. This place is the worst of the worst scams - only 16 cents on the dollar makes it (if ever) to a veteran in need. Also - their bookkeeper was recently arrested for embezzling $186,000.00 from the organization and the amount could be up to $830,000.00. Needless to say, we will not be referring individuals to this place ever again.

See http://www.dariennewsonline.com/news/article/Police-believe-woman-embezzled-830K-from-vet-5522266.php

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Shut it down

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

According to their form 990, they received $9,111,243 but the veterans received $1,099,346. So the 88% is spent on overhead and fund raising, and the veteran gets 12%. Do you want your money to go to fundraisers or to the veteran?

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I just got off the phone with a lady in the office who was completely rude. I informed her that I was a 100% disabled veteran who was affected by the disasters in Oklahoma. She told me to contact Red Cross. I informed her that they were helping total loss victims. I said who do you help? She said dire straights individuals. I told her that I would keep her number for when I am in dire straights and she said that her charity is not for people to call and get help its for only people that have a social worker call for them. She made me feel small and insignificant and that my problem was not a problem at all. Who are they actually helping. Please do not support such a charity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 9, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 9, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

This non profit is a scam. I donated a boat. I was given the standard 500.00 tax deduction form. The next week I was contacted by a friend who saw my boat on craigs list for sale for 1900.00. When I called the number I talked to the man who picked the boat up from my house. His name was Wade. He informed me the boat was sold that day to a man in Minnesota. I asked what he got for it and he said 1900.

So I called the National Veterans Services fund and they confirmed that they sold the boat....for 300.00 dollars. When I asked where the other 1600. had gone they could not explain it to me. I called again to see if they would mail me a updated tax deduction for 1900. They said no. They said they would call me back after looking into it. That was 3 weeks ago.

I have contacted the States Attorney General of Oregon, and the IRS......

DO NOT CONSIDER DONATING TO THIS CHARITY. They do not give much or any of the proceeds to the vets.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 2, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 2, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I am a veteran who recently requested assistance from NVSF. I have several email communication from the charity in which they directed me to have a social worker contact their representatives on my behalf. After speaking with the social worker (who was covering for another on leave), she told me I needed an application form and other documents. While in her office, the social worker and I searched the NSVF website for said "application form". I was asked to see if I could "track down" the form on my own. I contacted NVSF and spoke to Cindy, who after hearing my name had an very negative attitude towards me. I ignored her bad attitude and asked for the application form. She then raised her voice and kept stating on the top of the voice that she had worked with my social worker for years and there was NO WAY she would have told me to get an application form from NVSF. I kept trying to explain to her that the social worker was in a different office and was unable to get a copy of the form for the next two weeks she was out of her office. I was NEVER given the chance to say anything during the exchange after which the NVSF representative (CINDY) hung up the phone. I was in shock that any veteran's charity would treat me (a veteran) with such distaste. I contacted my social worker (Sheila Harris, Atlanta VA Medical Ctr) who apologized to me for Cindy's unprofessional behavior. She stated that she would contact Cindy and explain to her the reason she did NOT have the form needed. I told Sheila that that would be unnecessary as I did not get the impression that this charity was willing to help me after the telephone contact. Ms. Harris went on to state that NVSF had denied EVERY veteran she had referred to NVSF in the last 4-6 months. If you look at thew NVSF website, you will see that every page of their site has a DONATE button. There is NOT ONE page on their site that shows a veteran to GET HELP. It is my belief that this charity, like so many others out there, are in the business of getting funds, but NO INTENTION of giving any help to the VETERAN. I tried getting information on NVSF through The Better Business Bureau and noted that the NVSF refused to provide them with any information. Obviously, this charity has a lot to hide. For all the individuals who have given monies to this charity, you should know that the money donated is going to the charity, its representatives and their families and not to any needy veteran. I hope other veteran's who have had contact with NVSF will join me in adding reviews so that everyone will be weary of donating to an obvious CON charity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 20, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

This is more likely a money making project for the "fund raisers" since way to much money goes to fund raising expenses. This charity is too inefficient in delivering services to veterans. Their mail solicitation does not correlate with their on-line organization goals. Giving to this corporation is a waste of your money and when they trick people into giving to them they take from legitimate charities who could truly help veterans. One star is too high a rating for this group. Shame on them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

These guys are telemarketers, they just keep calling you forever, change your number, move!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers