Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.809525
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

This organization's role in helping people to understand and prevent strokes is a huge service to the Ky & Southern In people. The fearless leader, Carrie Orman, never seems to sleep. She is dedicated to this organization way more than she is probably expected to be!!! As a 2 stroke survivor, I know how much the education and information the Kentucky & Southern Indiana Stroke Association provides is needed & needs to keep reiterating to everyone!!! Great job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

This organization's dedication to educating Kentucky and Southern Indiana residents about stroke is outstanding. No opportunity is ever missed to have representatives appear at community and organizational gatherings to provide information that will inform and educate. Led by a dynamic one-woman executive director, Carrie Orman, the Kentucky and Southern Indiana Stroke Association's outreach and effectiveness are even more astounding. She has the support of a cadre of volunteers and professionals who always answer her calls to rally in support of stoke education.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

The KSISA is a wonderful organization doing amazing outreach on a very little budget. It serves as a oasis for those struggling to find resources and support after a stroke has affected themselves or their family. It's volunteer troops are a great group of people who are neither wealthy or economically status, but work because they truly care about people who have had a stroke.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2013

more

October 20, 2013

As a long time volunteer with KSISA, I know how valuable their work is throughout both sides of the River. The excellent materials they offer for free are a great help in educating people from all walks of life. It is a very visible organization that reaches out to both large and small groups. KSISA is a very important charity in the fight against strokes

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none. They do tremendous things considering the small budget they work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have recently become a volunteer for the National Stroke Assn., Kentucky Chapter. My motivation was spurred by a stroke my grandmother suffered a few years ago. Stroke is SCARY, as the effects are so varied.
I decided to learn even more and "give back" to a group that helped us so much in
dealing with Nanna's issues.
I've been so impressed with all the truly caring people that reach out to this community. Recently I "worked" an event where we did educational info, to help more folks be aware of warnings and signs of stroke or impending stroke. SO many people thanked us for this event.
I look forward to continue my "work" with the Stroke Assn and the fine folks who reach out in this time of need and despair, with hope and support.
Emily Gipe

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am both a Client Served and a Volunteer. My husband had a massive stroke 12 years ago and his health journey has been a constant roller coaster ride. The storke association has offered help and guidance but most important of all they are a compassionate heart that listens. The role of caregiver is often as difficult as being the patient. I know first hand you cannot handle it alone. The doctors and medical community can only give your so much support. The patient and caregiver both need emotional as well as physical support. I know when my husband has a new issue or need the Kentucky - Indiana Stroke Association will know where to send me. And when I am tired and overwhelmed they are always there to support. me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I recently moved to Louisville, KY and the day that I was packing the truck to move, my mom had a stroke. My grandma passed after having multiple strokes and we found out that my mom has had multiple strokes and didn't even know it. I wanted to become involved with an organization that helped to educate people on prevention, signs, warnings, etc., and my limited time with KSISA has shown me that they work very hard to give back to their community and the stroke patients and families that need the support. I am very impressed by their efforts. KSISA is the type of organization that you want to work with to provide them with more help/resources to be able to educate and serve more people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

KSISA does a tremendous job of getting out and educating the public about every aspect of strokes. If any business or group of any kind wants them on site, they are there in a heartbeat. I have been volunteering with them for over five years now. Unlike some, I don't have a family member or close friend that has had a stroke. What I have learned over the years is that strokes can touch anyone at any age, even if they are in good physical shape. Knowing the symptoms and getting immediate assistance is one of many of the important issues KSISA gets out there. Also providing excellent resouces so individuals can follow up with their concerns. In addition KSISA does amazing things with the small funding they receive. They wholeheartedly deserve the recognition fitting of their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

My mom had a stroke in 2008, and shortly after I got involved with KSISA. This organization is very close to my heart, and the work they do makes such a huge difference in the lives of so many. Stroke affects everyone differently; but, no matter the effects, your life is changed forever. The support system that KSISA provides is vital for those living with stroke, along with friends and family, to move forward.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2010

more

June 17, 2010

As a stroke survivor, I am so thankful for KSISA and the support they gave me. My desire is that stroke awareness becomes so obvious to this community that everyone reacts immediately to the symptoms, and.....KSISA is striving to this end. Thanks for the leadership of KSISA in taking this desire seriously.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the health fairs by distributing and discussing stroke with interested community members.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers