Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.910715
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 24, 2014

more

August 24, 2014

The NSCC has been leading the efforts to improve school climate for a number of years. Their work is research-based, extremely user-friendly for educators and community members to understand, and of critical importance to the development of our youth and to our communities in general. The best adjective I can think of when I consider NSCC is "quality!"
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

I have only recently reviewed the work and leadership of Dr. Jonathan Cohen. However, I am very please with the professionalism of NSCC and the outstanding work being done at the NSCC under Jonathan's direction. The national standards of school climate gives states, LEAs, and schools guidance in moving forward for student success and school improvement. Thanks for your leadership and work on behave of students.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I have followed the work of this organization under the directorship of Dr. Jonathan Cohen for many years. As a school consultant, therapist and pscyhoeduational tester, I have relied on the organization's work in my meetings with many parents, students, school administrators and teachers to help them deal with a variety of social-emotional issues, especially those involving bullying. I know firsthand of many teachers and administrators who have benefited from the summer workshops they have sponsored. I have especially appreciated their efforts to make our schools become safe, reliable and exciting places to learn for our children. I recommend this organization to many people in the course of my professional work and feel extremely grateful they are available to consult with and offer guidance to all of us who work with children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make them more available to others

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2014

more

August 19, 2014

NSCC has, for many year now, been doing an outstanding job working with education departments in various states, as well as publicizing, the need for greater sensitivity in regard to social-emotional education in our schools. The work is important. Lately their emphasis has been on bullying and helping kids become more responsible in regard to standing up for others when those "others" are being hurt. The organization deserves the support of all of us.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Some focus on trying to pin-point how to measure effects of the organizations work on individual children. This is a difficult problem for all organizations which focus on the "health" of other organizations, rather than the "health" of individuals.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

This is a very important contribution to efforts to improve schools so that they provide a supportive and safe climate and attain higher academic achievements. As an international scholar I am very impressed with the quality of the materials posted and their relevance to a wide range of users, worldwide.
Rami

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add an international component to help compare and learn across different cultural contexts

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

NSCC is one of the most important national organizations working to improve the quality of children's lives. By focusing on school climate, the organization addresses the most important factor in how children will feel and function in school, including academically. NSCC does foundational, crucial, innovative, influential work. As one concrete example of their exceptional quality, their school climate assessment instrument - CSCI, or Comprehensive School Climate Inventory - is the absolute best of its kind. If every state began using the CSCI (and the other NSCC resources), we'd take a huge step forward in helping schools create settings in which all children could be safe, supportive, engaged and learn!
Stuart Green, Director, NJ Coalition for Bullying Awareness and Prevention/www.njbullying.org.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't change a thing.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 18, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

NSCCis a vibrant Non profit organisation that I respect very deeply. it is up to date, responsive to users and very prompt in how it handles questions. As a Psychiatrist who works with schools, I deeply appreciate NSCC as a continuous resource for the work I do

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it become a model for other such efforts

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

The National School Climate Center is the cutting edge organization for research and practical application of all things related to school climate reform. It has been my great privilege to work with them on a variety of projects, and they are an enormously energetic, productive and savvy group. As an educator, I greatly appreciate the Road Map and other tools that provide a framework and process for what research-based school climate reform implementation ‘looks like.’ It is the most comprehensive resource to date for schools willing to do the hard work of intentionally creating a school climate that provides an optimal environment for student and staff learning. NSCC’s best practices support student growth and development of the whole child academically, social-emotionally, civically and ethically. With clear and easy to follow modules, the Road Map points out the conversations and processes that will help all schools evaluate, reflect on and plan for their own ongoing growth, change, and effectiveness. It’s great professional development that strengthens the work of the professional learning community and provides effective planning for the ongoing school improvement process. I recommend it to schools and districts everywhere!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I first encountered the National School Climate Center when asked to present a workshop at their annual institute. I was sufficiently intrigued to stay for the full event, and am glad I did. Their thoughtful, experience-based, and practical advice helps educators at all levels from the classroom to the central administration align their mission and their practices around character development. It was a privilege to work with them, and I look forward to future collaboration.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it so their good work could influence more schools and other organizations that serve youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

As I document the lives and learning of youth for the nonprofit What Kids Can Do and others, my work often calls on the theoretical and practical contributions made by Jonathan Cohen and the National School Climate Center. Especially as the press for meaningful academic work in our classrooms increases, educators have an enormous responsibility to understand the social and emotional foundations of learning and to use that knowledge to develop student motivation and engagement. Combining insight and guidance in its materials and programs, NSCC leads the field in this regard.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers