Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.912285
Write A Review
August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jon Cohen and his team at NSCC are the prime organization for research, promotion, and advocacy for developing positive school climates in the nation's schools. They are exemplary in their research methods and provide both outstanding reports and presentations. It has been a pleasure interacting with NSCC over the past few years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As a professional colleague with the team at NSSC, I have had the opportunity to benefit from dialogue and collaboration with Jon Cohen and others over the course of the last few years. The carefulness and research-based approach taken by NSSC is of the highest quality. NSSC staff demonstrates authentic passion to advance best practices for students and adults to create positive and productive school environments. This is an exemplary agency to supply resources to educators and concerned citizens for the important work of school improvement.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have become familiar with Jonathan and his staff's work over the past several years as an advocate for promoting pro-social behavior in schools in Colorado. I have found the NSCC staff to be professional, responsive and competent. It is clear they put children's welfare above all else but are also sensitive to the inner workings of schools so that their tools, processes and guidance is adapted to each setting. There are many assessment tools being used in schools but few are valid and reliable. Even fewer leadership in districts/schools accurately interpret the data and develop an action plan to respond to what the data is telling them. The NSCC provides this very much needed comprehensive facilitation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For the past two-plus years, I have been in conversation and collaboration with the NSCC and its staff to explore the nexus between civic learning and school climate reform. I've benefited immensely from attending the annual summer institutes, along with the resources offered by the NSCC web site. I look forward to finding ways for the NSCC to help us strengthen schools' civic learning programs in the Chicagoland area through comprehensive school climate reform.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the former superintendent of the state technical school system in CT and now as superintendent of Westbrook, CT public schools, my work to promote and sustain positive school climates has only been possible through the shared efforts of the NSCC. I can say most emphatically, that unlike many organizations that promote themselves, the NSCC has student benefit at its core and the cadre of professionals who offer their services are totally dedicated to serving the needs of the school community. It is rare in this world to find an entity like NSCC which is dedicated to offering resources and opportunities for the taking. The NSCC is a must in any work to truly impact schools and communities, children and adults, in pursuit of the tools necessary to be successful in the improving the quality and character of the school experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find ways to support their critical work with funding sources and political support. The NSCC is far too important to all educational settings to let it languish fiscally.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been aware of the work of NSCC for over a dozen years. I have seen presentations,attended the institute and used their climate inventory with our schools in Plainview-Old Bethpage, New York.They have great resources online and their Comprehensive School Climate Inventory provides a wealth of data for diagnosis and prescription. I highly recommend their services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more ways to publicize their offerings.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The team we work with at NSCC is so delightfully involved in the project we are working on together, both intellectually and functionally. They are eager to learn, show respect for the expertise of the client, yet are so well prepared and researched that they add a level of insight and innovation to the thinking that is exceptional. They are responsive and professional and fun. What more could you ask for?!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clarify and distinguish their contribution to the field they serve from the client/customer contractual relationships.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been learning from and working for the NSCC for the past two years and they have the most comprehensive resources on school climate out there. Some organizations want to make money off of schools but NSCC really wants to help schools improve their school climate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with the National School Climate Center (NSCC), Jonathan Cohen, and several of NSCC's staff for the past few years on a number initiatives ranging from training and technical assistance to research and evaluation. First and foremost, it is obvious that the NSCC's staff care about students and improving their school contexts and environments. Second, they offer first class services and are experts in the field of school climate improvement. The Comprehensive School Climate Inventory is a high quality tool and the report is very comprehensive and yet easy to use in supporting school climate improvement. Finally, I have attended NSCC's annual School Climate Institute twice and highly recommend it for school improvement teams.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NSCC adds extensive experience, knowledge, and depth to school improvement efforts. I have enjoyed learning with and from Jonathan Cohen and the NSCC.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Leverge its work to enable a national research agenda to better demonstrate the critical impact that school environments have on student learning as well as the effectiveness of intentional, comprehensive school climate improvement.

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

The NSCC has a wealth of resources, which I have found extremely useful in developing presentations to my local school board, informing the planning and implementation of our District's S.U.M.M.I.T. grant (which seeks to better coordinate district and community mental health resources) and in developing school climate standards for Pennsylvania's state Board of Education.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers