Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.912285
Write A Review
August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

The National School Climate Center does critical work in changing the public perception about the nature of bullying and what we can do about it. They have been instrumental in creating the public awareness fo upstander vs. bystander behavior, and the role institutions can take in changing the culture of bullying to one of awareness and support. Our learning and practical work witht he institute resulted in our urban middle school drastically transforming our culture around bullying.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 18, 2014

more

August 18, 2014

As an educator, I appreciate and applaud that NSCC provides an essential component in the education of all children to be well, able, and contributing members of our society. NSCC is unique in its strength of understanding the dynamics of students and school as well as in its systematic and comprehensive approach to the developing and growing student.
The positive school climate that NSCC promotes - "the school's affective atmosphere that represents what the school believes...what is humane and caring." - is at the cutting edge in our nations educational challenge.
I can not speak too highly of this non-profit organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would link this organization to all of our national and local policy makers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

I first encountered the National School Climate Center when asked to present a workshop at their annual institute. I was sufficiently intrigued to stay for the full event, and am glad I did. Their thoughtful, experience-based, and practical advice helps educators at all levels from the classroom to the central administration align their mission and their practices around character development. It was a privilege to work with them, and I look forward to future collaboration.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it so their good work could influence more schools and other organizations that serve youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

As I document the lives and learning of youth for the nonprofit What Kids Can Do and others, my work often calls on the theoretical and practical contributions made by Jonathan Cohen and the National School Climate Center. Especially as the press for meaningful academic work in our classrooms increases, educators have an enormous responsibility to understand the social and emotional foundations of learning and to use that knowledge to develop student motivation and engagement. Combining insight and guidance in its materials and programs, NSCC leads the field in this regard.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 17, 2014

more


1 previous review
September 15, 2010

NSCC has produced state-of-the art materials and practices to assist schools, school districts, and policy-makers enhance the social and emotional climate of schools. With the perfect mixture of acad... more

August 17, 2014

As a researcher and scholar on school and youth violence, I believe that the National School Climate Center has not only enhanced the theoretical dialogue about school-related violence but, more importantly, has contributed in innumerable practical ways to assess and strategically enhance a school's social-emotional climate, including but not limited to the development of psychometrically sound and usable (i.e., reasonably short) instruments to assess school climate from the perspective of students, staff, parents, and more recently, from community residents. Moreover, the Center has developed practical guidance in interpreting the data derived from these instruments and facilitated strategic planning sessions for the school community to take the lead in identifying priorities and improving those aspects of school school climate that need to improve. School climate, in my opinion and the opinion of many scholars in the field is the key to understand and improve the school experience for all, resulting in the long-run in reducing bullying, harassment, and other forms of school aggression and in improving the overall experience and relationships within the school.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve and enhance its train the trainers program for school personnel.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2010

NSCC has produced state-of-the art materials and practices to assist schools, school districts, and policy-makers enhance the social and emotional climate of schools. With the perfect mixture of academic rigor, practical knowhow, and sensitivity to the needs of educational professionals, NSCC has added immensely to our understanding of the nature and dynamics of school climate, and more importantly, has created guidelines and processes for improving school climate. Not only has NSCC developed one of the most comprehensive and psychometrically sound survey instruments for students, staff, and parents (with results presented in multiple and easy-to-understand formats), the Center has also developed a non-threatening and respectful process to empower all members of a school community to work effectively and confidently in recognizing its strengths and addressing its challenges . I would highly commend the Center to any school or school district interested in improving school climate, a process that is sure to improve academic results and reduce absenteeism.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reviewing its work in states throughout the country.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

For more than a decade, the National School Climate Center has worked with the academic community - teachers, administrators, school-based mental health professionals, students and parents - to provide advocacy, policy, research and measurement tools which improve the climate for learning and help children realize their fullest potential. I'm extremely proud to to be affiliated with NSCC.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

Over the last few decades there has been an explosion of research that has confirmed what good teachers have always known. Children who are frightened or ashamed (or hungry or hurt) aren't as likely to learn whatever it is we hope to teach them be that poetry, history or algebra. I have known Jonathan Cohen for over 20 years and greatly admire what he and others have created in NSCC. It is an organization dedicated to providing teachers, schools and educational leaders with the tools, resources, research data and other support to help us all make schools work for all children.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

Jonathan Cohen and the National School Climate Center have long taken a leadership role in the area of school climate and school culture. Their School Culture Resource Center is full of valuable information which would be helpful to schools who are on a path to improve their school culture and climate. The organization of the resource center is well thought out and sequential and provides users with a solid framework as they work on making improvements in their school. The National School Climate Center is an important voice in the field of social-emotional learning.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

Jon Cohen's edited volumes introduced and persuaded many educators, including myself, to the field of social, emotional and character education. I have since become an avid reader of Jon Cohen's scholarly articles and his work in defining, assessing and improving school climate.

NSCC and
Jon Cohen have been building the capacity of the schools to establish and maintain positive school climates through their work creating and conducting assessment and professional development. At the 2014 NSCC Summer Institute I had the pleasure of presenting to staff from public, charter, and private schools. The quality of the work of NSCC is nationally recognized and valued by educators working in all types of school configurations. This speaks to the importance of NSCC's mission and the professionalism of their staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure NSCC received the support necessary to provide their services to even more schools. I also wish that all school administrators and faculty had the freedom and resources to take advantage of NSCC services.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I have consulted and collaborated with Jonathan Cohen and NSCC over the last 10 yrs. Most recently we co-authored with Amrit Thapa, NSCC, and Shawn Guffey, Fordham University, a paper on the core dimensions of school climate in Review of Educational Research, 2013 which is one of their top 5 most cited papers.
Currently a student of mine is working at NSCC on one of their projects, conducting research and writing state reports on school climate and enhancing school safety. I have had other students also work with them.

The NSCC staff is very bright, professional, and wonderful to work with. They are open, interested in new ideas, and very productive.

The most impressive thing about NSCC is that as an institute it is self-reflective, always engaged in improving its services, its school improvement protocol, and its measures of school climate to better serve schools, districts, and state education departments. I rank it as the top among institutes offering school improvement prac tices and evaluative research in school climate.
Ann Higgins-D'Alessandro PhD
Professor of Psychology
Fordham University
Educational Consultant and Evaluator

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help it grow and flourish.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers