Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.215055
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My experience with NRC has been extremely positive. I believe the cause is important, and I donate to NRC because this organization is specifically focused on helping bring services to improve the quality of life for Native Americans. In my conversations with NRC staff, it is clear that they are genuinely concerned and dedicated to the welfare of Native Americans. They visit the reservations, get to know the needs of the communities and offer innovative programs to help. They have successfully partnered with great organizations to make a positive difference for elders as well as young children and students. Without their programs, many would go without the basic needs for life - water, heat, food, transportation . . . things many Americans take for granted. I am proud to be a supporter and urge others to contribute to this worthy organization so they can continue to serve Native American communities around the United States.
-Melinda

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... help them build more awareness so they could grow their programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Last Christmas my cousins and I decided to donate to a charity instead of exchanging gifts. We chose the winter fuel service through NRC's Southwest Indian Relief Council program. We were pleased to receive an update on what our contribution was able to help provide last winter to keep Elders warm. This giving meant more to us than the usual gift exchange and we are considering doing it again this year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I finf the workers at NRC very dedicated people who sincerely want to improve the livs of
Native Americans. I was very pleased to help the students complete their education through
scholarships I provided for them. My late husband Robert Fischer and I have been a long
time supporters
of this organization. I find the mission of this organization is to help the
Native Americans and I would continue to help in whatever way I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i like all the things it does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I donated to ROAR because I was concerned about the plight of the animals of the reservation. Although I didn't give (couldn't) much, a flood of mail and phone solicitations followed. I stopped donated after I read some negative reviews of the charity, but the solicitations continued.
Yes, I
tried calling the 1-800 donor help line - but guess what, no one picks up! What good is this donor help line if no one actually answers the calls? Why not make it easier for people to get off the calling/mailing list if so many complain?
I put a request to drop me from NRC's lists on the payment coupon of the most recent solicitation. I'm sure it won't be followed. And the worst part is, the animals of the reservation go without! I really would like to help but I just don't want that flood of mail and phone calls anymore!

Edited by FS2013: Someone from NRC actually responded to my review! Interestingly the responder - no name given - didn't address my concerns about the animals, only my "difficulties" with their help line.
Actually, it's the help line having difficulties - answering their calls, that is! Does anyone actually work there? When do they answer the phone? The number is correct judging by the automatic message.
Yes, I will drop you a line at the email you provided - hopefully someone will be staffing there!
And you do realize that I left the message on this board in the hope I'd get a response, not in an effort to make me feel better. I will feel better when the animals of the reservation get proper care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Respect the clients feedback. Drop the ones who don't want contact - they won't donate anyway!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I gave once, believing in the cause of education. My contact information has been passed around like a piece of fresh meat. I receive a relentless stream of expensive mailings and phone calls from all manner of organizations under the National Relief Charities umbrella. One asked for money for blankets for the Indians. On checking, I found that 25% of money raised goes to more fund raising.
Efforts to be removed from their contact list have failed. Do not make eye-contact.

They claim to be top-rated by Great Nonprofits, which makes this organization suspect as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Respect their donors. Refusal to take me off of their contact list wastes their money and my time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is VERY fishy. We have been inundated with calls even though we requested to be taken off their call list at least four times. Up until this last call they said they would remove us from the list. Yesterday when they called, for the fourth time in a week, I got upset about not having been removed from their call list. The woman said that I had to call another number to be taken off the list!!!

What are they doing with all their money except hire people to call and call and call???

I would never donate to them again.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After making one donation, I have received dozens of pestering phone calls and wasteful mailings.
25% of money raised goes to more fundraising.
They posted on my face book page. My disavowing comment disappeared.
I strongly suspect that most of the "volunteers" who write reviews are on
the payroll of this relentless machine. Do not make eye contact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013

I made the mistake of donating to this collection of charities a few years ago. At that point, Charity Navigator's rating was significantly lower--one star, in fact. Would that I had checked before sending a check. Since then, I have not donated again. Nonetheless, I have been harassed (that's really the only appropriate word) by phone calls. I have made repeated requests to have my number removed and made it quite clear that I want no more phone calls. But the repeated promises that the charity would honor my request have been false.

I see that the charity has responded to similar complaints by suggesting that perhaps a reviewer was mistaken by all the charities with similar names. I have made it a point to ask the caller whether he or she represented National Relief Charities (since the calls come under different names) and been assured that yes, the caller was from that organization. I am fed up with this organization and will never donate to a group that refuses to honor my wishes to be left alone and that treats me rudely when I express them.

I have also seen the responses claiming that the charity does not want to call people who don't want calls and offering an e-mail address and a phone number. My question: Why can't the organization have its callers record information that I've given multiple times?

National Relief Charities represents absolutely the worst experience I have ever had with charitable giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
September 5, 2012

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have ask... more

February 21, 2013

Council of Indian nations,soiux relief fund,Soiux nation...all out of area calls...nonstop for 4 years .Almost weekly and there seems to be nothing I can do about it.Because my mother would send them a few 5 dollar checks every year till she died.I have told them an easy 100 times she is no longer alive and they call week in and week out year after year.Harassment threats,blocking phone numbers,none of it stops.Do yourself a favor ...if you must donate do so anonymously.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have asked hundreds of times to be removed ,talked to supervisors,been promised up and down that there would be no more calls ...and every few days another call asking for my mother.I have tried to threaten & follow up with phone harassment charges but it is too much bother ...so the calls just keep coming.WARNING do not get involved.My Mothers bank account was hacked for a small amount and the bank suspects one of these charities but the amount($399 ) is too small to follow up on.We changed her accounts .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013

We are being harassed by the telephone volunteers for the Navajo Relief Fund. In the last few months, they have telephoned us every evening, including Sundays. We estimate that they have called over 100 times. We have told them explicitly that we will not donate and want to be removed from their contact list. They ignore us and keep phoning. Though we are on a "Do Not Call" list and have informed them of this, they continue to call.

We have filed a complaint but the phone solicitors are unfazed by this information. My advice: give to another charity -- not this one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers