Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
93 Reviews
1234.215055
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked with NRC on multiple occasions over the years with printing projects I couldn't help but notice all the wonderful campaigns they promote throughout the year to help raise awareness and support for Native Americans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've heard the expression, "Give a man a fish, feed him for a day, teach a man (or woman) to fish, feed him for life" and have found NRC to be an organization who puts this into practice in a caring, culturally sensitive and effective manner. In doing so they help lift the quality of life for entire Native American communities and for future generations.

I met with many of the staff at NRC and found them to be knowledgable, caring and really committed to the plight of Native American's. They help Native Americans who live on reservations miles from anywhere (and so can't benefit from casinos) and who exist within these United States in terrible conditions with little help from our Government.

NRC is improving the lives of hundreds of thousands of individuals every year. An impressive group that continues to grow the impact of their programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently attended a donor meeting at National Relief Charities and was most impressed with the speakers, who outlined the organization's mission and highlighted some very impressive results, especially in working to enhance educational opportunities and success for Native American students. They also do great work with animal rescue and outreach on the reservation. I look forward to learning more, and to contributing to their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our company is proud to be a part of the fundraising efforts of your fine organization. We fully support your efforts to help improve the quality of life of the Native American community. Your passion for this worthy cause is what motivates our company to do good work for you. We are committed to doing excellent work for your cause and are humbled that you have selected us to be a part of this important effort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Relief Charities does amazing work the Native Americans. I support them fully.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
September 5, 2012

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have ask... more

February 21, 2013

Council of Indian nations,soiux relief fund,Soiux nation...all out of area calls...nonstop for 4 years .Almost weekly and there seems to be nothing I can do about it.Because my mother would send them a few 5 dollar checks every year till she died.I have told them an easy 100 times she is no longer alive and they call week in and week out year after year.Harassment threats,blocking phone numbers,none of it stops.Do yourself a favor ...if you must donate do so anonymously.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have asked hundreds of times to be removed ,talked to supervisors,been promised up and down that there would be no more calls ...and every few days another call asking for my mother.I have tried to threaten & follow up with phone harassment charges but it is too much bother ...so the calls just keep coming.WARNING do not get involved.My Mothers bank account was hacked for a small amount and the bank suspects one of these charities but the amount($399 ) is too small to follow up on.We changed her accounts .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

On one day I received FIVE calls from CIN, all asking for Betty C. Hall. Each time I explained that Betty C. Hall did not have this number, never did, I did not know Ms. Hall, and could they please take this number off their call list. Each time, they assured me they would. The next business day I received TWO MORE calls for Ms. Hall. During the first I said I would have to report them if I received one more call - do not call this number - and 10 minutes later I received another call. I went to the CIN website and called the number and selected the option to speak to a fundraising professional. Sadly, all I heard was a two minute commercial and a request to visit the website before it disconnected; I never spoke with a professional. I expect the work they do is better than the tele-fundraising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 2, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I, too have received "freebies" from your organization, as well as from other American Indian relief organizations. I get freebies, and money from yet numerous other "world relief" organizations. And when I ask those in my social circle if they receive such "goodies", those who answer in the affirmative also spontaneously confirm my own feelings about these freebies: It is a turnoff, has a negative impact, and when some of us do the math of say 10, 20, 50, 100-thousand mailings ... the paper, the postage, the "freebies", the labor involved ... boy, does it add up, and I find it wasteful, and I cannot respond. I, too, live way-y-y-y below the poverty level, so I understand a bit about the "struggle". I don't even pretend to live at the level of distress within the American Indian population, except that I KNOW it is extremely traumatic (I've been donating $ and goods to a local American Indian relief concern for 30+ years.). But because I myself have to sacrifice a lot to be able to give, I want to make sure my donation isn't going into that 25% fundraising effort; 3,5,10% even 15%, 20-25, not a chance. I also volunteer for a WORLD WIDE relief agency, where most of us are volunteers; the needs being met are equal if not more daunting, and along with so many other worthy relief organizations, our "cost" to operate is always being refined, defined, and kept at a mere 3-5%, for 30-plus years running. I don't know the answer to your 25% cost to operate, but perhaps a tweaking of the verbage of your message, the context, approaching it candidly from a brief historic narrative, being America's first nation(s), overtaken by new settlers, yourselves being resettled out of your cultural element in the worst geographic areas, with many great promises which ... and are now seeking fiscal aid to support and expand on the work begun ... to enlarge the small foothold, to hopefully bring a measure of self-sustaining success, all of which requires training ... which requires books, teachers, food, heat. This is lengthy, and so is my concern for the American Indian, but I cannot, in good conscience, respond to a 25% cost to operate, not when I live so very frugally myself.
September 15, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 15, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I have not worked with or donated to this charity so I cannot speak to those specific areas but I do think that 27% on fundraising is not efficient and today I received a large, shrink-wrapped solicitation from American Indian Education Foundation. It included two non-rechargeable batteries, foam packaging and essentially appears to be quite wasteful and not a good use of resources. I was actually discouraged donating by this marketing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving marketing materials.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

improve the efficiency of the organization and remove wasteful mailings.

August 29, 2011

more

August 29, 2011

I have had a long-standing partnership with the National Relief Charities, approaching two decades. I've been privileged to work directly with them on the production side of several of their services. For years I have helped them provide Elders of the Rosebud Reservation with healthy breakfast foods. These are elders who rarely have enough food to make it to the end of the month. I've also seen the National Reiief Charties hold focu groupls with these elders to verifiy they are providing the most suitable foods for them. I have witnessed them shop for the best foods at the best costs. They truly care about quality and customer satisfaction.

I also helped National Relief Charities with their massive holiday programs. One example is getting turkeys and other Thanksgiving foods out to more than 20,000 families a year. Another example is getting out food for hot meals at community wide gatherings. They seem especially focused on communities where not all families will be able to participate in a family meal. It's surprising how many such families there are... I've also worked together with the National Relief Charties to get food out to distant areas on the reservations around Christmas. I've also seen them take fruit boxes to shelters and residential facilites. They really try to remember everyone around the holidays, which can be a depressing time of year for people in need.

What I have also witnessed is how this organization works hard all year long to make sure the reservations they assist have goods and sevices that will have an immdeilate impact for the Native American people. I have seen them work tirelessly for 12 to 13 hours a day and to do so with a smile. It is something that makes you proud to be able to say you know these people. Their service level goes well above and beyond anything I have ever seen.

I find Nation Relief Charities to be vey cost-conscioustoo, always looking for the best products at the lowest price. They are painstaking in their efforts to do this. I firmly believe that wihout the Nation Relief Charities' passion and commitiment to the Indian people, more than 20 reservations in SD, ND, WY, and MT would have a harder time of it. I wish more businesses felt the same and could do what NRC does.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Holilday programs. Their tireless work effort to see that over the Thanksgiving Holiday tens of thousands of families are able to have a hot meal with friends and family.They are truly an inspirational group of people. Gregg Drees Operations Manager G.F.Buche Company

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to help them find more people and companies willing to help there causes

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers