Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.237115
Write A Review
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

Olive Grove Consulting has supported NRC over the last two years and its leadership, programs, and values are exceptional. Both the board and staff are committed to true partnership with Native Americans rather than imposing their programs and services on reservations. Their humility, integrity and passion is inspiring and the impact they are making in Native communities will generate positive outcomes for years to come.
October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have done work for and with NRC for 20+ years and have to say that they are one of the most professionally consistent and caring non-profits out there today. Not only do they give a voice and face to the plight of the American Indian, but they represent very well the pride and honor of these great people. As with all non-profits these days, fundraising efforts are challenged daily - I see numerous non-profits teetering off "mission", but not NRC. That is one thing I've seen over the years with this group is a consistent message of mission to the general public - that is an honorable trait and so respectful to present and future donors. A great group to work with, work for and be associated with in the fundraising industry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

At National Relief Charities , I have never seen a group of individuals who do so much with so little. I have been involved with other charities that are bloated with bureaucracy that do 1/10th work with 10 times the people.

They serve a segment of our population that has forever been
neglected and underfunded. The NRC has done the smart thing in focusing on very specific needs and purposes within the Native American people.

These people are involved because they care, not because it is chic and trendy. I hope they can continue their good work at a time when non-profit dollars are dwindling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure. They need to be in the various locations that receive the aid, so it would be counter productive to centralize the organization

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with National Relief Charities for over 5 years in regards to their direct mail fundraising efforts. It is rewarding on many levels in that they are experts in the field of direct mail and very efficient and conscientious, plus it is great working with an organization whose core work in helping the Native American people is so much needed. NRC addresses the relevant concerns and definitely makes a positive impact.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

NRC is indeed #1 in our program and in our hearts and we certainly applaud this wonderful organization. NRC had been and continues to be our strong partner in our Community Service on the Reservation in our desire and effort to help provide food supplement to our local people. Our native friends greatly appreciate what we do with the NRC --- they were saying that in a place like this which is almost "out in the middle of nowhere" away from stores, etc., the food boxes and food bags we give out on a regular basis truly helped them in their daily needs. We have some people who came who have lost their jobs and they were truly grateful for this help. NRC does not only help our local people, it helps our Community Service program so much because it provides generous supplement to our other donations and supplies, thus saving us some bucks because instead of buying other food to give out, we can use those funds for other outreach programs that we do. I would also say that personnel at NRC Phoenix office are all very friendly, helpful, accommodating and available to us. We thank God that we have NRC as our program partner, they have made a tremenduos difference in our program and in the lives of the people that our program serves. KUDOS to NRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it more (because of the impact of what they do)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2011

I have been involved with National Relief Charities, working directly with the traffic manager Rick Miller for over 3 years now, and i must say that this is a company I am very proud to be partnered w... more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have another year under my belt with this organization, and I must say, they continue to amaze me.. National Relief Charities is truly about PEOPLE, and that is what sets them apart.. I will continue to help NRC as long as I can, and I feel good about doing so.. As a transportation provider for numerous different companies, none are so fulfilling, as knowing that we are delivering goods to help save lives, and deliver hope.. Thank you NRC for letting me be involved..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2011

I have been involved with National Relief Charities, working directly with the traffic manager Rick Miller for over 3 years now, and i must say that this is a company I am very proud to be partnered with.. Their unending desire to help the American Indian Reservations, is a true testimony to the values a charitible organization should uphold.. With products ranging from personal hygeine kits to baby diapers, National Relief Charities helps in all ranges for those in need.. I am VERY proud to work with this amazing company, helping one person at a time..

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It wasn't long ago that I was growing up, eating food, and using products that were donated goods, because my family could not afford them.. My appreciation for those things that helped my family and I live, has bled over to my approach with National Relief Charities shipments..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A, this company is efficient.. There is nothing to change..

May 18, 2012

more

May 18, 2012

I am the domestic violence coordinator for the Pueblo of Nambe here in New Mexico. The program is under Behavioral Health Social Services and we also provide substance abuse counseling. Our relatives (clients) are community members that come in for services or we transport or follow up on home visits on how they are doing with their well-being. The incentives we get fro NRC is a tremendous assest to our relatives (clients) and they are very much appreciative and thankful for anythiing they get from us. We are a small community and trust is the biggest challenge for us to help those in need. These incentives helps us to open that door to know that we are human and that no one is better than anyone else. We as service providers are here to help change our negative behaviora and thinking to become productive healthy community members that can help others as well. "Passing on positive blessings"

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012

more

April 25, 2012

Hello. I manage Boys & Girls Clubs of Dine Nation, Tonaneesdizi Unit, in Northern Arizona, the past few years I have worked closely with NRC with great results! After School and Summer programming are sustained thru this collaboration - community events, volunteer efforts, graffitti & community clean ups, Crime prevention activities, Character building activities, Health Education and Recreational activities, Cultural events, Academic success and so much more! Not to mention the incentives for Homework and Reading programs is great! Thank you very much for all the generous donors, wherever they be at.....the youth in my Club benefit greatly, as well as parents and community members!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The NRC services had helped our Support Groups and Cooking Classes and large community events be a success. I say this because it has encouraged participation and involvement for our Acoma/non Acoma clients. Most of our cleints or patients in the Support groups are elderly and they live on fixed income and it help them to have the items they can use until they can get their monies to buy needed items. It up lifts the spirits of the people who are out there in the community with no one to turn to. You see a lot of this when we deliver the Christmas elder bags or the Christmas children stockings. We along with the help of NRC bring smiles and sense of being cared for to the many children and elders we come in contact with. I think as a people person who love the work, our work is made easier for the people to trust, accept you and look forward to coming to our events. I could go on with more but all it all I appreciate all the NRC has done for our Health & Wellness Program. God Bless the people who make this posssible and blessings ten time more!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

South Dakota School of Mines and Technology has been a national leader, since at least 1992, in the development of programming to encourage Native American high school students to take interest in STEM disciplines pre-college and then succeed in their pursuit of engineering or science degrees and careers. As anyone who works in this arena can testify, the challenge is tremendous. Using an analogy, the solution to the challenge of pulling students up through completion of high school and then into college, and then across the graduation stage must be solved in pieces, like putting together a puzzle. Our engagement begins at an early age and involves the community, family, educators.

Allowing a student to find the financial resources for college and living away from home is a very important piece of the puzzle. Helping students deal with unplanned financial hardships that happen to almost everyone in the course of 5 years at college is required to keep these young people in school, assuming they are doing the work and keeping up with the rigors of an engineering or science course load.

American Indian Education Foundation, a subset of National Relief Charities, has been a key partner in our successes for nearly a decade. Intially the support came in the form of the matching challenge for scholarships--where we were able to attract donors who had interest in supporting our Native American students and double their gift. Relationships and awareness created through that program have continued to benefit the scholarship program. In fact, our reputation for success using proven, mature...but still developing programing, was instrumental in receiving major NSF funding to create our Tiospaye program as well as a number of multi-year industry-sponsored gifts for scholarship and program development.

Most recently, the support our dean of students has at her discretion to aid students through the Emergency Fund provided by NRC is working to retain these students who have absolutely no other financial means when something goes wrong.

We know that the relationship with NRC/AIEF is key to our successes to date. The support created and improved relationships with other donors. Our intention is to never lose sight of the fact that partnerships such as this are going to be the only way to solve the challenges and change the lives of these young people we are working to serve. America needs engineers and scientists and industry calls for diversity in the workforce--to that end, we cannot understate our appreciation for the individuals and the programs who are helping us succeed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

explained above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Consider offering the matching challenge for new scholarship donors to those organizations that maximized the program in the past. This will help an entirely new group of kids.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers