Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.237115
Write A Review
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Winslow Council on Aging is a nonprofit organization in northern Arizona that operates the Active Adult Community Center. For individuals age 60 and older, we provide: Congregate Meals, Home-Delivered Meals, Transportation, Homecare Services, Exercise Classes, Health/Wellness Workshops, Food Bank, Senior Activities, and BINGO.

National Relief Charities has been a valuable partner for six years. The staff is courteous, knowledgeable, and efficient. Through the generous donations of food and incentives that we receive from NRC, we are able to supplement our senior nutrition and health/wellness programs. In addition to the regular donations every other month, NRC has provided us with items to assemble emergency preparedness kits for our vulnerable adults, elder stockings at Christmas, individual Thanksgiving dinners, and incentives for several community events.

National Relief Charities has enhanced our programs and provided many benefits to our participants. We are grateful for our partnership.
April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

Native American students in 4th and 8th grade are one of the lowest scoring reading groups in the United States. Children who receive Speech-language Pathology treatment with literacy goals at an earlier age can be prevented from such delays. While being a program partner with National Relief Charities (NRC), I have been able to supply donated books to both children and adults receiving speech therapy in a hospital clinic. This has allowed for generalization of treatment outcomes from the clinic to the home setting. When offered incentives such as books, patients have increased motivation to return to therapy which positively impacts their treatment outcomes. The experience I have had with NRC is outstanding and I look forward to many more years of this positive partnership. Thank you NRC!

Molly Rutledge, CCC-SLP, CCP
Speech-Language Pathologist
Chronic Care Professional Health Coach
Navajo Reservation

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014

more

April 2, 2014

My name is Mechelle Morgan-Flowers and I am the Utilization Review/Discharge Planner for the Tsehootsooi Medical Center (Ft Defiance Indian Hospital) on the Navajo Reservation in Northern Arizona. I have been at TMC for 17 years serving the Native Community. My husband is the Nurse Recruiter for the hospital, and we have two children going to the St Michael Indian School in St. Michaels, AZ.

I began working with the NRC program four years ago with our Elder Care Program and our Palliative/Comfort Care Programs. Since that time my volunteer work with NRC has expanded to our Drumming Circles/Yoga Classes/Parent Classes. We have worked with the organization with our community events and conferences which have included the Annual Cancer Conferences and our "Gathering of Healers".

The NRC has worked with bringing supplies to our local schools and has expanded services into our communities.

This organization has been a tremendous help to myself personally as I go into the community to bring about healthy living, and it has also involved our children to "step up" and be volunteers at events. I am so honored to be a volunteer, along with my family, to bring about changes for our underserved population.

I LOVE THIS organization and their mission to help improve our quality of life for our Natives.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all that you do for our communities. May you walk in beauty always. May you continue your work to help us. May we walk hand in hand to make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I believe this organization is awesome.... I hope they continue to expand to help more around the country. I would ask for them to expand their services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 4, 2014

more

March 4, 2014

Wow words are not enough to share what NRC has done this year to help families in our school. We have had 2 food distributions and every student was gvien a stocking. We are now in the process of setting up a Easter Egg Hunt. Students are still talking about the stockings. I have worked with several people at NRC and each one has been just as helpful and nice as the nest one. With every event that is planned brings new excitement for us at our school. They are very oraganized and open to give a helping hand to families in need. I so look forward to our continure relationship and working together to help those in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have only had positive experience with NRC and at this point I do not know of anything that I would change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 14, 2014

more

January 14, 2014

Overall my experience I had with NRC they did some good communication. They always kept in touch and reminded me when my reports were going to be due. All the products we recieved were very useful to our families we served and it boosted our parent participation in the program. The parents look forward to the C.U.B.S store especially when we get new shipment.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make none, the way the program is running at the present is good.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2014

more

January 13, 2014

The assistance NRC provides to our program has made a great impact on the community we serve. Our experience has been positive and continues to grow as we provide more services to our community. Our partnership with NRC has provided basic necessities to our clients that encourages their participation in our program. Keep up the good work NRC and let's make a difference in our Native communities...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more organizations to donate to NRC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

By helping a few of their workers do what it is they do, I observed the levels of professionalism and efficiency and caring to which they seem devoted - which is great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to donate more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

National Relief Charities organization has been instrumental in providing services for our annual Veterans Day events for the past three years on the Hopi Reservation. The incentives and donations provided by NRC have been provided to everyone, from little children to the elderly, who attended the annual veterans day event. What items were left over, we used as part of the Christmas bags and goodies we provided for our local veterans.

Additionally, NRC was the key coordinator to assist us when we requested help for a local veteran who house nearly was consumed by fire several years ago. By their coordianted efforts, NRC was able to secure another organziation to pay for the costs of renovationg the veterans house. Mission successfully completed and veteran extremely happy. A show piece for other Tribal programs who could use this same assistance.

NRC is an outstanding non-profit organization and I would definitely recommend for all to use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, just continue to help all who request NRC asssitance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

NRC provided shoes and boots to over 880 children at our elementary school this September. From the first contact with NRC in June to the final wave goodbye in September, the contacts were wonderful. Our many questions and concerns were always answered in a timely, efficient and pleasant manner.

Everything we needed to make the morning a success was provided to us. Had we had more staff on hand, and hadn't had two different and overlapping activities the students had to attend, we likely could have had all our students in new shoes by 11 a.m. As it was, everything was done in 4 hours. It was a whirlwind, but every child who wanted shoes had them.

The men who traveled so far to provide us the shoes had to be elsewhere by 1 p.m. It did not appear we were going to be finished getting students in shoes by that time. Their inventiveness and calmness allowed another school in our area to get shoes earlier than expected. The men also made it possible to have enough shoes left at our school for our students to try on, so that the driver could get on the road to a school site about 4 hours south of us.

Throughout what could have easily been a stressful, strained and unpleasant experience, the men of NRC who came to our school remained calm, humorous and so helpful. We will be better prepared next year. In the meantime, we are so grateful for everything these good men and their fine organization, NRC, provided to us. Tremendous appreciation to Denise as well. She answered my phone calls at all hours and did so much to support this endeavor.

We look forward to seeing NRC next year. We will be much better prepared. In the meantime, we are very appreciative of the graciousness, consideration and assistance NRC provided to our students and to our staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

What changes? The only comment I had that wasn't glowing was that there were not enough of the slip on shoes and winter boots were substituted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Tuba City Humane Society connected with NRC this spring and their ROAR (Rescue operation for animals on the reservation). We had no idea they existed but after we made contact things started to happen. Their office staff was so helpful and our first delivery consisted of dog food, bleach, paper towels and flea & tick treatment. The food and flea & tick treatments were given to our foster/rescue homes. The cleaning supplies went to our veterinarian who kennels and takes care of all our rescues until they are moved out for adoption. We also had a visit from their staff to Tuba City to talk with us and also the person in charge of the Southwest region came from S. Dakota and spent half the day visiting our home so we could touch base with all their programs. We found out that next year we can apply for grants for low cost spays & neuters and also to help with gas for the transportation of our rescues to Flagstaff & Kanab, Utah. We just received another pallet of blankets, toys, flea & tick treatment, bleach and cases of bottled water. There will be a very large free spay/neuter event in Nov. put on by Best Friends in Utah and we can use the water for all the volunteers. Also, ROAR has a calendar out for 2014 and two of rescues I kept are Miss March & Mr. Sept. That was a real surprise. Thanks to NRC for all your help for us and the animals. We appreciate it so much and really like working with all of your staff. They are so helpful and friendly. Sylvia Moore, Director

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of anything.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers