Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.206525
| 1 ... 6 7 89 |
Write A Review
March 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

March 8, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

The NRC services had helped our Support Groups and Cooking Classes and large community events be a success. I say this because it has encouraged participation and involvement for our Acoma/non Acoma clients. Most of our cleints or patients in the Support groups are elderly and they live on fixed income and it help them to have the items they can use until they can get their monies to buy needed items. It up lifts the spirits of the people who are out there in the community with no one to turn to. You see a lot of this when we deliver the Christmas elder bags or the Christmas children stockings. We along with the help of NRC bring smiles and sense of being cared for to the many children and elders we come in contact with. I think as a people person who love the work, our work is made easier for the people to trust, accept you and look forward to coming to our events. I could go on with more but all it all I appreciate all the NRC has done for our Health & Wellness Program. God Bless the people who make this posssible and blessings ten time more!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

All the incentives I receive for the Elder/Youth Program is very well appreciated. They truly enjoy all the wonderful incentives, which helps aide my program for attendance. With the economy today, and the fact that everyone is on a limited income, the shampoo's, lotions, bodywash, toothbrush/toothpast, ect. do help out. The clothing, shoes, socks, hats, sunscreens, bottled water, etc., are very beneficial, also. All the arts & crafts and exercise equipment are enjoyed by everyone. I could go on and on, to say that the National Relief Charities Program is doing an excellent job benefiting the tribal members. They are very professional in their respective jobs. I commend each and everyone of them in their respective duties and responsibilties. Last, but not least, I truly appreciate the fact that they even remind me of my report due date (at my request), and when the merchandise is delivered, it is always with a smile!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 27, 2012

more

February 27, 2012

I feel NRC (Rapid City, SD) is a huge support for my program and our clients and communities. They provide my offices with inncentives to participate in our program. The NRC staff is an incredible bunch of people to work with. This is such a wonderful program that I recruit volunteers to work with them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

collaboration with my offices in the various states through personal experience. My staff and I try to volunteer as often as we can to thank the organization for all they do to help support our program clients.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, it made me feel as though I was helping so many people in not only the communities that our program is in but also in other communities.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Wonderful!

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

don't believe in national relief charities because the call center agents that are calling you is not an Native American Indian but they are filipino or people living in philippines this is a scam they are liars stop calling this organization I love you guys please never help this organization thanks guys.and also they buy your number in different call center account so they can call you

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
January 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

i think this org could learn from another organization the Native American heritage assoc out in rapid city SD. from what I can tell they do much the same work this org does ambit among a differ group of native Americans and a different part of the country but they seem to have learned how do it much better as they have earned charity navigators highest rating for many years. personally I am more inclined to give to an org that has maintained a very high standard of fund raising efficiency for many years vs one that has not. maybe the two org should combine.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

January 24, 2012

more

January 24, 2012

My name is Tamara Martin and I'm Secretary and foster home provider with a non-profit group called Blackhat Humane Society. National Relief Charities has been invaluable to our cause. Our group rescues and rehabilitates stray, abandoned and injured animals on the Navajo Nation in NE Arizona. With the help of NRC, we provide foster care for the animals, in our homes, until they are ready for adoption. NRC provides us with blankets, dog and cat food, bedding, toys, treats, collars and leashes. We can rely on them in times of shortage or crisis. NRC employees have gone out of their way to meet with us and they really listen to us. Their drivers are courteous and patient. They genuinely care about the Navajo people and their animals. With National Relief Charities as a strong, giving partner, we are making a difference in the lives of animals on reservation lands.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

Some years ago I began donating to the American Indian College Fund, but gradually began getting a flood of mail from other Indian relief groups that seem to be affiliated with your organization. One year I got 29 pieces of mail from seven Indian groups. This year I got 17 mailings from 6 groups. I regard this volume of mail is an intrusion, not to mention a poor use of donated funds. I suppose that if one gives to a group under your umbrella, that information gets passed on to all the others, of which I believe there are at least eight. I can't give to them all so would appreciate it you could arrange for me to get one solicitation a year only (in November, when I write my checks) and this from the American Indian College Fund. Kindly advise if you can take care of this matter.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

mailings

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Less mail

November 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 10, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated before but my complaint is that I'm averaging 2-3 request letters a month. I find it very wastefull to send me repeat letters in the same month. Besides being wastefull I find it annoyingly pressuring. There has to be a way to cut down on the wastefull spending. AND ALL THE LABELS!. Stop with the Labels. If I mail 10 letters a day for the next 50 years I'd STILL have labels left. What would get me to donate would be a card with a Pie chart showing me how much money is spent on helping those in need, operating expenses & salaries. THOSE are the organizations I tend to send my $$ to first.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
October 2, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I, too have received "freebies" from your organization, as well as from other American Indian relief organizations. I get freebies, and money from yet numerous other "world relief" organizations. And when I ask those in my social circle if they receive such "goodies", those who answer in the affirmative also spontaneously confirm my own feelings about these freebies: It is a turnoff, has a negative impact, and when some of us do the math of say 10, 20, 50, 100-thousand mailings ... the paper, the postage, the "freebies", the labor involved ... boy, does it add up, and I find it wasteful, and I cannot respond. I, too, live way-y-y-y below the poverty level, so I understand a bit about the "struggle". I don't even pretend to live at the level of distress within the American Indian population, except that I KNOW it is extremely traumatic (I've been donating $ and goods to a local American Indian relief concern for 30+ years.). But because I myself have to sacrifice a lot to be able to give, I want to make sure my donation isn't going into that 25% fundraising effort; 3,5,10% even 15%, 20-25, not a chance. I also volunteer for a WORLD WIDE relief agency, where most of us are volunteers; the needs being met are equal if not more daunting, and along with so many other worthy relief organizations, our "cost" to operate is always being refined, defined, and kept at a mere 3-5%, for 30-plus years running. I don't know the answer to your 25% cost to operate, but perhaps a tweaking of the verbage of your message, the context, approaching it candidly from a brief historic narrative, being America's first nation(s), overtaken by new settlers, yourselves being resettled out of your cultural element in the worst geographic areas, with many great promises which ... and are now seeking fiscal aid to support and expand on the work begun ... to enlarge the small foothold, to hopefully bring a measure of self-sustaining success, all of which requires training ... which requires books, teachers, food, heat. This is lengthy, and so is my concern for the American Indian, but I cannot, in good conscience, respond to a 25% cost to operate, not when I live so very frugally myself.
September 30, 2011

more

September 30, 2011

I am a volunteer with NRC and we are from Nageezi Senior Center-NAAA with the Navajo Nation- NCR is a great program and we have seen many things happen with in our senior center, elders enjoy the recreation, physical activities and food as well as arts and crafts, the incentives and food that is delivered by NRC helps us alot, where we don't have to find funds to get equipment for exercise and arts and crafts for elders, many elders are interested in the daily programs we run from our center and our attendance had grown since we have been with NRC. So we appreciate the services with NRC and they do an excellent job at serving their customers, which is a great thing. Thank you NRC

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers