Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.237115
Write A Review
June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for the American Indian Education Foundation for nearly ten years as part of the Scholarship Selection Committee. AIEF is one branch of National Relief Charities whose focus is to promote educational opportunities for Native American students. The Scholarship Selection Committee meets annually to award college scholarships to Native American students that show a strong desire to pursue additional education and give back to their communities. These students have often overcome significant hurdles to pursue their goals. The committee spends many hours carefully reviewing the scholarship applications in advance and then we meet as a group to discuss the applications. We describe what spoke to us about the students' essays and educational history, and arrive at a consensus of awarded applicants. This is a unique process that has worked well in selecting students that successfully complete their course of study. It has been an honor to work with the talented AIEF staff and fellow committee members who are educators and student facilitators from tribes across the nation. We've recently started awarding a small number of graduate level scholarships in addition to the majority of undergraduate ones. It is especially nice to support new and returning AIEF recipients who have excelled in undergraduate programs, and want to continue on to get their post-graduate degrees in fields ranging from medicine to sociology. I've found that the AIEF scholarship program is like many of the other programs that the National Relief Charities runs. It is well thought out and targeted to those most in need. The AIEF staff follows up with students throughout the year to see how they're doing, particularly important for those students that may be hundreds of miles from family and familiar surroundings. Part of what impresses me about AIEF and the NRC organization in general is their longevity--they're in it for the long haul and they continually strive to improve their service to Native American communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Our Animal Rescue has been program partners with National Relief Charities for 2 + years now. We have discovered a network of caring people in the NRC organization. NRC feels like family to us. They have been consistent and supportive in helping us to continue our aid to animals as well as people on the Rosebud Reservation. Their outreach has exceeded beyond any expectation we had. National Relief Charities has followed through on every level; which in turn, has empowered us to continue to be of service to those in need. NRC is an organization which provides more than goods or services... They give the gift of hope.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NRC's support of our animal welfare aid for the Reservation through food/supplies, transfer funds, Shelter aid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes I would wish to make. However, I wish I were closer to their Rapid City location, in order that I could volunteer for them; giving back to a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

NRC actually found us. I was extremely skeptical to begin with; but NRC has proven that they back their words with action.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

NRC has given us the gift of hope and encouragement through their belief in what we do. Their support helps us to continue the animal welfare aid we provide, as well as helping us to achieve the goal of building a Shelter.

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I teach parenting classes to young teen moms and dads on the Navajo reservation and NRC has been a tremendous help to me. They deliver incentives all the way from Phoenix to NM to help our program. The Navajo teen parents love to come to class and are rewarded with things they need for their children. For the needy population I work with NRC has been a tremendous blessing. They have been helping my program for six years now and I look forward to our continuing relationship. Barbara

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I have been in partnership with National relief Charities for a few wonderful years! NRC has been a great program to work with and this includes the great administrative staff and drivers. This program brings many useful items that our participants make useof. Allour participants are always eager to see what sort of items they are receiving. the incentives really play a big part in encouraging our patients to keep their appointments.I always hear stories about how they were in need of a certain item and NRC supplied it. They call NRC their Wal-Mart. Our participants appreciate what the program does for them especially when times are tough; these incentive items really help them out in ways you can't imagine. We would like continued support from the supporting partners because we appreciate what they do for our community. Thank-you for all you do!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

A few years ago, my wife and I became aware of the great work performed by National Relief Charities and we decided to help. In 2010, after learning a bit more about the organization’s goals, we expanded our support by becoming Heritage Circle Members. The reason is simple: this is a great organization run by people committed to helping the Native American community. Aside from food, clothing and other necessities, the organization also provides student scholarships through its American Indian Education Foundation. Last year, we had the privilege of meeting one scholarship recipient, and I was able to discuss this young man’s plans with him over lunch. It was truly enlightening to hear, first hand, how great an impact National Relief Charities has made to his family and community, how important this scholarship was to him, and how he planned to use his education to help his community. National Relief Charities is making a difference in the lives of people who appreciate aid because it allows them to help themselves. When you consider how much help NRC provides the Native American community for every dollar it receives in donations, it does not take long to understand how valuable their efforts are – and why we chose to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

I have been with NRC for sometime now. I have done the healthy living, community partner program, bulk items, Christmas stockings, Easter egg hunt, and school supplies. With out NRC we would not beable to lend a helping hand to our families or the poor families. The children would be left with out a present at Christmas and school supplies when school starts. I sure do thank NRC all the time for all the nice items that they supply to our program. My families and our elders are very thankful for items that they recieve from NRC. THe families always are in need of laundry soap, paper towles, toilet paper, tooth past, tooth brushes, baby diapers, pull ups, lotions deoderent, fabric softners, ect. arts and crafts, games, gloves, coats, and other items, with out these items alot of families would be going with out. A very big thanks to NRC for lighting up a childs face or helping my program with lots of different day toay living items that I can give them to make ther life easier> A big thank you NRC from Early CHildhood Services in Lake County. Please keep all your good services coming our way NRC

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012

more

June 15, 2012

Our non profit organization serves 16 reservations in ND, SD, IO, and NE. The National Relief charities has served each of our communities with items ranging from clothing, hygene, learning material and basic neccessities for all families and each item has been given to clients that range from 0-90 yrs of age. The services from NRC have met the needs of each family served and the families are very satisfied with what has been offered. Our organization is grateful for the services from NRC it has been a huge success by far!

Photos

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

As a program partner on the Zuni Reservation I have had the pleasure of working with the NRC staff. National Relief Charities is by far one of the best non-profit organizations that I have worked with. The entire NRC staff is awesome. They are very helpful and always willing to answer any question and help in any way. The personal care items and household items that they provide to the Elders in my community are so very much appreciated. By providing these items our Elders are able to purchase more groceries or pay a utility bill. We live in a rural area where economic challenges are faced everyday. NRC is a great help for those in our community that are on a fixed and very limited income. Thank you to all who work with NRC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 13, 2012

more

June 13, 2012

My family receives incentives provided by the National Relief Charities as volunteers at the Wolf Point Food Bank & Thrift Shop. The incentives reward us for our time spent volunteering and encourage us to continue volunteering. In the past I have seen NRC support students at the local community college with household and personal care items like laundry soap, shampoos, even diapers for their children. The NRC supplies make a big difference in many lives.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

receiving household and personal hygiene items as incentives for my volunteer time. The incentives help stretch my earned income. I haven't had to buy toilet paper, soaps or laundry soap for months.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Throught the Wolf Point Food Bank & Thrift Shop. They also help supply food and household/personal items to The Bison Camp, an annual Assiniboine cultural camp for families on the Fort Peck Indian Reservation.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

The incentives NRC provides for volunteers rewards and encourages volunteering by me and my family members.

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I have had the opportunity to get to know some of the staff at the National Relief Charities over the past few years through our shared interest to help the native people of our country. I have had many conversations over the phone and in person about their programs, and they have always responded with enthusiasm to hear my ideas of how to make a difference as well as proudly tell me about their newest programs. I am happy to help support their ideas and sincerely believe they are doing positive things for native communities. I was also impressed that they are mindful to be sensitive to support what the native communities really want for themselves, and not dictate from an outsider's viewpoint. One of the NRC branches, the American Indian Education Foundation, offers a scholarship service which seems to truly give hope to the natives who strive to improve their education and reach higher goals. I met one of their scholarship recipients a year ago or so and was impressed how touched and appreciative the student was for his opportunity to study the field that interested him. I came to realize that even a small donation impacts the native communities in a deep way, which continues to inspire me to do as much as I can to be a part of it. As decedents of colonists who treated the original people of this land with little respect and fairness, we carry a huge debt towards our native Americans. Their misfortune today is a direct cause of our ancestor's trickery and plunder. It is only just that we now try to right that wrong in any way we can. There is so much we can learn from them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers