Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.19785
| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Pueblo of Acoma has been partners with The National Relief Charities for the past several years and has been recieving food items and non-food items which has assisted our Detention Department out with all items that we have been receiving. Our Detention Population has really benefited with what has all been offered to us, with the economy being bad and the things that we really can't purchase or don't have the funds for The National Relief Charities has stepped in to assist us with our daily needs to get us by from month to month! With the support and service that we continue to get from National Relief Charities, we can continue to have a good working relationship! I just want to express and praise our partners at National Relief Charities to continue to do an Excellent job!!! Keep up the Good Work and many blessings go out to all you fine folks!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 11, 2012

more

October 11, 2012

We recieve items each month for our residents that are in our local domestic violence shelter. We also recieve items for events that we hold for awareness. We also have incentive program for our volunteers. The items we recieve are great. The incentive program has really helped our volunteer base grow. We like giving out door prize bags to those who attend our events. It's our way of saying thanks for showing your support towards our cause. Thank you NRC!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 12, 2012

more

July 12, 2012

I manage a Correctional facility on our reservation and have had the wonderful opportunity to work with NRC in providing the means to support our efforts in helping our people and our community. With NRC assistance we have developed a community beautification program which conducts clean up of our school sites, play grounds and lake areas. NRC also provides our program with the necessary supplies to help our Residents when they are placed in treatment programs. We are thankful for all the assistance we have recieved .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
July 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

On one day I received FIVE calls from CIN, all asking for Betty C. Hall. Each time I explained that Betty C. Hall did not have this number, never did, I did not know Ms. Hall, and could they please take this number off their call list. Each time, they assured me they would. The next business day I received TWO MORE calls for Ms. Hall. During the first I said I would have to report them if I received one more call - do not call this number - and 10 minutes later I received another call. I went to the CIN website and called the number and selected the option to speak to a fundraising professional. Sadly, all I heard was a two minute commercial and a request to visit the website before it disconnected; I never spoke with a professional. I expect the work they do is better than the tele-fundraising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for the American Indian Education Foundation for nearly ten years as part of the Scholarship Selection Committee. AIEF is one branch of National Relief Charities whose focus is to promote educational opportunities for Native American students. The Scholarship Selection Committee meets annually to award college scholarships to Native American students that show a strong desire to pursue additional education and give back to their communities. These students have often overcome significant hurdles to pursue their goals. The committee spends many hours carefully reviewing the scholarship applications in advance and then we meet as a group to discuss the applications. We describe what spoke to us about the students' essays and educational history, and arrive at a consensus of awarded applicants. This is a unique process that has worked well in selecting students that successfully complete their course of study. It has been an honor to work with the talented AIEF staff and fellow committee members who are educators and student facilitators from tribes across the nation. We've recently started awarding a small number of graduate level scholarships in addition to the majority of undergraduate ones. It is especially nice to support new and returning AIEF recipients who have excelled in undergraduate programs, and want to continue on to get their post-graduate degrees in fields ranging from medicine to sociology. I've found that the AIEF scholarship program is like many of the other programs that the National Relief Charities runs. It is well thought out and targeted to those most in need. The AIEF staff follows up with students throughout the year to see how they're doing, particularly important for those students that may be hundreds of miles from family and familiar surroundings. Part of what impresses me about AIEF and the NRC organization in general is their longevity--they're in it for the long haul and they continually strive to improve their service to Native American communities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

Our Animal Rescue has been program partners with National Relief Charities for 2 + years now. We have discovered a network of caring people in the NRC organization. NRC feels like family to us. They have been consistent and supportive in helping us to continue our aid to animals as well as people on the Rosebud Reservation. Their outreach has exceeded beyond any expectation we had. National Relief Charities has followed through on every level; which in turn, has empowered us to continue to be of service to those in need. NRC is an organization which provides more than goods or services... They give the gift of hope.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

NRC's support of our animal welfare aid for the Reservation through food/supplies, transfer funds, Shelter aid.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I cannot think of any changes I would wish to make. However, I wish I were closer to their Rapid City location, in order that I could volunteer for them; giving back to a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

NRC actually found us. I was extremely skeptical to begin with; but NRC has proven that they back their words with action.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

NRC has given us the gift of hope and encouragement through their belief in what we do. Their support helps us to continue the animal welfare aid we provide, as well as helping us to achieve the goal of building a Shelter.

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I teach parenting classes to young teen moms and dads on the Navajo reservation and NRC has been a tremendous help to me. They deliver incentives all the way from Phoenix to NM to help our program. The Navajo teen parents love to come to class and are rewarded with things they need for their children. For the needy population I work with NRC has been a tremendous blessing. They have been helping my program for six years now and I look forward to our continuing relationship. Barbara

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

I have been in partnership with National relief Charities for a few wonderful years! NRC has been a great program to work with and this includes the great administrative staff and drivers. This program brings many useful items that our participants make useof. Allour participants are always eager to see what sort of items they are receiving. the incentives really play a big part in encouraging our patients to keep their appointments.I always hear stories about how they were in need of a certain item and NRC supplied it. They call NRC their Wal-Mart. Our participants appreciate what the program does for them especially when times are tough; these incentive items really help them out in ways you can't imagine. We would like continued support from the supporting partners because we appreciate what they do for our community. Thank-you for all you do!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 22, 2012

more

June 22, 2012

A few years ago, my wife and I became aware of the great work performed by National Relief Charities and we decided to help. In 2010, after learning a bit more about the organization’s goals, we expanded our support by becoming Heritage Circle Members. The reason is simple: this is a great organization run by people committed to helping the Native American community. Aside from food, clothing and other necessities, the organization also provides student scholarships through its American Indian Education Foundation. Last year, we had the privilege of meeting one scholarship recipient, and I was able to discuss this young man’s plans with him over lunch. It was truly enlightening to hear, first hand, how great an impact National Relief Charities has made to his family and community, how important this scholarship was to him, and how he planned to use his education to help his community. National Relief Charities is making a difference in the lives of people who appreciate aid because it allows them to help themselves. When you consider how much help NRC provides the Native American community for every dollar it receives in donations, it does not take long to understand how valuable their efforts are – and why we chose to support them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

more

June 19, 2012

We operate 12 Hills Dog Rescue on the Omaha reservation. The NRC has been wonderful to work with and provided us with dog food and supplies that help the dogs that are rescued and fostered. The people are great to work with. They are professional and caring. Thanks to the NRC, we are making a difference in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers