Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.237115
Write A Review
June 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
June 18, 2013

I have been taking part of the National Relief Charities donations for the over past 2 years and excellent repport with them. We are rated from 0.o to 5.o for IHS We Care, our department has received five, 5.o ratings, for eight months (October 2012-May 2013).

The incentives have brought
in more clients for immunizations and have given us a 5.o rating for the Northern Cheyenne Public Health Department for the last 4 consecutive months. Our department is the only one to receive such marks out of 20 departments.

We attribute the high rating in part the NRC for the incentives that are given to the clients that are donated by NRC. Oh, I forgot to mention the prenatal classes and community home site visits, also receive the incentives as well.

The NRC assists us in serving our reservation with items that can be utilized to ease the burdens of every day life expenses for people who are in need, which blesses us and the community we serve.

Haho'

Rilla Kingfisher, Northern Cheyenne PHN Secretary

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

I have been working with the National Relief Charities out of Rapid City, So Dak and they have been very good to our organization which is the Porcupine Elderly Meals Program out of Porcupine,So Dak. Our elders enjoy the food boxes that gets sent down every month and i make use of the food items that we get for our elderly building etc...flour,sugar,canned fruits and canned vegetables,they are an excellent team that works with alot of people,they all conduct themselves in a very professional manner whether its going to volunteer at their warehouse or when there out delivering to the districts.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

NRC is indeed #1 in our program and in our hearts and we certainly applaud this wonderful organization. NRC had been and continues to be our strong partner in our Community Service on the Reservation in our desire and effort to help provide food supplement to our local people. Our native friends greatly appreciate what we do with the NRC --- they were saying that in a place like this which is almost "out in the middle of nowhere" away from stores, etc., the food boxes and food bags we give out on a regular basis truly helped them in their daily needs. We have some people who came who have lost their jobs and they were truly grateful for this help. NRC does not only help our local people, it helps our Community Service program so much because it provides generous supplement to our other donations and supplies, thus saving us some bucks because instead of buying other food to give out, we can use those funds for other outreach programs that we do. I would also say that personnel at NRC Phoenix office are all very friendly, helpful, accommodating and available to us. We thank God that we have NRC as our program partner, they have made a tremenduos difference in our program and in the lives of the people that our program serves. KUDOS to NRC!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand it more (because of the impact of what they do)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

May 29, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I gave once, believing in the cause of education. My contact information has been passed around like a piece of fresh meat. I receive a relentless stream of expensive mailings and phone calls from all manner of organizations under the National Relief Charities umbrella. One asked for money for blankets for the Indians. On checking, I found that 25% of money raised goes to more fund raising.
Efforts to be removed from their contact list have failed. Do not make eye-contact.

They claim to be top-rated by Great Nonprofits, which makes this organization suspect as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Respect their donors. Refusal to take me off of their contact list wastes their money and my time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is VERY fishy. We have been inundated with calls even though we requested to be taken off their call list at least four times. Up until this last call they said they would remove us from the list. Yesterday when they called, for the fourth time in a week, I got upset about not having been removed from their call list. The woman said that I had to call another number to be taken off the list!!!

What are they doing with all their money except hire people to call and call and call???

I would never donate to them again.

More feedback...

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I find this service is very professional, well organized and assisting in all coordinated fields on their service area. What ever needs were requested was obtained and provided, never had any trouble or difficutly with request, shipments and service. When we brought volunteers to the center it was organized, welcoming and very helpful for clients that needed items for their hours of service. Love the service and I would recommend it anytime for the areas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After making one donation, I have received dozens of pestering phone calls and wasteful mailings.
25% of money raised goes to more fundraising.
They posted on my face book page. My disavowing comment disappeared.
I strongly suspect that most of the "volunteers" who write reviews are on
the payroll of this relentless machine. Do not make eye contact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013

I made the mistake of donating to this collection of charities a few years ago. At that point, Charity Navigator's rating was significantly lower--one star, in fact. Would that I had checked before sending a check. Since then, I have not donated again. Nonetheless, I have been harassed (that's really the only appropriate word) by phone calls. I have made repeated requests to have my number removed and made it quite clear that I want no more phone calls. But the repeated promises that the charity would honor my request have been false.

I see that the charity has responded to similar complaints by suggesting that perhaps a reviewer was mistaken by all the charities with similar names. I have made it a point to ask the caller whether he or she represented National Relief Charities (since the calls come under different names) and been assured that yes, the caller was from that organization. I am fed up with this organization and will never donate to a group that refuses to honor my wishes to be left alone and that treats me rudely when I express them.

I have also seen the responses claiming that the charity does not want to call people who don't want calls and offering an e-mail address and a phone number. My question: Why can't the organization have its callers record information that I've given multiple times?

National Relief Charities represents absolutely the worst experience I have ever had with charitable giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
September 5, 2012

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have ask... more

February 21, 2013

Council of Indian nations,soiux relief fund,Soiux nation...all out of area calls...nonstop for 4 years .Almost weekly and there seems to be nothing I can do about it.Because my mother would send them a few 5 dollar checks every year till she died.I have told them an easy 100 times she is no longer alive and they call week in and week out year after year.Harassment threats,blocking phone numbers,none of it stops.Do yourself a favor ...if you must donate do so anonymously.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have asked hundreds of times to be removed ,talked to supervisors,been promised up and down that there would be no more calls ...and every few days another call asking for my mother.I have tried to threaten & follow up with phone harassment charges but it is too much bother ...so the calls just keep coming.WARNING do not get involved.My Mothers bank account was hacked for a small amount and the bank suspects one of these charities but the amount($399 ) is too small to follow up on.We changed her accounts .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013

We are being harassed by the telephone volunteers for the Navajo Relief Fund. In the last few months, they have telephoned us every evening, including Sundays. We estimate that they have called over 100 times. We have told them explicitly that we will not donate and want to be removed from their contact list. They ignore us and keep phoning. Though we are on a "Do Not Call" list and have informed them of this, they continue to call.

We have filed a complaint but the phone solicitors are unfazed by this information. My advice: give to another charity -- not this one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers