Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.19785
| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review
March 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After making one donation, I have received dozens of pestering phone calls and wasteful mailings.
25% of money raised goes to more fundraising.
They posted on my face book page. My disavowing comment disappeared.
I strongly suspect that most of the "volunteers" who write reviews are on
the payroll of this relentless machine. Do not make eye contact.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2013

I made the mistake of donating to this collection of charities a few years ago. At that point, Charity Navigator's rating was significantly lower--one star, in fact. Would that I had checked before sending a check. Since then, I have not donated again. Nonetheless, I have been harassed (that's really the only appropriate word) by phone calls. I have made repeated requests to have my number removed and made it quite clear that I want no more phone calls. But the repeated promises that the charity would honor my request have been false.

I see that the charity has responded to similar complaints by suggesting that perhaps a reviewer was mistaken by all the charities with similar names. I have made it a point to ask the caller whether he or she represented National Relief Charities (since the calls come under different names) and been assured that yes, the caller was from that organization. I am fed up with this organization and will never donate to a group that refuses to honor my wishes to be left alone and that treats me rudely when I express them.

I have also seen the responses claiming that the charity does not want to call people who don't want calls and offering an e-mail address and a phone number. My question: Why can't the organization have its callers record information that I've given multiple times?

National Relief Charities represents absolutely the worst experience I have ever had with charitable giving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2013

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
September 5, 2012

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have ask... more

February 21, 2013

Council of Indian nations,soiux relief fund,Soiux nation...all out of area calls...nonstop for 4 years .Almost weekly and there seems to be nothing I can do about it.Because my mother would send them a few 5 dollar checks every year till she died.I have told them an easy 100 times she is no longer alive and they call week in and week out year after year.Harassment threats,blocking phone numbers,none of it stops.Do yourself a favor ...if you must donate do so anonymously.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My Mother & Father who have since passed away were donors.For 3 years now I have been getting donation calls almost weekly at my home phone...which was never their number, asking for money .I have asked hundreds of times to be removed ,talked to supervisors,been promised up and down that there would be no more calls ...and every few days another call asking for my mother.I have tried to threaten & follow up with phone harassment charges but it is too much bother ...so the calls just keep coming.WARNING do not get involved.My Mothers bank account was hacked for a small amount and the bank suspects one of these charities but the amount($399 ) is too small to follow up on.We changed her accounts .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013

We are being harassed by the telephone volunteers for the Navajo Relief Fund. In the last few months, they have telephoned us every evening, including Sundays. We estimate that they have called over 100 times. We have told them explicitly that we will not donate and want to be removed from their contact list. They ignore us and keep phoning. Though we are on a "Do Not Call" list and have informed them of this, they continue to call.

We have filed a complaint but the phone solicitors are unfazed by this information. My advice: give to another charity -- not this one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

No

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This organization has helped Native American people for many years. They have made a difference in the lives of many people on the reservations. Giving to this charity is truly a worthwhile thing to do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

National Relief Charities has helped our elderly participants imensely by providing them with much needed items which they can not afford. Most our elders live on a fixed income and most live in remote locations on the Navajo Reservation and have no transportation. The incentive items are delivered each month on time, which is a plus because scheduling is important and time conflicts are avoided. NRC has made our relationship with our elders stronger, thus making us a tighter unit. The incentives provides our elderly with healthier living such as cleaner homes, chosing healthier eating habits, and making daily living easier. NRC employs the sincerest, energetic, compassionate, and hardworking empoyees who are always wiling to help in any way. I would recommend to any organization who is willing to make a change in lives such as NRC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

National Relief Charities (NRC) has provided our after school programming with incentive items for our students and their families. The products they deliver for our program are well needed and are of quality condition. Without NRC as one of our program partners, we would not be able to offer these items to our students and their families. The NRC staff is always helpful and friendly to work with; they try to provide products that are tailored to our program needs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 21, 2011

I have been involved with National Relief Charities, working directly with the traffic manager Rick Miller for over 3 years now, and i must say that this is a company I am very proud to be partnered w... more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have another year under my belt with this organization, and I must say, they continue to amaze me.. National Relief Charities is truly about PEOPLE, and that is what sets them apart.. I will continue to help NRC as long as I can, and I feel good about doing so.. As a transportation provider for numerous different companies, none are so fulfilling, as knowing that we are delivering goods to help save lives, and deliver hope.. Thank you NRC for letting me be involved..

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2011

I have been involved with National Relief Charities, working directly with the traffic manager Rick Miller for over 3 years now, and i must say that this is a company I am very proud to be partnered with.. Their unending desire to help the American Indian Reservations, is a true testimony to the values a charitible organization should uphold.. With products ranging from personal hygeine kits to baby diapers, National Relief Charities helps in all ranges for those in need.. I am VERY proud to work with this amazing company, helping one person at a time..

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

It wasn't long ago that I was growing up, eating food, and using products that were donated goods, because my family could not afford them.. My appreciation for those things that helped my family and I live, has bled over to my approach with National Relief Charities shipments..

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A, this company is efficient.. There is nothing to change..

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Overall our experience with NRC has been very good. The incentives help to bring people in for services and to keep their mammogram appointments so this service works great for us. We especially use alot of water since we plan exercies and fun run/walk events during our awareness months. I would like to see the sign in sheet with numbers making it easier to calculate the totals. I hear and see from other programs especially the Navajo getting more of a variety of things but we at hopi seem to get the same things over & over. Can you treat us the same as the Navajo communities? Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

National Relief Charieties has been providing food and incentives for our program which works with adults with disablities as well as providing food for our community. We have received monthly donations which have helped us feed over 700 families many of which live on the Navajo and Ute reservations. This has provided a better variety and a greater quantity of food for the struggling families that need it. They have also given us incentives which are used for rewards to encourage our disabled clients to be successful in their goals and objectives that help improve their quality of life. Their donations have made it possible for our program to provide better service for the individuals we serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers