Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
91 Reviews
1234.19785
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently attended a donor meeting at National Relief Charities and was most impressed with the speakers, who outlined the organization's mission and highlighted some very impressive results, especially in working to enhance educational opportunities and success for Native American students. They also do great work with animal rescue and outreach on the reservation. I look forward to learning more, and to contributing to their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

By helping a few of their workers do what it is they do, I observed the levels of professionalism and efficiency and caring to which they seem devoted - which is great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to donate more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have done work for and with NRC for 20+ years and have to say that they are one of the most professionally consistent and caring non-profits out there today. Not only do they give a voice and face to the plight of the American Indian, but they represent very well the pride and honor of these great people. As with all non-profits these days, fundraising efforts are challenged daily - I see numerous non-profits teetering off "mission", but not NRC. That is one thing I've seen over the years with this group is a consistent message of mission to the general public - that is an honorable trait and so respectful to present and future donors. A great group to work with, work for and be associated with in the fundraising industry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I donated to ROAR because I was concerned about the plight of the animals of the reservation. Although I didn't give (couldn't) much, a flood of mail and phone solicitations followed. I stopped donated after I read some negative reviews of the charity, but the solicitations continued.
Yes, I
tried calling the 1-800 donor help line - but guess what, no one picks up! What good is this donor help line if no one actually answers the calls? Why not make it easier for people to get off the calling/mailing list if so many complain?
I put a request to drop me from NRC's lists on the payment coupon of the most recent solicitation. I'm sure it won't be followed. And the worst part is, the animals of the reservation go without! I really would like to help but I just don't want that flood of mail and phone calls anymore!

Edited by FS2013: Someone from NRC actually responded to my review! Interestingly the responder - no name given - didn't address my concerns about the animals, only my "difficulties" with their help line.
Actually, it's the help line having difficulties - answering their calls, that is! Does anyone actually work there? When do they answer the phone? The number is correct judging by the automatic message.
Yes, I will drop you a line at the email you provided - hopefully someone will be staffing there!
And you do realize that I left the message on this board in the hope I'd get a response, not in an effort to make me feel better. I will feel better when the animals of the reservation get proper care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Respect the clients feedback. Drop the ones who don't want contact - they won't donate anyway!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

At National Relief Charities , I have never seen a group of individuals who do so much with so little. I have been involved with other charities that are bloated with bureaucracy that do 1/10th work with 10 times the people.

They serve a segment of our population that has forever been
neglected and underfunded. The NRC has done the smart thing in focusing on very specific needs and purposes within the Native American people.

These people are involved because they care, not because it is chic and trendy. I hope they can continue their good work at a time when non-profit dollars are dwindling.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not sure. They need to be in the various locations that receive the aid, so it would be counter productive to centralize the organization

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our company is proud to be a part of the fundraising efforts of your fine organization. We fully support your efforts to help improve the quality of life of the Native American community. Your passion for this worthy cause is what motivates our company to do good work for you. We are committed to doing excellent work for your cause and are humbled that you have selected us to be a part of this important effort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with National Relief Charities for over 5 years in regards to their direct mail fundraising efforts. It is rewarding on many levels in that they are experts in the field of direct mail and very efficient and conscientious, plus it is great working with an organization whose core work in helping the Native American people is so much needed. NRC addresses the relevant concerns and definitely makes a positive impact.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Relief Charities does amazing work the Native Americans. I support them fully.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

National Relief Charities organization has been instrumental in providing services for our annual Veterans Day events for the past three years on the Hopi Reservation. The incentives and donations provided by NRC have been provided to everyone, from little children to the elderly, who attended the annual veterans day event. What items were left over, we used as part of the Christmas bags and goodies we provided for our local veterans.

Additionally, NRC was the key coordinator to assist us when we requested help for a local veteran who house nearly was consumed by fire several years ago. By their coordianted efforts, NRC was able to secure another organziation to pay for the costs of renovationg the veterans house. Mission successfully completed and veteran extremely happy. A show piece for other Tribal programs who could use this same assistance.

NRC is an outstanding non-profit organization and I would definitely recommend for all to use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None, just continue to help all who request NRC asssitance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

NRC provided shoes and boots to over 880 children at our elementary school this September. From the first contact with NRC in June to the final wave goodbye in September, the contacts were wonderful. Our many questions and concerns were always answered in a timely, efficient and pleasant manner.

Everything we needed to make the morning a success was provided to us. Had we had more staff on hand, and hadn't had two different and overlapping activities the students had to attend, we likely could have had all our students in new shoes by 11 a.m. As it was, everything was done in 4 hours. It was a whirlwind, but every child who wanted shoes had them.

The men who traveled so far to provide us the shoes had to be elsewhere by 1 p.m. It did not appear we were going to be finished getting students in shoes by that time. Their inventiveness and calmness allowed another school in our area to get shoes earlier than expected. The men also made it possible to have enough shoes left at our school for our students to try on, so that the driver could get on the road to a school site about 4 hours south of us.

Throughout what could have easily been a stressful, strained and unpleasant experience, the men of NRC who came to our school remained calm, humorous and so helpful. We will be better prepared next year. In the meantime, we are so grateful for everything these good men and their fine organization, NRC, provided to us. Tremendous appreciation to Denise as well. She answered my phone calls at all hours and did so much to support this endeavor.

We look forward to seeing NRC next year. We will be much better prepared. In the meantime, we are very appreciative of the graciousness, consideration and assistance NRC provided to our students and to our staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

What changes? The only comment I had that wasn't glowing was that there were not enough of the slip on shoes and winter boots were substituted.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers