Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
97 Reviews
1234.237115
| 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
January 13, 2014

more

January 13, 2014

The assistance NRC provides to our program has made a great impact on the community we serve. Our experience has been positive and continues to grow as we provide more services to our community. Our partnership with NRC has provided basic necessities to our clients that encourages their participation in our program. Keep up the good work NRC and let's make a difference in our Native communities...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage more organizations to donate to NRC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

My experience with NRC has been extremely positive. I believe the cause is important, and I donate to NRC because this organization is specifically focused on helping bring services to improve the quality of life for Native Americans. In my conversations with NRC staff, it is clear that they are genuinely concerned and dedicated to the welfare of Native Americans. They visit the reservations, get to know the needs of the communities and offer innovative programs to help. They have successfully partnered with great organizations to make a positive difference for elders as well as young children and students. Without their programs, many would go without the basic needs for life - water, heat, food, transportation . . . things many Americans take for granted. I am proud to be a supporter and urge others to contribute to this worthy organization so they can continue to serve Native American communities around the United States.
-Melinda

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

... help them build more awareness so they could grow their programs.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

Last Christmas my cousins and I decided to donate to a charity instead of exchanging gifts. We chose the winter fuel service through NRC's Southwest Indian Relief Council program. We were pleased to receive an update on what our contribution was able to help provide last winter to keep Elders warm. This giving meant more to us than the usual gift exchange and we are considering doing it again this year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I finf the workers at NRC very dedicated people who sincerely want to improve the livs of
Native Americans. I was very pleased to help the students complete their education through
scholarships I provided for them. My late husband Robert Fischer and I have been a long
time supporters
of this organization. I find the mission of this organization is to help the
Native Americans and I would continue to help in whatever way I can.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

i like all the things it does.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked with NRC on multiple occasions over the years with printing projects I couldn't help but notice all the wonderful campaigns they promote throughout the year to help raise awareness and support for Native Americans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've heard the expression, "Give a man a fish, feed him for a day, teach a man (or woman) to fish, feed him for life" and have found NRC to be an organization who puts this into practice in a caring, culturally sensitive and effective manner. In doing so they help lift the quality of life for entire Native American communities and for future generations.

I met with many of the staff at NRC and found them to be knowledgable, caring and really committed to the plight of Native American's. They help Native Americans who live on reservations miles from anywhere (and so can't benefit from casinos) and who exist within these United States in terrible conditions with little help from our Government.

NRC is improving the lives of hundreds of thousands of individuals every year. An impressive group that continues to grow the impact of their programs.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently attended a donor meeting at National Relief Charities and was most impressed with the speakers, who outlined the organization's mission and highlighted some very impressive results, especially in working to enhance educational opportunities and success for Native American students. They also do great work with animal rescue and outreach on the reservation. I look forward to learning more, and to contributing to their efforts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

By helping a few of their workers do what it is they do, I observed the levels of professionalism and efficiency and caring to which they seem devoted - which is great!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Be able to donate more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have done work for and with NRC for 20+ years and have to say that they are one of the most professionally consistent and caring non-profits out there today. Not only do they give a voice and face to the plight of the American Indian, but they represent very well the pride and honor of these great people. As with all non-profits these days, fundraising efforts are challenged daily - I see numerous non-profits teetering off "mission", but not NRC. That is one thing I've seen over the years with this group is a consistent message of mission to the general public - that is an honorable trait and so respectful to present and future donors. A great group to work with, work for and be associated with in the fundraising industry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I donated to ROAR because I was concerned about the plight of the animals of the reservation. Although I didn't give (couldn't) much, a flood of mail and phone solicitations followed. I stopped donated after I read some negative reviews of the charity, but the solicitations continued.
Yes, I
tried calling the 1-800 donor help line - but guess what, no one picks up! What good is this donor help line if no one actually answers the calls? Why not make it easier for people to get off the calling/mailing list if so many complain?
I put a request to drop me from NRC's lists on the payment coupon of the most recent solicitation. I'm sure it won't be followed. And the worst part is, the animals of the reservation go without! I really would like to help but I just don't want that flood of mail and phone calls anymore!

Edited by FS2013: Someone from NRC actually responded to my review! Interestingly the responder - no name given - didn't address my concerns about the animals, only my "difficulties" with their help line.
Actually, it's the help line having difficulties - answering their calls, that is! Does anyone actually work there? When do they answer the phone? The number is correct judging by the automatic message.
Yes, I will drop you a line at the email you provided - hopefully someone will be staffing there!
And you do realize that I left the message on this board in the hope I'd get a response, not in an effort to make me feel better. I will feel better when the animals of the reservation get proper care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Respect the clients feedback. Drop the ones who don't want contact - they won't donate anyway!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers