Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
28 Reviews
1234.928575
Write A Review
November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

NOLS is the best outdoor educator in the country. NOLS teaches leadership, teamwork, wilderness skills, and stewardship to the land and each otherin everything they do. I completed the month long Wind River Mountaineering course in 200 and climbed Denali with NOLS in 2006. Even today, I realize new ways in which these courses changed me forever. The NOLS structure teaches you lessons that you will remember for a lifetime. For example, leadership. You talk about leadership and then the next day you actually lead the group for a day of hiking and practice your leadership skills. You make mistakes and learn from them in a supportive community. ... NOLS is also a community of amazing people. While many have done unique things, my amazement with NOLS faculty, staff, and alumni are that they are passionate about what they do, care deeply about other people, and exhibit leadership in everything they do. I would recommend NOLS to anyone that not only whats to have a fantastic wilderness experience, but also build the leadership skills to face all of life's challenges.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I completed a Wind River Mountaineering course and a Wilderness EMT course through NOLS and WMI. NOLS generates active and concerned citizens who are not only
proficient in wild places, but who care for the environment, leave a
small footprint, and know how to effectively collaborate with
others.
I believe NOLS graduates go out into the world and show others how
to live similarly. I see this very clearly among fellow graduates and lifelong friends from NOLS and WMI, who all embody good leadership, passion, and self-responsibility among
their peers.

On day three of our mountaineering course, the first day we traveled off-trail, a
massive snowstorm hit. We quickly learned about “post-holing”,
route finding in zero visibility, and what to do if you can’t find
the “x”. I am so grateful that one of the worst weather days came
early in the course. There were so many challenges at one time, it
did me absolutely no good to complain or cry. I could only focus on
learning how to light my MSR stove and properly set up the tent. I
learned to cope by controlling what I could about the situation and
accepting what I couldn’t. It does not serve any purpose to point out
the hailstones pummeling you in the face, because everyone else has
clearly noticed them as well.

My instructors set great examples to keep a positive attitude, and
optimism remains my main strategy towards overcoming challenges
in the front-country. Cold conditions were fun because they meant we
constantly did the Tazmanian Toe Tap or held Push-Up Contests to
keep warm. After four weeks I came to view
adversity as a natural part of the process. I looked forward to arduous
moving days—now, I think short on-trail hikes are even a bit boring!
Today, when I face
stressful times, I recognize that dwelling on the problems prevents
me from solving them. Life will always throw us challenges, but NOLS
taught me how to enjoy the opportunity to grow and learn.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 18, 2012

more

November 18, 2012

I took two courses from NOLS in the mid 70's - summer wilderness and winter mountaineering. To this day, I consider those experiences to be one of the defining moments of my life and one of the few things I've done that I'm truly proud of. The leadership lessons I learned I still use; the devotion to environmental issues is still strong with me, and I can still read a map. :) I encourage everyone I know to send their kids or grandkids to NOLS.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

NOLS gives one the opportunity to challenge yourself in areas outside of your comfort zone. I really feel I’ve grown a lot from the back-country experiences I've had with NOLS and have been able to leverage them in my personal life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

NOLS is an amazing organization and the experince and lessons learned through one of their courses will last a lifetime. The lessons I learned from my NOLS experience 23 years ago are still with me today and impact my life in many ways. As a leader my NOLS experience taught me how to deal with adversity, uncertainty, and managing people with different attitudes and abilities. I also learned the importance of focusing on details to make sure jobs are completed accurately and safely. As an outdoor enthusiast NOLS taught me invaluable skills that I use on outdoor adventures to this very day.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The National Outdoor Leadership School is simply the best. Through hard work, learning, and real experience, NOLS Students improve themselves, and go on to improve their world. I went into this program a confused teenager: unfocused, disorganized, and unmotivated. I emerged a confident, competent, and capable leader in any setting i find myself in. Not only was my experience at NOLS outstanding, but experiences I have had following NOLS continue to amaze me. Taking into account that NOLS creates exemplary individuals, it should come to me at no surprise that i find myself frequently meeting other NOLS graduates and have come to understand that I am now part of a very beneficial NOLS Graduate Community. So reviewing NOLS... It seems pointless to me because only someone who has been through NOLS can know what it really means to have done so, and those people already know.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

when i went on my NOLS trip i was skeptical and didn't know what to think but after my experience of two weeks in the wilderness of Idaho and Wyoming it was well worth it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

NOLS is not what meets the eye. It is so much more!!! it taught me to be patient and to be a independent and mature into the adult i am now. Those 7 leaderships skills that we have been taught, memorized have not left me. I live by those skills. NOLS as changed my life for the better and i think all my family and friend know it. I came back stronger, maturer, simply a better person than i left. I have told so many people all the experiences i have been through. I learned from NOLS that pain is temporary, and wilderness is mandatory. As much as i love being home I know my true calling is out west where NOLS has changed my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I wouldn't give NOLS anything less than 5 stars. They are great at encourage vast amounts of growth in their students in so many ways. NOLS has helped me gain the ability to be more intentional about my life and to be a great leader, which ultimately also means being an active follower at times. But beyond all of that, I was given an even greater appreciation for the wilderness and a perspective on my life that I don't think many other groups can give.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

NOLS changed the direction of my life. It taught me how to be independent, how to speak up and how to ultimately be a leader in my life and at work. I went on my first student course when I was 22 and I went on my next course by getting a scholarship. I was the only female on a 30 day mountaineering course, it was during this time I learned how to face fear and still meet your goals. I learned how to speak up when I felt timid and shy, but I knew it was important to speak. I learn to trust my gut and make decisions that would create good outcomes. I then went on to teach for NOLS. I eventually went back to school to become a nurse, I now work in one of the best trauma hospitals on the west coast. I use all the skills that NOLS taught me to save the lives of my patients everyday. NOLS is a fantastic nonprofit which shapes the leaders of tomorrow.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers