Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.73775
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2014

more

October 12, 2014

I have been a volunteer at NMDR for only a short time, but enjoy every minute of it. Wonderful dogs, wonderful people and a great mission ! When the time is right I would love to adopt a special needs dog from NMDR. As parents we have a social responsibility and I want to teach my son that the easiest way is not always the best and most rewarding way. Adopting a special needs dog that needs a bit more dedication than others is worth it. It will be such a wonderful experience for him when he finds out that a lot of time, patience, and effort will pay off and he will receive more love than he can handle from these dogs !
September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

A year ago, I had no experience with mill dogs. A friend sent me a Facebook link to National Mill Dog Rescue. I looked at their website and the descriptions of the available dogs and immediately fell in love with a little Papillon who had recently been rescued. I filled out the on line application and, as requested, asked friends to submit letters of recommendation as to the type of dog momma I would make. I was provided with extensive information concerning the best way to help a mill dog adjust to living in a home and I was also provided with the name of the canine behaviorist to speak with concerning unique problems I might experience in addition to information about the Facebook support group where I could share information with other adopting doggie parents. I was incredibly impressed with everyone I met - both on line and in person when I drove to Colorado Springs to meet and adopt my little Papillon. When I learned about the work that Theresa Strader and all the volunteers were doing to re-home dogs who had lived their entire lives in a small cage, I asked if there was something I could do from out of state to help spread the word. I became a volunteer 9 months ago and help with the Facebook page and fund raising. I have been to the facility several times and I always find the dogs to be extremely well cared for and living in an impeccably clean, warm and roomy kennel with plenty of clean water and food and a comfy bed. The volunteers are amazing and it is very obvious they love the dogs! I now have adopted 4 breeding dogs from National Mill Dog Rescue and will continue to donate time and money to this very worthy and well run organization!
September 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
December 3, 2012

I have been a volunteer for about 2 years now. NMDR is a wonderful organization to "work" for. I highly recommend them. We do many wonderful things for the dogs, as well as for their "humans". You can... more

September 24, 2014

National Mill Dog Rescue is one of, if not the best, organizations that I have ever volunteered with. They have a wonderful mission, traveling across the US rescuing puppy mill dogs, rehabilitating them, and finally adopting them out. It is a JOY to see each and every dog and volunteer literally light up when we work together. My little baby, Diego The Dashing Dude, is my heart and that says a lot considering I have owned a dog since I was an infant. If you want to adopt a new family member, National Mill Dog Rescue is the way to go. What a BRILLIANT organization.
December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about 2 years now. NMDR is a wonderful organization to "work" for. I highly recommend them. We do many wonderful things for the dogs, as well as for their "humans". You cannot find a better organization to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2013

I found out about National Mill Dog Rescue a few years ago. I was looking for a dog and when i called about some of their dogs they were very informative. I had never heard about puppy mills. I adopte... more

September 24, 2014

I adopted my first NMDR dog over 2 years ago. I have since adopted 2 more. I love working with all the great volunteers and fostering for them. They get the best quality care for all the dogs. I have never seen such committed and friendly volunteers. It has been a huge impact on my life. I recommend them to everyone that wants a dog. My favorite part of volunteering is going to the kennel to help out when I can.
November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about National Mill Dog Rescue a few years ago. I was looking for a dog and when i called about some of their dogs they were very informative. I had never heard about puppy mills. I adopted one of their dogs (Gomez) and was shocked to see what he was like after living in a cage for 7 years. I knew i had to help and do something. The wonderful volunteers were very informative and patient with all my questions and soon after i began fostering. Theresa Strader has built an amazing rescue. Theresa is a hero to many and her and the others are great to be working with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2014

more

September 24, 2014

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue after liking various dog pages on Facebook. All of these pages eventually started leading me to this amazing organization that rescues breeding dogs from puppy mills when they are no longer useful and producing puppies. I was stunned and saddened (and often sickened to be honest) as I learned more about what a puppy mill is. One of the pages promoted an adoption event that was going to be held at a pet store quite close to my home, so I put it on the calendar and went. I met all sorts of Facebook celebri-dogs and the people behind these Facebook pages and was so impressed by the passion and dedication of all of these folks. I met a number of adoptable mill dogs and saw former mill dogs that had homes but who were victims of poor lifelong health care and thus had all sorts of health issues from missing eyes, teeth, jaws! I spent a long time visiting with these folks and crying thinking about what these dogs had lived through. Then as I walked out I decided that I could either cry with sadness and anger about puppy mills, or I could become part of the change that this amazing organization is fostering. I went home and signed up on milldogrescue.org to become a volunteer, made a donation to them, and found a powerful passion that grows daily to help make a difference, even if it is gradual. As a person with a bit of an instant gratification problem, I have learned to keep in mind that this is a "make a change to the world one dog at a time" kind of situation. But even in the fairly short time I have volunteered, I feel like larger strides are being made. The key to ending the horror of puppy mills is educating people about them. If you want to feel empowered and amazed at the power of grassroot efforts, take a look at National Mill Dog Rescue. I assure you that you will be changed by it!
September 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

There are a lot of nonprofits out there, but NMDR is among the best! The entire organization is amazing, starting with it's founder, Theresa Strader, to all the dedicated volunteers. It literally takes a small army to run the organization! I think what sets them apart is their genuine love and passion for dogs, it shows in everything they do! I discovered them through my son, who discovered them on Facebook through one of their spokesdogs, Harley. My son, who is disabled, was inspired to write a song about Harley ("A Little Dog with a Big Dream"). He now sells the song with proceeds donated to NMDR to help fund future rescues. I have volunteered my entire life for different organizations, and I recently joined on as a volunteer with NMDR, I can tell you I am proud to be part of this amazing group of people! If you love and care about animals, particularly dogs, this is one of the best organizations to donate your dollars to!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue through friends on Facebook. I was looking to adopt a dog, preferably a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, but having no luck in shelters around the state. I decided that until I could get a dog that I truly connected with, I would foster dogs for this orginization. I was fostering a dog when I got a call that they had a Cavalier that was available, and several families didn't want because he was 6 years old. I went to the kennel and met him, and he chose me. I am currently fostering my 3rd mill dog rescue and will be adopting a 2nd Cavalier shortly. This orginization is amazing in the care it takes with each animal. The volunteers are so committed to giving these abused animals a good life and giving medical, dental, grooming, rehab, and socialization to each and every animal that comes through the facility, making sure they never live in filth or hunger ever again. National Mill Dog Resuce does a phenomenal job!
September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We took a trip to PetSmart one day and they happened to be having an adoption event. At this event I fell in love with a 9mo old Pom from a rescue I had never heard of, National Mill Dog. After doing some research and learning what they were about and that the dogs they rescue, including this Pom, are from puppy mills; that he had never known a loving hand, grass, toys, fresh water, etc., we were determined to give him a loving home. And he is flourishing! After following this rescue online for a year, we are now dedicated volunteers. They are amazing - they rescue, rehome and rehabilitate discarded and unwanted dogs that are used for the breeding industry (puppy mills), the dogs that are sold in puppy stores and online. We donate our time, money and our hearts. It is SO worth it!
January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with National Mill Dog Rescue from the early days and have watched this organization grow tremendously over the years. The dedication of Theresa has always been an inspiration. To see how far we have come with volunteers who do the work, give selflessly of their time and efforts is outstanding. Regularly they drive long distances to pick up dogs no longer considered of any value. The housing, cleaning, feeding, vet care, grooming, tender fostering of so many to prepare these dogs for their forever homes speaks volumes for the dedication of these volunteers. It can be heart breaking at times, and tears often fall and hearts break over particularly sad cases. But when you walk down the aisle between kennels, and dogs who once cowered in fear, come forward and wag their tails, this makes it all worth while. Nothing else has been this rewarding. Hearts heal, love pours out, and dogs find a life they never knew existed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Words could never describe the emotional feeling I get every time I enter the kennel to volunteer at NMDR. Knowing that I'm going to assist dogs and puppies, who for some have never known love or a kind hand, makes me cry. However, when I'm there and I get to see their beautiful faces and wagging tails, tears turn to smiles and pure joy. I don't have much free time in my day to day life, but when I do, I make sure I'm out at the kennel or assisting with adoption fairs and fashion shows. The mission of NMDR is to educate on puppy mills, to rescue the unwanted and to rehabilitate. Anything I can do to assist in their endeavors and to get the word out on this amazing organization is an effort I'm willing to make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers