Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.73775
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering at National Mill Dog Rescue last fall and wasn't sure what to expect. I found that it is a wonderful group of dedicated people who all have the same mission in mind of helping dogs. The volunteers are amazing and everyone has a heart of gold. This is an organization that truly is there to help these dogs and I'm proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've twice tried to post a lengthy review here but this site has deleted them! Bottom line, WONDERFUL ORGANIZATION, WONDERFUL PEOPLE, AMAZING STORIES OF DOGS GETTING A CHANCE AT A LIFE WITH A LOVING FAMILY AFTER YEARS OF ABUSE AND NEGLECT IN A PUPPY MILL! Please ignore the ramblings of some disgruntled, vindictive people on this site - this organization is and always will be ALL ABOUT THE DOGS!!! I've worked with them for years and believe wholeheartedly in their mission and their goal to end puppy mills and give these dogs an opportunity to become beloved pets. Where does the money go?? - TO THE DOGS. Rescuing, feeding, medical care, warm beds, clean kennels, blankets, treats and lots of socializing by scores of volunteers who believe in the mission like I do. I honestly cannot say enough about this incredible group of people who have done so much to help so many dogs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our family volunteers out at National Mill Dog Rescue every other Sunday morning and we always look forward to it. The people there are wonderful and we love getting to spend time with the dogs when we are done with the cleaning out the kennel part. Three of our dogs were adopted through National Mill Dog Rescue. I'm really glad that they do home checks and make sure that the dogs are going to responsible homes. Everyone that I've met out there is 100% committed to the dogs. I read some of the negative reviews and I suppose that sometimes there are some politics going on, but that is true of any organization no matter what the size. I just know that everyone that we've ever dealt with there has been amazing. I think the slogan is "It's all about the dogs," and that is so true and evident in all that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My family and I have been volunteers with NMDR for over 5 years. This organization has grown tremendously in that time. They are a work in progress, learning what works and what doesn't and always trying to make things better for the dogs they rescue, for the volunteers who help and the important aspect of educating the public. I have never been involved with an organization that is so dedicated to their cause. The fellow volunteers that I have met are tremendous friends now. A truly wonderful organization that has changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Like many of the other volunteers, it is my honor to be allowed to be involved in this rescue. I sit here with two of the NMDRs banging my hands with their nose as I try to type, simply happy for a kind human touch.To think what was done to these pups in the mill, pre -Teresa Strader just turns my stomach. Anyone crazy enough to put down the efforts of this group deserves to be denied one of these rescued pups. These pups need a new home filled only with love and positive energy. If you want to feel secure with your charitible contribution, drive on out and let us all welcome you! (humans and pups) You will not see any abusive behavior, nor would any volunteer allow it. NMDR ROCKS!













More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for National Mill Dog Rescue in various capacities for more than 4 years. I am amazed at the dedication and love that Theresa and the volunteers have for the dogs. Their commitment to rescuing, caring for, and speaking for these dogs is unrivaled. If you want a rewarding experience in volunteering to help puppy mill victims, I highly recommend National Mill Dog Rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at this organization for 2 years. I find this rescue extremely organized and prepared to hit the road at a moments' notice. It is all about the dogs. I supervise the cleaning crew on Sundays and have met and enjoyed working with a great group of people. All of us have a sense of pride in how clean the kennel is when we are done. Every week there seems to be new volunteers joining the group. We work hard for approx 4 hours and then we grab a group of dogs to go to a "puppy party" in the socializing room after cleaning! By the way, I have never seen anyone pulling a dog along. If the dog is not leash trained to where he/she can walk on their own, we simply pick up the dog. We do as little as possible to traumatize the dogs when they are in our care. I have come in contact with many wonderful volunteers who genuinely care about the dogs. Their medical care is absolutely the best! We have great vets helping us and if they can't solve the issue, the dogs see a specialist. I personally this past weekend took a french poodle with eye problems to Denver to see an animal eye specialist (whom has performed eye surgery on a tiger & lion from Denver's zoo). Another dachsund came in with a damaged spinal cord and just this past week had close to $4000 in surger and is now resting comfortably in a foster home. I personally have adopted 2 dogs from this rescue and have nothing but great praise for their kindness and concern for the dogs as well as their professionalism. I invite Anyone who would like to learn more about this wonderful organization to come join me on Sunday mornings and I'll show you how it's done!!!! You will be glad you came!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I volunteer with NMDR as both a photographer and to assist in any other area needed. I have worked the cleaning detail on numerous days, fostered/adopted, docent duty, intake, arrivals, etc. I always feel welcome at NMDR and have met some wonderful people there...the best part, they all love the dogs as much as I do. The care, attention and love these dogs recieve is inspiring. There is no money wasted on anything that does not benefit the dogs. Recent contest winnings have gone to update the heating system and accomodations for the dogs. NMDR has been recognized by various organizations because of the wonderful work they do and dedicated team of volunteers working to educate the public. Everyone involved at NMDR, including Theresa Strader, works at the kennel to do whatever needs done for the dogs, including cleaning their pens and washing the dogs. As a photographer, I work to help people see the dogs that I see...the beautiful beings there really are...not the scared pups that arrive from some of the most horrible conditions imaginable. A skilled social media team works tirelessly to make sure the images of these beautiful pups get seen, get talked about, get noticed. NMDR reaches out for volunteers regularly...not because we don't have them, but because everyone should have a chance to do something so meaningful. A little dog named Wags, who I never knew, but was saved by NMDR inspired me to volunteer. It was one of best thing I've ever done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

I've been a volunteer for National Mill Dog Rescue for a year and a half and I also adopted a rescued dog from them a little over a year ago. I've had very positive experiences as a volunteer and as ... more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I drive 110 miles round trip to volunteer at NMDR and I can assure you I would never do that unless I felt this organization was doing a great job for the dogs we rescue. I'm there for at least 4+ hours each time I volunteer and I've never seen anything but care and respect given to the dogs. Not just their physical care but care given to every aspect of their care. The goal is to help these dogs find forever homes and we have volunteers who come in just to spend time with the dogs who have special needs that need to be addressed. Each dog is an individual and that is evident in the kind of food each gets, the medications they might need, their socialization needs, etc. We have volunteers involved in all the aspects of running an active rescue group including doing the actual rescues, cleaning at the kennel, grooming, rehab, adoption fairs, working with prospective adopters, fund raising, etc. Not only does it all this cost money but hundreds of hours of work by the volunteers for all these dogs who have never even had anyone care for them in their whole lives. Theresa, who founded this rescue along with Lily, the first dog rescued, is very much a hands on leader and I see her often when I'm there volunteering. She takes the time to know the dogs and the volunteers and works harder than most people I know. This is a wonderful organization and I would recommend it to any of my dog loving friends. I adopted my own little dog from NMDR 14 months ago and I am so grateful that they saved him from a life of misery and brought him to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer for National Mill Dog Rescue for a year and a half and I also adopted a rescued dog from them a little over a year ago. I've had very positive experiences as a volunteer and as an adopter. One thing you learn right away is that we always have to think about what is best for the dogs. That comes first and the policies reflect this belief. We have a large group of volunteers and they work together to have the best outcomes for our dogs. NMDR is focused on educating the public about the reality of puppy mills and encourage adoption from shelters and rescue organizations. NMDR also tries to rescue the parent dogs from these puppy mills when the dogs are no longer useful to the breeders. There are opportunities to volunteer in various parts of the organization and we have volunteers from various parts of the state. I'm also very impressed with the leadership of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been very involved with NMDR for a year now. I am a bather for the grooming team and I am a foster mom to some of the dogs. I absolutely love being with NMDR and volunteering there has profoundly changed my life. It is heartwarming to see so many loving and dedicated people working together to help these poor creatures. We make sure, every day, that the kennels are clean. That the dogs have good quality food, clean water. That each one of them is loved and has some time being petted by a person. We make sure they are bathed and clean. We make sure we treat their physical ailments (we have a vet staff on site) and we also adress the hurts they might have on the inside.
There is no bigger reward then seeing these scared little creatures finally turn into the dogs they were meant to be!
As a foster, I have to say NMDR is top notch. I have been to several local vets with my fosters and I haven't had to pay a penny! All the vets have nothing but nice things to say about NMDR and Theresa. They make sure my fosters are placed in great homes, thanks to our awesome home check team.
As for Theresa Strader....you couldn't meet a better person. Right from the time I started volunteering, she knew my name. She is at the kennel very frequently and is very involved with the running of NMDR and all of us volunteers. She also always knows who my current foster dog is and always asks how he/she is doing. I don't know how she can keep all those names straight, but somehow she does! Anyone who meets her will see right away how she loves each and every dog in NMDR's care and she wants nothing but the best for them. I simply think she is fabulous and I feel I am very blessed to be able to work with her.
Many of my fellow volunteers have become dear friends and have also very much enriched my life. I encourage everyone in the Colorado Springs area to take a drive out to NMDR to visit the dogs. The doors are always open for visitors and new volunteers! You won't regret it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers