Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.724145
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Theresa Strader is one of the most selfless people I know. She is the epitome of a hero. Simply put, she gives these animals life. She is their voice. NMDR is committed to placing all of the dogs that they rescue into forever homes. I have volunteered for a little over a year, but have supported the organization for almost two years. It took me a year to muster up the courage to visit the facility. I was certain, that emotionally, I wouldn't be able to handle what I thought I was going to see. Watching the consistent example set by other volunteers, I finally stepped up and went to volunteer at the rescue as a part of the cleaning team. I was happily surprised, it is, by far, the most rewarding experience. The dogs are so happy, some are timid and shy, but we must remember they are being exposed to a new life of freedom and love. After coming from a life of filth and be treated, literally, like a number they are experiencing unconditional love. NMDR is their saving grace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Mill Dog Rescue is an amazing organization founded by Theresa Strader. I adopted my first dog from them in 2008 and began volunteering in 2009. I have never seen a more dedicated group of individuals working together. NMDR is like no other group out there. They provide 6 months of free, post adoption. behavioral support with a dog behaviorist and lifelong tips and support to adopters. They also have a lost dogs team and if an NMDR dog, no matter how long ago it was adopted, goes missing they will help bring her home. They have a motto, once an NMDR dog, always an NMDR dog. National Mill Dog Rescue is always working to rescue dogs and to educate the public about the commercial breeding industry. They will rescue any dog no matter the age, breed, size or health condition. They will treat any illness, no matter the cost and find every dog a loving forever family. With National Mill Dog Rescue, it truly is all about the dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, they are a model and something every rescue should strive to be like.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013

more

November 3, 2013

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue a few years ago. It started with them educating me about puppy mills. Since that time I have adopted a rescue dog from them and she is a sweetheart! It makes me tear up when I think about how awful the first five years must have been. I live near the shelter and have seen firsthand the amazing work that is going on through NMDR. The dogs are rescued from puppy mills and are given EVERYTHING they need to start their new lives. It is so touching to watch these dogs learn to trust, to give and receive love and to thrive. The dedication that the volunteers have is truly amazing! NMDR is truly worthy of recognition!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began donating monthly to NMDR about two years ago when I heard about and then saw what they were doing to save dogs. When we lost two of our dogs to old age & seizure disorders we adopted our first NMDR dog. After this adoption I started volunteering. I have worked as a cleaner at the most pristine kennel I have ever seen, I work at two adoption fairs a month, and every special event. I had one successful foster, and ended up adopting my second foster dog. I have made wonderful friends through this volunteer organization and love their "it's about the dogs" mission. Theresa Strader is the definition of love for dogs. Since it's inception in 2007 over 8200 dogs have been rescued, rehabbed and rehomed. They come in nearly dead and terrified and the volunteers love them back to health and into happy homes. This group changed my life and has taken over my heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

live on the premises and be with the dogs 24/7.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

National Mill Dog Rescue is a wonderful organization that rescues, rehabilitates, and rehomes discarded commercial breeding dogs and helps educate the public about the cruel realities of the commercial dog breeding industry. It's led by the amazing, Theresa Strader and has hundreds of passionate volunteers who give of their time, hearts & talents. Close to 8,000 dogs have been rescued to date.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've tried twice to write a review here too, but it was deleted. Just shows you the commitment those of us who support NMDR are willing to make, to keep on trying to make it work. That's how it is with NMDR. I've never met such a dedicated and hard working group of people. It truly is what is best for their dogs. They are fiercely protective of their dogs and not just anybody can adopt from them. Of course, that rubs some people the wrong way, which is why I suspect there are some negative comments here. In truth though, there is nothing they won't do to give the dogs they rescue the best chance for a normal life. Despite medical expenses that have to be through the roof (since every dog rescued has many medical needs due to the neglect they've suffered), their adoption fees are reasonable. They pay all vet expenses for the dogs in foster care, and there is no shortchanging the needs. For adopters, they have a dog behaviorist available to answer questions and offer classes to help with the unique needs of traumatized mill dogs and their unique needs. There is also a Facebook page for adopters to share success stories and ask questions - just having a support system can be so important for those who are new to the needs and joys of mill dogs. I have adopted 2 dogs from them and am fostering 1. This organization has educated me, has supported me, and inspired me. It is deserving of the highest rating, bar none. This is a nonprofit that puts it all there for the dogs in their care. There is not a selfish, greedy, or self-serving person in the whole organization. Instead, you'll find people full of love, commitment, and selflessness. Perfect example - one volunteer has taken on a new foster with medical needs that require near constant attention. He did this while in the middle of moving homes, which we all know is a huge and stressful job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Mill Dog Rescue is the best run charity organization that I have had the opportunity to volunteer for. They work hard to rescue and rehabilitate dogs that are from puppy mills and would otherwise be killed if they weren't saved. They have a large network of volunteers all over the country who assist with all areas of the operation from rescue to cleaning, rehabilitation, vetting, fostering, adoptions, and education. The volunteers there are caring dedicated folks who give up their free time helping these neglected and abused souls recover their lives so they can find a home with a loving family to live in. They are very well organized and the operations run smoothly on a day to day basis, something you just don't find at all non-profits. Because everyone is working for the dogs, there is a strong sense of purpose with the get her done mentality. I began volunteering there with the goal of helping animals in mind but this journey has become so much more. The folks there are so nice and generous, and I've made many new friends both human and canine who have changed my life forever. I'm forever grateful to be given the opportunity to spend my time making a difference in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering at National Mill Dog Rescue last fall and wasn't sure what to expect. I found that it is a wonderful group of dedicated people who all have the same mission in mind of helping dogs. The volunteers are amazing and everyone has a heart of gold. This is an organization that truly is there to help these dogs and I'm proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've twice tried to post a lengthy review here but this site has deleted them! Bottom line, WONDERFUL ORGANIZATION, WONDERFUL PEOPLE, AMAZING STORIES OF DOGS GETTING A CHANCE AT A LIFE WITH A LOVING FAMILY AFTER YEARS OF ABUSE AND NEGLECT IN A PUPPY MILL! Please ignore the ramblings of some disgruntled, vindictive people on this site - this organization is and always will be ALL ABOUT THE DOGS!!! I've worked with them for years and believe wholeheartedly in their mission and their goal to end puppy mills and give these dogs an opportunity to become beloved pets. Where does the money go?? - TO THE DOGS. Rescuing, feeding, medical care, warm beds, clean kennels, blankets, treats and lots of socializing by scores of volunteers who believe in the mission like I do. I honestly cannot say enough about this incredible group of people who have done so much to help so many dogs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our family volunteers out at National Mill Dog Rescue every other Sunday morning and we always look forward to it. The people there are wonderful and we love getting to spend time with the dogs when we are done with the cleaning out the kennel part. Three of our dogs were adopted through National Mill Dog Rescue. I'm really glad that they do home checks and make sure that the dogs are going to responsible homes. Everyone that I've met out there is 100% committed to the dogs. I read some of the negative reviews and I suppose that sometimes there are some politics going on, but that is true of any organization no matter what the size. I just know that everyone that we've ever dealt with there has been amazing. I think the slogan is "It's all about the dogs," and that is so true and evident in all that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers