Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.6255
| 1 2 3 4 |
Write A Review
January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 27, 2012

I've been a volunteer for National Mill Dog Rescue for a year and a half and I also adopted a rescued dog from them a little over a year ago. I've had very positive experiences as a volunteer and as ... more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I drive 110 miles round trip to volunteer at NMDR and I can assure you I would never do that unless I felt this organization was doing a great job for the dogs we rescue. I'm there for at least 4+ hours each time I volunteer and I've never seen anything but care and respect given to the dogs. Not just their physical care but care given to every aspect of their care. The goal is to help these dogs find forever homes and we have volunteers who come in just to spend time with the dogs who have special needs that need to be addressed. Each dog is an individual and that is evident in the kind of food each gets, the medications they might need, their socialization needs, etc. We have volunteers involved in all the aspects of running an active rescue group including doing the actual rescues, cleaning at the kennel, grooming, rehab, adoption fairs, working with prospective adopters, fund raising, etc. Not only does it all this cost money but hundreds of hours of work by the volunteers for all these dogs who have never even had anyone care for them in their whole lives. Theresa, who founded this rescue along with Lily, the first dog rescued, is very much a hands on leader and I see her often when I'm there volunteering. She takes the time to know the dogs and the volunteers and works harder than most people I know. This is a wonderful organization and I would recommend it to any of my dog loving friends. I adopted my own little dog from NMDR 14 months ago and I am so grateful that they saved him from a life of misery and brought him to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I've been a volunteer for National Mill Dog Rescue for a year and a half and I also adopted a rescued dog from them a little over a year ago. I've had very positive experiences as a volunteer and as an adopter. One thing you learn right away is that we always have to think about what is best for the dogs. That comes first and the policies reflect this belief. We have a large group of volunteers and they work together to have the best outcomes for our dogs. NMDR is focused on educating the public about the reality of puppy mills and encourage adoption from shelters and rescue organizations. NMDR also tries to rescue the parent dogs from these puppy mills when the dogs are no longer useful to the breeders. There are opportunities to volunteer in various parts of the organization and we have volunteers from various parts of the state. I'm also very impressed with the leadership of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been very involved with NMDR for a year now. I am a bather for the grooming team and I am a foster mom to some of the dogs. I absolutely love being with NMDR and volunteering there has profoundly changed my life. It is heartwarming to see so many loving and dedicated people working together to help these poor creatures. We make sure, every day, that the kennels are clean. That the dogs have good quality food, clean water. That each one of them is loved and has some time being petted by a person. We make sure they are bathed and clean. We make sure we treat their physical ailments (we have a vet staff on site) and we also adress the hurts they might have on the inside.
There is no bigger reward then seeing these scared little creatures finally turn into the dogs they were meant to be!
As a foster, I have to say NMDR is top notch. I have been to several local vets with my fosters and I haven't had to pay a penny! All the vets have nothing but nice things to say about NMDR and Theresa. They make sure my fosters are placed in great homes, thanks to our awesome home check team.
As for Theresa Strader....you couldn't meet a better person. Right from the time I started volunteering, she knew my name. She is at the kennel very frequently and is very involved with the running of NMDR and all of us volunteers. She also always knows who my current foster dog is and always asks how he/she is doing. I don't know how she can keep all those names straight, but somehow she does! Anyone who meets her will see right away how she loves each and every dog in NMDR's care and she wants nothing but the best for them. I simply think she is fabulous and I feel I am very blessed to be able to work with her.
Many of my fellow volunteers have become dear friends and have also very much enriched my life. I encourage everyone in the Colorado Springs area to take a drive out to NMDR to visit the dogs. The doors are always open for visitors and new volunteers! You won't regret it!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

have been volunteering with National Mill Dog Rescue since 2009. I have also adopted two dogs from here. I go out to the kennel once a week and bathe the dogs. We make sure a dog does not go for more then two weeks without a bath. The dogs are well cared for and the volunteers all love the dogs as if they were their own. All of the dogs are treated with respect and dignity. They have a wonderful vet staff that comes in and cares for the dogs and spays and nueters them before they are adopted out. All of the dogs are treated for any medical needs. I had family in town for the holidays and the first thing they noticed was how clean the kennel is, and how happy the dogs are. The dogs are in spacious kennels and are also allowed outdoor time. The outdoor time we call puppy parties. Here the dogs are able to get out and play with each other and have a great time. They also provide post adoption support to help the new family adjust. This is a wonderful organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

December 7, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

This organization WAS a great organization several years ago, but the director has lost sight of the original goals of the organization. Theresa has become much more interested in photo ops and news and magazine stories than about the adoption side of her business. Within the past year, there have been at least two cases of sick and/or damaged dogs that died almost immediately after being chased around a kennel or a yard by a person with a video camera to create a video for fund raising purposes. These dogs died from shear fright--all for fund raising purposes. Very unethical! Recently, a person was approved to adopt a particular dog and arrangements were made for her to pick up her dog. In a rare event, Theresa came in, said she had promised the dog to someone else (not following their own rules), and instructed her adoption coordinator to call this woman and say that NMDR had decided the dog "would be too big for her." This was a total lie. A short time later, one of the puppies of the dog she wanted was returned, and this woman was called and told to come and get THIS puppy. I guess, now she can handle a big dog. These things should NEVER happen. Honesty is important for any business; but it is certainly a problem for this one. One could also make a strong case for this organization being discriminatory. Very few volunteers are non-white, very few adopters are non-white, and the locations where adoptions events are held in "desirable zip codes." There is also no logic to the adoptions of the dogs. Some families have adopted 8 dogs and do not have to follow the rules, while other people are turned away for absurd reasons, or for no reason given. It is impossible to question them because they never answer the phone and will not answer emails if they are being questioned. Their 501(c)(3) category is still listed as N60 Sports rather than D20 Animal Welfare. In the past 1 1/2 years, NMDR changed their adoptions contract so that it now says that you do not actually own your dog. You must agree that NMDR may come AT ANY TIME IN THE FUTURE to double-check the home you are providing and they may reclaim your dog! Everyone seems sure NMDR would never do this, but their partner group, North Shore Animal League has done exactly that and re-sold the dog. DO NOT assume NMDR would not do the same. NMDR also refuses to release the contact information on the puppy mills with which they have formed "relationships." This one step would bring about the closure of puppy mills faster than anything other action. Note: I am not saying there is anything wrong with the volunteers of this organization. They are devoted people who work very hard. However, very few of them are even aware of what is going on around them. It is the Top Level of this group that has lost course. The comment someone made about food was right on. I was told when I asked about how large a room full of food would last and I was told "over a year." I also noticed that there are many different companies donating food on a regular basis several times a year; and yet there were two requests to the public for "badly needed" dog food within just a few weeks. The veterinary comment someone else mentioned is also true. Very few vets in the area will work with this group. If fact, a different non-profit has taken on as their charity the responsibility of paying NMDR's vet bills. Foster homes often have to pay vet expenses themselves. Unfortunately, most people see only the top surface of this organization and do not look deep enough to know the full story. NMDR has hired a PR person to build Theresa's exposure, which means, if you donate, you are probably paying that person salary--not helping a dog. I also just saw and ad saying NMDR needed more volunteers. This is something NMDR never had to do before and it is not because they are taking in more dogs. In fact, they only have one kennel now. (They used to have two.) If you are looking for a group to support financially, this group should only be considered for donating items the dogs can use--not money. Or, donate your time as a volunteer--and keep your eyes and ears open. You will be surprised at what you see and hear. Most people do not know that NMDR has won several "contests" this past year because so many volunteers call in to web sites on all of their computers to register "votes" These awards have had large cash awards--I'm not even sure what their total has been, but I saw one award of $50,000 and another of $25,000. I will be checking to see how these get recorded on their taxes. This group can use you as a volunteer, but there are more financially needy organizations that are certainly more ethical.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Somewhat badly

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I can not give this organization the glowing review I would like to. Before I get to the bad let me start with the good. They do care for and about the dogs, the kennels are clean and they dogs all have fresh water and food. All dogs get great medical care and their system for making sure the dogs get their meds is both simple and effective. However I have seen some awful things. I have seen the Head of the Dog Care Team dragging a small scared dog across the kennel using a slip lead. It's no wonder some volunteers do the same. Their trainer uses old school compulsion method training which is not only ineffective but inhumane and she coaches others to do the same. Some volunteers put a lot of time and effort into rehabbing these dogs, and all they ask in return is that they are put in touch with the adopter or foster to share what they have learned. That happens rarely if ever. NMDR is often short on cleaners in the morning, instead of looking into why that was a problem they hired a couple of people to clean. There is so much drama at the kennel, especially on the morning cleaning crew, that no one wants to wake up early to go clean up foul smelling dog poo. Something needs to change when it comes to all of the drama, it is driving myself and others away. In conclusion NMDR takes wonderful care of the dog's physical well being but sub-par care of their mental well being and their volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
7 people found this review helpful

In thiis world sometimes its hard to feel like you can make a difference but this is one place you can. We rescue these wonderful creatures from deplorable condition, heal, groom, train and love them and find them homes full of joy and love. In return we are rewarded by getting to watch their little souls unfold and blossom and feel their thanks. No dog is left behind here. Every dog is worked with until she/he learns how to be a successful dog and companion. When I leave the kennel I feel like I am covered with little sparkly dog kisses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

Tonight I want to take a moment to tell my story. I am a disabled combat veteran. I have some issues with human emotions and connection after Iraq however I've found my place with the NMDR animals and their staff. NMDR has been on my mind for quite some time. I'm sure like most of their rescues, it just takes time to reach out and be reconnected to the living. Learning how to trust, forgive and love without conditions or expectations. These little dogs are an unanswered prayer for veterans like myself. As a volunteer, I can sit without words. No need to speak aloud because the connection is understood. No need to touch, just the comfort of your company is worth a million hugs. It's not just a volunteer job for me or many others who give of themselves without expectations or grand gestures in rewards. Our reward is when one our pups find a happy home and starts living for the first time in their little lives. It's given me a new purpose and the courage to get up every day and face what I fear the most. Something to look forward to and little lives that depend on everyone to help them live in a new world. "For the silence of their pain" we all hope to help them find love and comfort so they can rest at night. Diligent home checks, kennel cleaning, socialization time, healthy nutrition, fostering and medical care. It's not an easy job but it's well worth it. Ty Warrick

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

At EVERY level, this is a quality organization. The mission, so heart felt by all the volunteers and the founders, is to help those who cannot help themselves. I just began volunteering after my very first visit to the extraordinarily clean kennel out in Peyton. It's all about the pups and EVERY person takes that mission to heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
9 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering for NMDR since 2009. It's the most classy organization with which I have ever been associated. You can rest assured that if you foster or adopt a former mill dog and you have any trouble, you won't be left alone. These folks make sure that you are supported! They are there is you need them!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I am very proud to volunteer with NMDR, I have been with the organization since 2009. I have seen our dogs in every possible situation, from unloading when the rescue comes home, to intake where they all get a name and some much needed care, to their socialization and rehab, to happy adoptions with families who have been educated on puppy mills and are supported through all phases of the dog's development. I have had the honor of fostering NMDR dogs myself, including ones who have come to us pregnant or have special needs. Every dog is given love, respect, and honor. The tag line, "It's about the dogs" is 100% true. Everyone involved in the organization has the best interests of the dogs in mind and that principle guides everything that they do. Everyone, from all the volunteers, to the founder, Theresa Strader, and her family, gives deeply and without reserve. Caring for thousands of dogs is a challenge, but one that the organization takes up both willingly and eagerly. Knowing that you're making a difference in the live of an innocent animal is one of the best feelings in the world. NMDR makes that feeling come to life every single day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers