Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.73775
Write A Review
January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Words could never describe the emotional feeling I get every time I enter the kennel to volunteer at NMDR. Knowing that I'm going to assist dogs and puppies, who for some have never known love or a kind hand, makes me cry. However, when I'm there and I get to see their beautiful faces and wagging tails, tears turn to smiles and pure joy. I don't have much free time in my day to day life, but when I do, I make sure I'm out at the kennel or assisting with adoption fairs and fashion shows. The mission of NMDR is to educate on puppy mills, to rescue the unwanted and to rehabilitate. Anything I can do to assist in their endeavors and to get the word out on this amazing organization is an effort I'm willing to make.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I discovered National Mill Dog Rescue and Theresa Strader 4 years ago and have been committed to their mission ever since. We are a no kill rescue which is very important to me. I volunteer at the kennel weekly and can't get enough of these needy sweet dogs. It gives me a reason to get up in the morning and a sense of purpose which will be with me throughout my life. Theresa is a hero and a mentor for all the volunteers. I am grateful to belong to such a passionate organization; it drives us all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like more funding to pay for special needs dogs surgeries and treatment, improve and expand our building. Also to go on more rescues to save the lives of more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 4, 2012

I started volunteering at NMDR about a year ago. I am a foster home, and I groom for them twice a week. Their facility is 35 miles from me, but well worth the drive. Most of the people there are ex... more

November 4, 2013

I am a groomer, and volunteer for NMDR in several ways. I have fostered dogs, helped rehabilitate the more severely traumatized dogs that come in, and even gone on a rescue to bring dogs to freedom. This is, by far, the most rewarding thing I have done, and an excellently run organization. I am even able to bring my children with me to volunteer and they are able to help out in so many different ways. They can be much more involved than other rescues we have volunteered for. Thanks, Theresa, for allowing your compassion to guide you, and allowing others to join in your passion for freeing dogs from horrible situations within the commercial dog breeding industry.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
6 people found this review helpful

I started volunteering at NMDR about a year ago. I am a foster home, and I groom for them twice a week. Their facility is 35 miles from me, but well worth the drive. Most of the people there are extremely professional, and I have to say, this organization is really "for the dogs". They do ALL they can to make these dogs comfortable, healthy, and adoptable. While there may occasionally be a situation that all parties are not happy about, overall, it is an upright, amazing organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2013

more

November 4, 2013

Theresa Strader is one of the most selfless people I know. She is the epitome of a hero. Simply put, she gives these animals life. She is their voice. NMDR is committed to placing all of the dogs that they rescue into forever homes. I have volunteered for a little over a year, but have supported the organization for almost two years. It took me a year to muster up the courage to visit the facility. I was certain, that emotionally, I wouldn't be able to handle what I thought I was going to see. Watching the consistent example set by other volunteers, I finally stepped up and went to volunteer at the rescue as a part of the cleaning team. I was happily surprised, it is, by far, the most rewarding experience. The dogs are so happy, some are timid and shy, but we must remember they are being exposed to a new life of freedom and love. After coming from a life of filth and be treated, literally, like a number they are experiencing unconditional love. NMDR is their saving grace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Mill Dog Rescue is an amazing organization founded by Theresa Strader. I adopted my first dog from them in 2008 and began volunteering in 2009. I have never seen a more dedicated group of individuals working together. NMDR is like no other group out there. They provide 6 months of free, post adoption. behavioral support with a dog behaviorist and lifelong tips and support to adopters. They also have a lost dogs team and if an NMDR dog, no matter how long ago it was adopted, goes missing they will help bring her home. They have a motto, once an NMDR dog, always an NMDR dog. National Mill Dog Rescue is always working to rescue dogs and to educate the public about the commercial breeding industry. They will rescue any dog no matter the age, breed, size or health condition. They will treat any illness, no matter the cost and find every dog a loving forever family. With National Mill Dog Rescue, it truly is all about the dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, they are a model and something every rescue should strive to be like.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue a few years ago. It started with them educating me about puppy mills. Since that time I have adopted a rescue dog from them and she is a sweetheart! It makes me tear up when I think about how awful the first five years must have been. I live near the shelter and have seen firsthand the amazing work that is going on through NMDR. The dogs are rescued from puppy mills and are given EVERYTHING they need to start their new lives. It is so touching to watch these dogs learn to trust, to give and receive love and to thrive. The dedication that the volunteers have is truly amazing! NMDR is truly worthy of recognition!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing comes to mind!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I began donating monthly to NMDR about two years ago when I heard about and then saw what they were doing to save dogs. When we lost two of our dogs to old age & seizure disorders we adopted our first NMDR dog. After this adoption I started volunteering. I have worked as a cleaner at the most pristine kennel I have ever seen, I work at two adoption fairs a month, and every special event. I had one successful foster, and ended up adopting my second foster dog. I have made wonderful friends through this volunteer organization and love their "it's about the dogs" mission. Theresa Strader is the definition of love for dogs. Since it's inception in 2007 over 8200 dogs have been rescued, rehabbed and rehomed. They come in nearly dead and terrified and the volunteers love them back to health and into happy homes. This group changed my life and has taken over my heart.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

live on the premises and be with the dogs 24/7.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 3, 2013

more

May 3, 2013

National Mill Dog Rescue is a wonderful organization that rescues, rehabilitates, and rehomes discarded commercial breeding dogs and helps educate the public about the cruel realities of the commercial dog breeding industry. It's led by the amazing, Theresa Strader and has hundreds of passionate volunteers who give of their time, hearts & talents. Close to 8,000 dogs have been rescued to date.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've tried twice to write a review here too, but it was deleted. Just shows you the commitment those of us who support NMDR are willing to make, to keep on trying to make it work. That's how it is with NMDR. I've never met such a dedicated and hard working group of people. It truly is what is best for their dogs. They are fiercely protective of their dogs and not just anybody can adopt from them. Of course, that rubs some people the wrong way, which is why I suspect there are some negative comments here. In truth though, there is nothing they won't do to give the dogs they rescue the best chance for a normal life. Despite medical expenses that have to be through the roof (since every dog rescued has many medical needs due to the neglect they've suffered), their adoption fees are reasonable. They pay all vet expenses for the dogs in foster care, and there is no shortchanging the needs. For adopters, they have a dog behaviorist available to answer questions and offer classes to help with the unique needs of traumatized mill dogs and their unique needs. There is also a Facebook page for adopters to share success stories and ask questions - just having a support system can be so important for those who are new to the needs and joys of mill dogs. I have adopted 2 dogs from them and am fostering 1. This organization has educated me, has supported me, and inspired me. It is deserving of the highest rating, bar none. This is a nonprofit that puts it all there for the dogs in their care. There is not a selfish, greedy, or self-serving person in the whole organization. Instead, you'll find people full of love, commitment, and selflessness. Perfect example - one volunteer has taken on a new foster with medical needs that require near constant attention. He did this while in the middle of moving homes, which we all know is a huge and stressful job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Mill Dog Rescue is the best run charity organization that I have had the opportunity to volunteer for. They work hard to rescue and rehabilitate dogs that are from puppy mills and would otherwise be killed if they weren't saved. They have a large network of volunteers all over the country who assist with all areas of the operation from rescue to cleaning, rehabilitation, vetting, fostering, adoptions, and education. The volunteers there are caring dedicated folks who give up their free time helping these neglected and abused souls recover their lives so they can find a home with a loving family to live in. They are very well organized and the operations run smoothly on a day to day basis, something you just don't find at all non-profits. Because everyone is working for the dogs, there is a strong sense of purpose with the get her done mentality. I began volunteering there with the goal of helping animals in mind but this journey has become so much more. The folks there are so nice and generous, and I've made many new friends both human and canine who have changed my life forever. I'm forever grateful to be given the opportunity to spend my time making a difference in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers