Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
1234.6255
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've tried twice to write a review here too, but it was deleted. Just shows you the commitment those of us who support NMDR are willing to make, to keep on trying to make it work. That's how it is with NMDR. I've never met such a dedicated and hard working group of people. It truly is what is best for their dogs. They are fiercely protective of their dogs and not just anybody can adopt from them. Of course, that rubs some people the wrong way, which is why I suspect there are some negative comments here. In truth though, there is nothing they won't do to give the dogs they rescue the best chance for a normal life. Despite medical expenses that have to be through the roof (since every dog rescued has many medical needs due to the neglect they've suffered), their adoption fees are reasonable. They pay all vet expenses for the dogs in foster care, and there is no shortchanging the needs. For adopters, they have a dog behaviorist available to answer questions and offer classes to help with the unique needs of traumatized mill dogs and their unique needs. There is also a Facebook page for adopters to share success stories and ask questions - just having a support system can be so important for those who are new to the needs and joys of mill dogs. I have adopted 2 dogs from them and am fostering 1. This organization has educated me, has supported me, and inspired me. It is deserving of the highest rating, bar none. This is a nonprofit that puts it all there for the dogs in their care. There is not a selfish, greedy, or self-serving person in the whole organization. Instead, you'll find people full of love, commitment, and selflessness. Perfect example - one volunteer has taken on a new foster with medical needs that require near constant attention. He did this while in the middle of moving homes, which we all know is a huge and stressful job.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

National Mill Dog Rescue is the best run charity organization that I have had the opportunity to volunteer for. They work hard to rescue and rehabilitate dogs that are from puppy mills and would otherwise be killed if they weren't saved. They have a large network of volunteers all over the country who assist with all areas of the operation from rescue to cleaning, rehabilitation, vetting, fostering, adoptions, and education. The volunteers there are caring dedicated folks who give up their free time helping these neglected and abused souls recover their lives so they can find a home with a loving family to live in. They are very well organized and the operations run smoothly on a day to day basis, something you just don't find at all non-profits. Because everyone is working for the dogs, there is a strong sense of purpose with the get her done mentality. I began volunteering there with the goal of helping animals in mind but this journey has become so much more. The folks there are so nice and generous, and I've made many new friends both human and canine who have changed my life forever. I'm forever grateful to be given the opportunity to spend my time making a difference in the world!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I recently started volunteering at National Mill Dog Rescue last fall and wasn't sure what to expect. I found that it is a wonderful group of dedicated people who all have the same mission in mind of helping dogs. The volunteers are amazing and everyone has a heart of gold. This is an organization that truly is there to help these dogs and I'm proud to be a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've twice tried to post a lengthy review here but this site has deleted them! Bottom line, WONDERFUL ORGANIZATION, WONDERFUL PEOPLE, AMAZING STORIES OF DOGS GETTING A CHANCE AT A LIFE WITH A LOVING FAMILY AFTER YEARS OF ABUSE AND NEGLECT IN A PUPPY MILL! Please ignore the ramblings of some disgruntled, vindictive people on this site - this organization is and always will be ALL ABOUT THE DOGS!!! I've worked with them for years and believe wholeheartedly in their mission and their goal to end puppy mills and give these dogs an opportunity to become beloved pets. Where does the money go?? - TO THE DOGS. Rescuing, feeding, medical care, warm beds, clean kennels, blankets, treats and lots of socializing by scores of volunteers who believe in the mission like I do. I honestly cannot say enough about this incredible group of people who have done so much to help so many dogs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Our family volunteers out at National Mill Dog Rescue every other Sunday morning and we always look forward to it. The people there are wonderful and we love getting to spend time with the dogs when we are done with the cleaning out the kennel part. Three of our dogs were adopted through National Mill Dog Rescue. I'm really glad that they do home checks and make sure that the dogs are going to responsible homes. Everyone that I've met out there is 100% committed to the dogs. I read some of the negative reviews and I suppose that sometimes there are some politics going on, but that is true of any organization no matter what the size. I just know that everyone that we've ever dealt with there has been amazing. I think the slogan is "It's all about the dogs," and that is so true and evident in all that they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My family and I have been volunteers with NMDR for over 5 years. This organization has grown tremendously in that time. They are a work in progress, learning what works and what doesn't and always trying to make things better for the dogs they rescue, for the volunteers who help and the important aspect of educating the public. I have never been involved with an organization that is so dedicated to their cause. The fellow volunteers that I have met are tremendous friends now. A truly wonderful organization that has changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Like many of the other volunteers, it is my honor to be allowed to be involved in this rescue. I sit here with two of the NMDRs banging my hands with their nose as I try to type, simply happy for a kind human touch.To think what was done to these pups in the mill, pre -Teresa Strader just turns my stomach. Anyone crazy enough to put down the efforts of this group deserves to be denied one of these rescued pups. These pups need a new home filled only with love and positive energy. If you want to feel secure with your charitible contribution, drive on out and let us all welcome you! (humans and pups) You will not see any abusive behavior, nor would any volunteer allow it. NMDR ROCKS!













More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for National Mill Dog Rescue in various capacities for more than 4 years. I am amazed at the dedication and love that Theresa and the volunteers have for the dogs. Their commitment to rescuing, caring for, and speaking for these dogs is unrivaled. If you want a rewarding experience in volunteering to help puppy mill victims, I highly recommend National Mill Dog Rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
4 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered at this organization for 2 years. I find this rescue extremely organized and prepared to hit the road at a moments' notice. It is all about the dogs. I supervise the cleaning crew on Sundays and have met and enjoyed working with a great group of people. All of us have a sense of pride in how clean the kennel is when we are done. Every week there seems to be new volunteers joining the group. We work hard for approx 4 hours and then we grab a group of dogs to go to a "puppy party" in the socializing room after cleaning! By the way, I have never seen anyone pulling a dog along. If the dog is not leash trained to where he/she can walk on their own, we simply pick up the dog. We do as little as possible to traumatize the dogs when they are in our care. I have come in contact with many wonderful volunteers who genuinely care about the dogs. Their medical care is absolutely the best! We have great vets helping us and if they can't solve the issue, the dogs see a specialist. I personally this past weekend took a french poodle with eye problems to Denver to see an animal eye specialist (whom has performed eye surgery on a tiger & lion from Denver's zoo). Another dachsund came in with a damaged spinal cord and just this past week had close to $4000 in surger and is now resting comfortably in a foster home. I personally have adopted 2 dogs from this rescue and have nothing but great praise for their kindness and concern for the dogs as well as their professionalism. I invite Anyone who would like to learn more about this wonderful organization to come join me on Sunday mornings and I'll show you how it's done!!!! You will be glad you came!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

January 3, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I volunteer with NMDR as both a photographer and to assist in any other area needed. I have worked the cleaning detail on numerous days, fostered/adopted, docent duty, intake, arrivals, etc. I always feel welcome at NMDR and have met some wonderful people there...the best part, they all love the dogs as much as I do. The care, attention and love these dogs recieve is inspiring. There is no money wasted on anything that does not benefit the dogs. Recent contest winnings have gone to update the heating system and accomodations for the dogs. NMDR has been recognized by various organizations because of the wonderful work they do and dedicated team of volunteers working to educate the public. Everyone involved at NMDR, including Theresa Strader, works at the kennel to do whatever needs done for the dogs, including cleaning their pens and washing the dogs. As a photographer, I work to help people see the dogs that I see...the beautiful beings there really are...not the scared pups that arrive from some of the most horrible conditions imaginable. A skilled social media team works tirelessly to make sure the images of these beautiful pups get seen, get talked about, get noticed. NMDR reaches out for volunteers regularly...not because we don't have them, but because everyone should have a chance to do something so meaningful. A little dog named Wags, who I never knew, but was saved by NMDR inspired me to volunteer. It was one of best thing I've ever done.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers