Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
61 Reviews
1234.73775
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

We have two wonderful senior dog rescues from National Mill Dog Rescue. When we walked into their shelter, we were greeted by the most warm and friendly volunteers. They love what they do and the dogs who were horribly abused in their puppy mill finally feel warmth, security and love by the treatment of all who give their time and energy. It's a wonderful organization. We are so lucky to have found the organization and our two beautiful yorkies.
September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I fell in love with the mission of NMDR because of Lil Olive and her mantra...Speak for those who have voice! I visited and was treated like royalty. I was taken on a tour and the entire rescue process was described to me. I visited each and every dog that had been rescued and fell in love with them all. That was December 2013. In May 2014 I adopted a mill dog from NMDR, she's a senior dog about 10 years old. She had been well socialized and is a dear. The socialization was die to NMDRs ability to enlist the help of foster families in the nearby cities. They are a force to be reckoned with and absolutely sincere about their miss to rescue mill dogs from deplorable conditions. I have recommended them to many over the past few months.
September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue through friends on Facebook. I was looking to adopt a dog, preferably a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, but having no luck in shelters around the state. I decided that until I could get a dog that I truly connected with, I would foster dogs for this orginization. I was fostering a dog when I got a call that they had a Cavalier that was available, and several families didn't want because he was 6 years old. I went to the kennel and met him, and he chose me. I am currently fostering my 3rd mill dog rescue and will be adopting a 2nd Cavalier shortly. This orginization is amazing in the care it takes with each animal. The volunteers are so committed to giving these abused animals a good life and giving medical, dental, grooming, rehab, and socialization to each and every animal that comes through the facility, making sure they never live in filth or hunger ever again. National Mill Dog Resuce does a phenomenal job!
September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

We took a trip to PetSmart one day and they happened to be having an adoption event. At this event I fell in love with a 9mo old Pom from a rescue I had never heard of, National Mill Dog. After doing some research and learning what they were about and that the dogs they rescue, including this Pom, are from puppy mills; that he had never known a loving hand, grass, toys, fresh water, etc., we were determined to give him a loving home. And he is flourishing! After following this rescue online for a year, we are now dedicated volunteers. They are amazing - they rescue, rehome and rehabilitate discarded and unwanted dogs that are used for the breeding industry (puppy mills), the dogs that are sold in puppy stores and online. We donate our time, money and our hearts. It is SO worth it!
September 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
3 people found this review helpful

I received a 8.5 year old rescue from National Mill Dog. She had lived in a cage her whole life having babies. Her health was horrendous, she had heartworm, hernia, had not been fixed and needed 25 teeth pulled that were rotten out from puppy mill lack of care and poor food. Now a year later, my sweet Miss Tilly, is a loving sweet, healthy member of our family. Her little tail wag makes my day and she looks so lovingly into my eyes that I can't help but wonder what she thinks - she came out of hell to a loving rescue and then a loving family. National Mill Dog paid for her vet care to get her healthy; that was amazing to me! They are a top notch wonderful and loving organization! I highly recommend you go out there and get a senior dog who has been locked up their whole lives; nothing is better than their love!

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This rescue is phenomenal. I rescued an Italian Greyhound. These people are so loving and caring towards the furbabies. National mill dog rescue truly cares about each individual animal and works very hard to nurse these mill dogs back to health not only physically but emotionally, the volunteers then find just the right home for these babies to be adopted into and live out the rest of their lives knowing what love is. Please, if you are looking for a pet to add to your family, adopt from National mill dog rescue. Lets speak for those with no voice. Please help end Puppy Mills!!!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

This organization is so wonderful. They have so many dedicated volunteers that take care of all the rescued dogs and help find forever homes for them. We recently adopted a mill dog mama that had spent 7 yrs. of her precious 8 yrs. in a puppy mill as a breeding mama. Scared of men, scared of thunder, scared of quick movements, frightened of everything and not knowing how to be a dog…she is such a sweet, precious soul with not a mean bone in her little body. Since NMDR saved her life in July of 2013, they started teaching her that not all humans are like the ones that imprisoned her. She has been learning from volunteers at the kennel and also from their foster volunteers. Then we were lucky enough to be chosen to adopt our precious fur baby and be her forever home. She was our first NMDR but won't be our last. I can't think of an organization that is any more deserving than National Mill Dog Rescue. They are wonderful people that care about the welfare of the dogs that they've rescued. The dogs always come first, as they should. They are always there for support too, after the adoption, so there is always help, should you need it. Thank you.
September 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted a severly abused mill dog rescu a few years back and 4 years after his rescue he was still terrified of people. I ran across NMDR on the Internet, they invited me into their provate group of people who discuss how to help thise miill dogs and thier trainer helped me for free. I only met them a few months before my christopher died but he made more prpogrewss in those months and was happier than inteh previous 4 years. I din;t get him from them, they didn't rescue him and I was in a naother state and still they helped me and Christopher for no fee at all. The people I have met through this rescue ar ekind caring people who just want to help doggies. Ther yare my kind fo people.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

We had such a positive experience even just applying to adopt with NMDR that we traveled over 2 hours to go see their dogs! We are from Boulder County and tried some dog-rescue organizations closer to home but they proved much more difficult to work with. After our application was received by NMDR, we were promptly contacted, given literature, and told next steps to find our new adoptee. (Still waiting on word back from Farfel’s, grrr.)

The kennel was clean and positive-feeling with many pleasant workers and volunteers. The dogs were even bathed and groomed (for the most part). We were given lots of time to meet and play with all the potential adoptees and so felt like we were never rushed and therefore encouraged to find the “right” one.

After we adopted, we were given a prompt follow-up from them asking if everything went well in the first day and if we had any issues or questions. We were also given further information on behavioral specialists should we need it for the future.

Overall, we were VERY pleased with this experience. We will recommend NMDR to others who are looking to adopt. Thank you!
January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with National Mill Dog Rescue from the early days and have watched this organization grow tremendously over the years. The dedication of Theresa has always been an inspiration. To see how far we have come with volunteers who do the work, give selflessly of their time and efforts is outstanding. Regularly they drive long distances to pick up dogs no longer considered of any value. The housing, cleaning, feeding, vet care, grooming, tender fostering of so many to prepare these dogs for their forever homes speaks volumes for the dedication of these volunteers. It can be heart breaking at times, and tears often fall and hearts break over particularly sad cases. But when you walk down the aisle between kennels, and dogs who once cowered in fear, come forward and wag their tails, this makes it all worth while. Nothing else has been this rewarding. Hearts heal, love pours out, and dogs find a life they never knew existed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers