Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.746035
Write A Review
February 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 6, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

We flew out to Colorado to adopt Lindsey our six year old Maltese just four weeks ago. We had her checked out by a vet in Denver just to ensure she was good to fly. The vet herself could not believe Lindsey came from a rescue. The work that was completed on her was great. Poor thing had 20 teeth removed, they fixed her hernia and spayed her. I was VERY impressed with this rescue organization. It is very well run and I suspect this is a representation of Theresa Strader (Founder) . She and Everyone within this organization deserve a gold medal and a place in heaven. The hard work and dedication that is displayed here is beyond amazing!
February 5, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2015
3 people found this review helpful

We adopted our Corgi from NMDR almost 4 years ago. She was hours away from dying when they found her and rushed her to an emergency vet. NMDR spent thousands of dollars on her care. Weeks later when she was better we were fortunate to be able to adopt her. She is a wonderful addition to our family. We are very grateful to Teresa Strader and all the volunteers at NMDR, they are truly angels.
October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at NMDR for only a short time, but enjoy every minute of it. Wonderful dogs, wonderful people and a great mission ! When the time is right I would love to adopt a special needs dog from NMDR. As parents we have a social responsibility and I want to teach my son that the easiest way is not always the best and most rewarding way. Adopting a special needs dog that needs a bit more dedication than others is worth it. It will be such a wonderful experience for him when he finds out that a lot of time, patience, and effort will pay off and he will receive more love than he can handle from these dogs !
October 7, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2014
5 people found this review helpful

My wife and I adopted a very special female Yorkie from the NMDR team and she has been a blessing to our family. She is full of love and loves to snuggle and its hard to believe what she went through and how she was treated. She still a little skittish today but not as much as when we first got her. The NMDR cares for the animals and is a wonderful organization doing great work to help these animals that can't speak for themselves.
October 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

I adopted my girl Dolly from NMDR two-and-a-half years ago, and I can't imagine what her life was like before they rescued her. (Or what my life was like before she came into our family!) She knew nothing about stairs, and refused to walk across thresholds of any type. I'd read about the Maltese breed, and it said they are happy and energetic. I thought "well, I guess I got the one Maltese that's not peppy." Now, though, she's completely adapted to being a "real dog" instead of a puppy mill breeder. She races around with a smile on her face, and bounces like a bunny with excitement when she gets outside. I am so appreciative of NMDR for bringing my baby girl to freedom and into my life!
September 25, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
6 people found this review helpful

A year ago, I had no experience with mill dogs. A friend sent me a Facebook link to National Mill Dog Rescue. I looked at their website and the descriptions of the available dogs and immediately fell in love with a little Papillon who had recently been rescued. I filled out the on line application and, as requested, asked friends to submit letters of recommendation as to the type of dog momma I would make. I was provided with extensive information concerning the best way to help a mill dog adjust to living in a home and I was also provided with the name of the canine behaviorist to speak with concerning unique problems I might experience in addition to information about the Facebook support group where I could share information with other adopting doggie parents. I was incredibly impressed with everyone I met - both on line and in person when I drove to Colorado Springs to meet and adopt my little Papillon. When I learned about the work that Theresa Strader and all the volunteers were doing to re-home dogs who had lived their entire lives in a small cage, I asked if there was something I could do from out of state to help spread the word. I became a volunteer 9 months ago and help with the Facebook page and fund raising. I have been to the facility several times and I always find the dogs to be extremely well cared for and living in an impeccably clean, warm and roomy kennel with plenty of clean water and food and a comfy bed. The volunteers are amazing and it is very obvious they love the dogs! I now have adopted 4 breeding dogs from National Mill Dog Rescue and will continue to donate time and money to this very worthy and well run organization!
September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
December 3, 2012

I have been a volunteer for about 2 years now. NMDR is a wonderful organization to "work" for. I highly recommend them. We do many wonderful things for the dogs, as well as for their "humans". You can... more

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

National Mill Dog Rescue is one of, if not the best, organizations that I have ever volunteered with. They have a wonderful mission, traveling across the US rescuing puppy mill dogs, rehabilitating them, and finally adopting them out. It is a JOY to see each and every dog and volunteer literally light up when we work together. My little baby, Diego The Dashing Dude, is my heart and that says a lot considering I have owned a dog since I was an infant. If you want to adopt a new family member, National Mill Dog Rescue is the way to go. What a BRILLIANT organization.
December 3, 2012
8 people found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for about 2 years now. NMDR is a wonderful organization to "work" for. I highly recommend them. We do many wonderful things for the dogs, as well as for their "humans". You cannot find a better organization to work with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2013

I found out about National Mill Dog Rescue a few years ago. I was looking for a dog and when i called about some of their dogs they were very informative. I had never heard about puppy mills. I adopte... more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted my first NMDR dog over 2 years ago. I have since adopted 2 more. I love working with all the great volunteers and fostering for them. They get the best quality care for all the dogs. I have never seen such committed and friendly volunteers. It has been a huge impact on my life. I recommend them to everyone that wants a dog. My favorite part of volunteering is going to the kennel to help out when I can.
November 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about National Mill Dog Rescue a few years ago. I was looking for a dog and when i called about some of their dogs they were very informative. I had never heard about puppy mills. I adopted one of their dogs (Gomez) and was shocked to see what he was like after living in a cage for 7 years. I knew i had to help and do something. The wonderful volunteers were very informative and patient with all my questions and soon after i began fostering. Theresa Strader has built an amazing rescue. Theresa is a hero to many and her and the others are great to be working with.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue after liking various dog pages on Facebook. All of these pages eventually started leading me to this amazing organization that rescues breeding dogs from puppy mills when they are no longer useful and producing puppies. I was stunned and saddened (and often sickened to be honest) as I learned more about what a puppy mill is. One of the pages promoted an adoption event that was going to be held at a pet store quite close to my home, so I put it on the calendar and went. I met all sorts of Facebook celebri-dogs and the people behind these Facebook pages and was so impressed by the passion and dedication of all of these folks. I met a number of adoptable mill dogs and saw former mill dogs that had homes but who were victims of poor lifelong health care and thus had all sorts of health issues from missing eyes, teeth, jaws! I spent a long time visiting with these folks and crying thinking about what these dogs had lived through. Then as I walked out I decided that I could either cry with sadness and anger about puppy mills, or I could become part of the change that this amazing organization is fostering. I went home and signed up on milldogrescue.org to become a volunteer, made a donation to them, and found a powerful passion that grows daily to help make a difference, even if it is gradual. As a person with a bit of an instant gratification problem, I have learned to keep in mind that this is a "make a change to the world one dog at a time" kind of situation. But even in the fairly short time I have volunteered, I feel like larger strides are being made. The key to ending the horror of puppy mills is educating people about them. If you want to feel empowered and amazed at the power of grassroot efforts, take a look at National Mill Dog Rescue. I assure you that you will be changed by it!
September 24, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

There are a lot of nonprofits out there, but NMDR is among the best! The entire organization is amazing, starting with it's founder, Theresa Strader, to all the dedicated volunteers. It literally takes a small army to run the organization! I think what sets them apart is their genuine love and passion for dogs, it shows in everything they do! I discovered them through my son, who discovered them on Facebook through one of their spokesdogs, Harley. My son, who is disabled, was inspired to write a song about Harley ("A Little Dog with a Big Dream"). He now sells the song with proceeds donated to NMDR to help fund future rescues. I have volunteered my entire life for different organizations, and I recently joined on as a volunteer with NMDR, I can tell you I am proud to be part of this amazing group of people! If you love and care about animals, particularly dogs, this is one of the best organizations to donate your dollars to!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers