Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
1234.698115
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 7, 2014

more

September 7, 2014

We first learned about NMDR from other puppy mill rescue dogs who have facebook pages. We carefully read their horrible stories of abuse and reveled in every small step they made toward recovery. We further researched National Mill Dog Rescue- how and why it exists, its founder Theresa Strader. We considered applying to adopt a puppy mill rescue fully understanding the challenges that we would face because this would be like no other dog we've ever met. This would be a product of torture, and it would be our responsibility to love this animal into some sort of normal life.

More time spent researching puppy mills and the work, dedication of NMDR and we knew this was something we had to do. We attended many of their adoption events, met their volunteers, played with some of the animals, and filled out our application.

Once approved we visited Lily's Haven. The kennels are like no other I've ever seen, designed for the dogs- not for humans. Soft beds that these animals would have never experience in their lives, toys everywhere. Spotless water and food bowls. Every volunteer knew every animals name. The outside runs had both sun and shade in each location, swimming pools, toys- and they too were spotless.

The fact that the dogs had deep seated injuries was obvious, but every one of them was bathed, groomed, well fed, well cared for. I thought to myself what a wonderful first experience with freedom this is!

We did adopt. Our girl was named Tessa, we named her Sadie. NMDR had done life saving surgery on her just days before we met her. So they saved her life from the mill, and saved her life with major surgery. They also did dental work, removing ten rotted teeth- she had lost eight in the mill already. She'd had all her shots, her topical flea treatment, and they sent antibiotic and pain medication home with us along with her second dose of wormer and flea treatment. Who does that?

NMDR does. Because it's not about moving a dog from one place to another to them, it's about saving each and every dogs life. Making very sure each dog will know nothing but love and nurturing for the rest of their lives. Making sure they thrive.

Sadie is our blessing. She challenges us every day in ways we never thought possible, and she makes us laugh and love (and cry) and learn about ourselves and our priorities. Her big (huge) doggy sister loves her and protects her, and Sadie at six pounds protects her hundred pound sister.

Thank you NMDR, Theresa Strader, volunteers for the ongoing education, for Sadie, for your tireless work and support. We will never give up.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

We adopted from NMDR and received a rescue that NMDR had loved, nursed back to health and were rehabilitating - a loved dog! He ended up with a disease that no one could have seen coming. We contacted them for ideas of raising funds for surgery. They didn't blow us off but actually thanked us for giving him a loving home and actually assisted us, supported us and, once again, blessed our family with our little boy....now fully recovered and living a happy life. THE BEST - NMDR!!!!!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

We have two wonderful senior dog rescues from National Mill Dog Rescue. When we walked into their shelter, we were greeted by the most warm and friendly volunteers. They love what they do and the dogs who were horribly abused in their puppy mill finally feel warmth, security and love by the treatment of all who give their time and energy. It's a wonderful organization. We are so lucky to have found the organization and our two beautiful yorkies.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I fell in love with the mission of NMDR because of Lil Olive and her mantra...Speak for those who have voice! I visited and was treated like royalty. I was taken on a tour and the entire rescue process was described to me. I visited each and every dog that had been rescued and fell in love with them all. That was December 2013. In May 2014 I adopted a mill dog from NMDR, she's a senior dog about 10 years old. She had been well socialized and is a dear. The socialization was die to NMDRs ability to enlist the help of foster families in the nearby cities. They are a force to be reckoned with and absolutely sincere about their miss to rescue mill dogs from deplorable conditions. I have recommended them to many over the past few months.
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I learned about National Mill Dog Rescue through friends on Facebook. I was looking to adopt a dog, preferably a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel, but having no luck in shelters around the state. I decided that until I could get a dog that I truly connected with, I would foster dogs for this orginization. I was fostering a dog when I got a call that they had a Cavalier that was available, and several families didn't want because he was 6 years old. I went to the kennel and met him, and he chose me. I am currently fostering my 3rd mill dog rescue and will be adopting a 2nd Cavalier shortly. This orginization is amazing in the care it takes with each animal. The volunteers are so committed to giving these abused animals a good life and giving medical, dental, grooming, rehab, and socialization to each and every animal that comes through the facility, making sure they never live in filth or hunger ever again. National Mill Dog Resuce does a phenomenal job!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

We took a trip to PetSmart one day and they happened to be having an adoption event. At this event I fell in love with a 9mo old Pom from a rescue I had never heard of, National Mill Dog. After doing some research and learning what they were about and that the dogs they rescue, including this Pom, are from puppy mills; that he had never known a loving hand, grass, toys, fresh water, etc., we were determined to give him a loving home. And he is flourishing! After following this rescue online for a year, we are now dedicated volunteers. They are amazing - they rescue, rehome and rehabilitate discarded and unwanted dogs that are used for the breeding industry (puppy mills), the dogs that are sold in puppy stores and online. We donate our time, money and our hearts. It is SO worth it!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I received a 8.5 year old rescue from National Mill Dog. She had lived in a cage her whole life having babies. Her health was horrendous, she had heartworm, hernia, had not been fixed and needed 25 teeth pulled that were rotten out from puppy mill lack of care and poor food. Now a year later, my sweet Miss Tilly, is a loving sweet, healthy member of our family. Her little tail wag makes my day and she looks so lovingly into my eyes that I can't help but wonder what she thinks - she came out of hell to a loving rescue and then a loving family. National Mill Dog paid for her vet care to get her healthy; that was amazing to me! They are a top notch wonderful and loving organization! I highly recommend you go out there and get a senior dog who has been locked up their whole lives; nothing is better than their love!

September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

This rescue is phenomenal. I rescued an Italian Greyhound. These people are so loving and caring towards the furbabies. National mill dog rescue truly cares about each individual animal and works very hard to nurse these mill dogs back to health not only physically but emotionally, the volunteers then find just the right home for these babies to be adopted into and live out the rest of their lives knowing what love is. Please, if you are looking for a pet to add to your family, adopt from National mill dog rescue. Lets speak for those with no voice. Please help end Puppy Mills!!!
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

This organization is so wonderful. They have so many dedicated volunteers that take care of all the rescued dogs and help find forever homes for them. We recently adopted a mill dog mama that had spent 7 yrs. of her precious 8 yrs. in a puppy mill as a breeding mama. Scared of men, scared of thunder, scared of quick movements, frightened of everything and not knowing how to be a dog…she is such a sweet, precious soul with not a mean bone in her little body. Since NMDR saved her life in July of 2013, they started teaching her that not all humans are like the ones that imprisoned her. She has been learning from volunteers at the kennel and also from their foster volunteers. Then we were lucky enough to be chosen to adopt our precious fur baby and be her forever home. She was our first NMDR but won't be our last. I can't think of an organization that is any more deserving than National Mill Dog Rescue. They are wonderful people that care about the welfare of the dogs that they've rescued. The dogs always come first, as they should. They are always there for support too, after the adoption, so there is always help, should you need it. Thank you.
September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 1, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted a severly abused mill dog rescu a few years back and 4 years after his rescue he was still terrified of people. I ran across NMDR on the Internet, they invited me into their provate group of people who discuss how to help thise miill dogs and thier trainer helped me for free. I only met them a few months before my christopher died but he made more prpogrewss in those months and was happier than inteh previous 4 years. I din;t get him from them, they didn't rescue him and I was in a naother state and still they helped me and Christopher for no fee at all. The people I have met through this rescue ar ekind caring people who just want to help doggies. Ther yare my kind fo people.
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers