Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.816335
Write A Review
April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

NJTL of Indianapolis is an organization whose mission is to impact the lives of children through healthy living instruction, physical activity, and educational enrichment. As a volunteer, I found it very rewarding to see first-hand the excitement and appreciation of children given the opportunity to receive a free book at an NJTL event.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

The NJTL is a non-profit founded by Arthur Ashe in the late 60s as a way to enrich the lives of children through the game of tennis. Ashe believed that tennis was a life long sport and by learning the game he could not only teach kids the game of tennis, but at the same time develop other necessary skills to enhance a child's life such as his/her character and healthy lifestyles.

The NJTL of Indianapolis continues the legacy set forth by Ashe by offering low cost tennis lessons for children ages 5 - 18 at various venues across the city. Currently, the NJTL of Indianapolis serves over 1,00 children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I am in my 8th year of teaching for the National Junior Tennis League. Over the 8 years, I have been blessed to know several people committed to making this program as successful as possible. The staff genuinely care and have a passion for making tennis available to youth throughout the city. They also don't intend just to make tennis possible, but they also seek to use tennis as a way to capture youth and teach them about important life lessons such as responsibilty, humility and generosity. As an instructor for this program, I teach with hands-on instruction, strive to know and speak with each player about their strengths and weaknesses, encourage all participants to work hard, and hope that they reap the benefits of working hard... I know for a FACT that at least 8 participants are currently using skills they learned from NJTL at their local high schools: Beech Grove, Lutheran, Warren Central, North Central, Arsenal Tech and Broad Ripple. I still keep in contact with them, coach them and am so excited to see the next steps in their tennis career... which one is now an NJTL instructor and another seeking to become an instructor.
I think that our program continues to get better year after year, despite financial challenges. We try to implement new games, drills and our advanced player program is gaining strength very quickly.
Why is our program so great? Because we offer low-cost quality instruction and still care about the things that are most important in life...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Great program for the kids, very satisfied to have my daughter involved in the winter program after a very successful summer. She enjoys the time she has with her instructors who are not only great with kids, they also are teaching life lessons of sharing, exercise and a bit of history. My daughter is only 5 and she is developing a love for tennis! I'm so excited to keep her involved...Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I love how the NJTL has evolved to a year around program. Not only is it allowing my two girls to stay active in the game but the coaches are doing a GREAT Job of making sure that they learn the craft . Eventhough it is not one-on-one instruction, the coaches make sure to give individual feedback for improvement and or praise. Not only is this a great program but it is provided at a reasonable cost, wth many locations, and with convenient times, what more can you ask for. THANKS NJTL!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

They run a great tennis program with lots of location and a very reasonable price.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

In searching for a place to start my daughter in tennis I came across NJTL and thought I would give it a try. I have never been as satisfied with a children's program in 8 years of participating in ballet, soccer, softball, tennis, swimming, etc. The children are taught by professional, patient, involved, and knowledgable staff. They are encouraged to participate in match play. The parents are kept informed and updated through email and the website. The cost is incredible. I love that they use the bigger balls and half size courts to start them out on. This program is a wonderful way to expose your child to tennis and I highly recommend it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My son has been involved with NJTL for five years. He has grown to absolutely love tennis. All of his instructors have been great and we have loved the program. The communication with parents is excellent as well. Can't wait to have my four-year old daughter start up with NJTL next summer. This is an extremely worthwhile program.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My children have been involved with NJTL for several years. They have always enjoyed the experience and their tennis games have improved. I think it will give them a sport they can play and love for decades. Thank you NJTL for providing the opportunity to participate.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

It has been two wonderful years since we have joined NJTL of Indianapolis. My child's desire to play tennis was my dream too. The same time I made a decision to go back to collage to pursue a four year degree. I have checked numerous possible sites where my child could play tennis. Unfortunately, I could not afford even a week worth of lessons there. There was no spare money in the single mom's budget for the expensive tennis lessons. Then, a small miracle has happened. I have learned about NJTL from a flyer in the Indy Parks brochure during the summer. We have joined few weeks after the summer session has already started, and have been a part of the program since. It is a program that gives us both a lot of personal satisfaction. Every time a session ends, my child asks: "Mommy when will my tennis class start again?" It is a dream come true not only for my child, but also for me. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers