Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
123.7545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

NHES is by far, my favorite animal charity; I first came aware of NHES about 20 yrs ago. They have taken from me 8 dogs that I have rescued & found homes for every one. I have come to know the principals personally & they would never, ever do anything but wonderful things for their animals; When no other animal organization would even respond to my requests for help, Jim Taylor,now the President helped me rehabilitate a German Shepherd by sending me funds to pay a dog trainer. I think so highly of them that they are in my, and my wife's will for a substantial amount. In addition we have made arrangements with NHES to take any animals that we have upon our demise and care for them until their deaths.
February 17, 2014

more

February 17, 2014

What percent of the donations go to administrators and what percent to help the actual animals?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find out percentage helping animals and helping administrators, I may donate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 20, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This is an organization that does wonderful work, in an underserved, over populated (meaning animals needing assistance) region. They pull animals from horrid situations, rehabilatate them and work with other rescues, in areas that have a higher adoption rate, to put these animals into good forever homes. But, on the other side, they send out negotiable $2.00 checks and multiple mailings to prospective doners. As a doner, I want to believe that the majority of the money I send to an organization, will go to saving and re-homing the animals. Not to postage or to checks that can be cashed by someone who does not even donate to the group. I received another $2.00 check today, which I put into my shredder. I honestly don't know if I will send them a donation. Will my donation be used up by those who cash their $2.00 checks?

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unsure

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I used to donate to this organization....I stopped when they started sending me $2.00 checks. I have written to them repeatedly to stop sending me checks.....but the checks keep coming. I feel that any charity that can afford to send checks out to people at the risk that they may just cash them doesn't need a donation from me........that's a ridiculous risk!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 1, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I used to donate to this charity to help unfortunate animals find new homes. After I checked their rating on this site, I was very disappointed to find a rating of 2 stars. I will no longer donate until they improve their score with Charity Navigator. I e-mailed them to let them know why I will no longer donate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers