Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
123.7545
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Three years ago, we pulled into the Briggs parking lot. I was scared to enter the facility, not understanding that this is a no-kill rescue facility, the dignity and care with which all the animals are shown, and the welcoming, helpful staff. Octavia, named because she gave birth to 8 puppies after being rescued, sat calmly in her area while we walked up and down past all the dog areas and was given an introduction to each one. When asked if there was a dog that we would like to meet, we immediately said, Octavia! Her soulful eyes looked deep into my heart and touched me in a way that no dog had ever done. Our wonderful adoption counselor helped us understand that we could bring Octavia into our lives, even though we already had Rubble, our cat, in our home. Without going into detail, Octavia rescued us rather than us rescuing Octavia. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the facility and the staff at Briggs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....continue to grow to help as many animals as possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first became aware of NHES many years ago and will, without reservation, wholeheartedly recommend them to you as a genuine and truthful organization. It has been my good fortune to have adopted 4 dogs from them over the past 29 years. In 1984 I adopted a wonderful, young Shepherd mix. She was a loyal and faithful friend for many years. As I write this, my younger Chihuahua mix is by my side and my other, elder Chihuahua is sleeping in her bed. These wonderful little creatures have and continue to enrich my life in many ways.

I have had opportunity visit NHES facilities both current and prior. I have also had opportunities to interact with their personnel at different levels within the organization. My honest opinion is that they are completely who they claim to be. There are policies in place to help safeguard the placement of animals into homes. The animals receive a level of care that probably exceeds that given in many private households. It appears to me that NHES is a most worthy and reputable group of people. My recommendation would be to tour the facility in Charles Town and interact with some of the folks, and then form an opinion.

I read the negative reviews about the fund raising technique that utilized the mailing of a $2 dollar check. Obviously some may misunderstand this or view the mailing out of $2 dollar checks as inappropriate; however, the sad truth is that fund raising is difficult and ongoing. I have observed NHES personnel diligently work towards meager funds generation through yard sales, bicycling and walking events and other labor-of-love efforts. NHES is struggling to generate additional funds through a first time effort in a nearby thrift store. It is obvious to me that they are in pursuit of every viable option to bring in the funds necessary to continue their noble mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am unable to think of any changes to make, other than the obvious--generate sufficient operating funds to survive and expand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I began putting food out for a stray cat in my neighborhood, it wasn't long before I realized there was more than one hungry stray cat coming around. I found myself watching at night for them and it was what appeared to be a mom and 3 kittens. I got online and began reading about stray/feral cats and found that before long I would have a colony of cats if I didn't get them spayed or neutered.

I was worried that it would be very expensive to take this on, so I began searching in my area for a vet to help me and tell me how to catch them. One of the vet offices I contacted told me to call Spay Today, a program through NHES, which offers low cost spay and neuters. I called and the ladies there were very helpful, and the cost was very reasonable. They even rented me a humane trap and showed me how to use it. ( I had to give a small deposit on the trap and they gave it back to me when I returned their trap).

I was able to get all 3 kittens spayed/neutered and the mom spayed along with rabies shots completed. I brought them home to my garage and was able to care for them and eventually they all were very friendly and ready for new homes. I ended up keeping mom and placing the kittens in homes. Thank goodness I found Spay Today and got the help I needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I adopted a cat and a dog from their shelter, Briggs Animal Adoption Center. Both experiences were wonderful. The Adoption Counselors were so helpful and really "nailed it" when they helped us select the perfect matches for our family! We had such a positive experience and even recommended Briggs to our adult daughter. She is now a proud mama to the most adorable Yorkie! We love Briggs and would encourage anyone living in this area to go check out all the precious animals they have rescued!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers