Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
16 Reviews
123.7545
Write A Review
April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

NHES is by far, my favorite animal charity; I first came aware of NHES about 20 yrs ago. They have taken from me 8 dogs that I have rescued & found homes for every one. I have come to know the principals personally & they would never, ever do anything but wonderful things for their animals; When no other animal organization would even respond to my requests for help, Jim Taylor,now the President helped me rehabilitate a German Shepherd by sending me funds to pay a dog trainer. I think so highly of them that they are in my, and my wife's will for a substantial amount. In addition we have made arrangements with NHES to take any animals that we have upon our demise and care for them until their deaths.
February 17, 2014

more

February 17, 2014

What percent of the donations go to administrators and what percent to help the actual animals?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find out percentage helping animals and helping administrators, I may donate.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Unlikely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Three years ago, we pulled into the Briggs parking lot. I was scared to enter the facility, not understanding that this is a no-kill rescue facility, the dignity and care with which all the animals are shown, and the welcoming, helpful staff. Octavia, named because she gave birth to 8 puppies after being rescued, sat calmly in her area while we walked up and down past all the dog areas and was given an introduction to each one. When asked if there was a dog that we would like to meet, we immediately said, Octavia! Her soulful eyes looked deep into my heart and touched me in a way that no dog had ever done. Our wonderful adoption counselor helped us understand that we could bring Octavia into our lives, even though we already had Rubble, our cat, in our home. Without going into detail, Octavia rescued us rather than us rescuing Octavia. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the facility and the staff at Briggs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

.....continue to grow to help as many animals as possible!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My first interaction with Briggs was in March of 2001 when I adopted a wonderful Big Benji-type terrier mix from their shelter. Hudson had some issues not the least of which was that he despised cats. We already had three felines in our household. It appeared to be an impossible situation but with help from Briggs in behavior modification training we were able to change Hudson's attitude toward the cats and everyone lived together peacefully after that and Hudson remained a very good boy until his passing. Our home now includes two cats and one dog adopted from Briggs along with our sweet sheepdog. Our recently adopted dog is considered a special needs guy because of his shyness. Again with the help of Briggs' counselors our guy is making great strides. He attended the alumni event a few weeks ago and showed his developing bravado to the delight of the Briggs staff (and me).
I have participated in the fundraising events held by Briggs. Many of these events include pet participation (walks/runs for example) including many dogs adopted from Briggs. The camaraderie among staff, volunteers and participants is heartwarming.
It is a privilege to volunteer for this organization and especially to attend outside events at such places as Lowe's, Petco, Tractor Supply and farmer's markets where I can not only introduce the public to some of the wonderful dogs available for adoption but can let people know of the awesome job done at Briggs. Adoption counselors get it right by interviewing everyone who will be living with the potential adopted dog and encourage famiies to bring other pets to the center to test the interaction. Once adopted the counselors are available whenever needed to answer questions. Dogs and cats leave the center with current vaccinations, a supply of flea/tick prevention, food, information to register the microchip and the animal's health records (all are spayed or neutered) prepared by their full-time staff veterinarian as well as useful behavioral commentary added by staff throughout the time the animal's stay at Briggs.
I live about 30 minutes away from Briggs but it is worth the trip for me to drive either to the center or the Buried Treasures thrift shop to volunteer. Working with such a dedicated staff is pure pleasure and I am proud to play a small part in helping this organization succeed in its mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been volunteering with Briggs for almost 2 years and I have loved every bit of it. Sometimes I feel like a celebrity because when people hear I am from Briggs they instantly light up and gush about how much they love Briggs and everything they do. I have heard dozens of happy stories and met tons of ex-Briggs dogs, now in their "forever homes". Briggs is a no-kill shelter, which is AMAZING. You know that these animals are going to find a great home. While I am just a volunteer, the people that actually work at Briggs treat each of these animals like their own. They work hard to find the right fit for each of them. They also work with them to correct some of their bad habits so they will have a better chance of getting adopted. These people would do anything needed! I am amazed every day how loving they are.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the organization is ran wonderfully. If I had a wish list it would be to expand the facility. Unfortunately, the Center is almost always at capacity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

rabradley12
I began volunteering at Briggs approximately 6 months ago and WOW....what a rewarding experience. I began assisting with the Saturday dog events at the local farmers markets, etc. and was always impressed by the staffs knowledge of all the dogs and cats names at Briggs and the
attention they showed to all the animals. The real testimony of the staffs never ending love, compassion and commitment for their 4 legged guests was witnessed during the recent Alumni Day. I had the opportunity to meet former Briggs dogs and their now forever families. What caught my attention the most was how the dogs interacted with the staff. As soon as they heard the staffs voices or saw them, it was instant recognition, lots of tail wagging and of course lots of kisses. This type of love and loyalty to all animals at Briggs is the norm at Briggs.

As a volunteer, I feel like such a part of the Briggs family already and look forward to becoming more actively involved with their mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I haven't seen anything at this point I would change. If I had the funding - I would enlarge the dog kennels to make more room for the existing guests and possibly have the room to take in more dogs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The National Humane Education Society provides financial support to Friends of Felines-Cape Hatteras Island which enables our TNR organization to micro-chip the feral cats we humanely trap, neuter, and release. NHES has been a major supporter of our organization. We are very appreciative of the financial assistance as well as the professional mentorship they have provided our small, all volunteer organization.
Debbie Martin
Exeuctive Director
Friends of Felines-Cape Hatteras Island

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I first became aware of NHES many years ago and will, without reservation, wholeheartedly recommend them to you as a genuine and truthful organization. It has been my good fortune to have adopted 4 dogs from them over the past 29 years. In 1984 I adopted a wonderful, young Shepherd mix. She was a loyal and faithful friend for many years. As I write this, my younger Chihuahua mix is by my side and my other, elder Chihuahua is sleeping in her bed. These wonderful little creatures have and continue to enrich my life in many ways.

I have had opportunity visit NHES facilities both current and prior. I have also had opportunities to interact with their personnel at different levels within the organization. My honest opinion is that they are completely who they claim to be. There are policies in place to help safeguard the placement of animals into homes. The animals receive a level of care that probably exceeds that given in many private households. It appears to me that NHES is a most worthy and reputable group of people. My recommendation would be to tour the facility in Charles Town and interact with some of the folks, and then form an opinion.

I read the negative reviews about the fund raising technique that utilized the mailing of a $2 dollar check. Obviously some may misunderstand this or view the mailing out of $2 dollar checks as inappropriate; however, the sad truth is that fund raising is difficult and ongoing. I have observed NHES personnel diligently work towards meager funds generation through yard sales, bicycling and walking events and other labor-of-love efforts. NHES is struggling to generate additional funds through a first time effort in a nearby thrift store. It is obvious to me that they are in pursuit of every viable option to bring in the funds necessary to continue their noble mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am unable to think of any changes to make, other than the obvious--generate sufficient operating funds to survive and expand.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I began putting food out for a stray cat in my neighborhood, it wasn't long before I realized there was more than one hungry stray cat coming around. I found myself watching at night for them and it was what appeared to be a mom and 3 kittens. I got online and began reading about stray/feral cats and found that before long I would have a colony of cats if I didn't get them spayed or neutered.

I was worried that it would be very expensive to take this on, so I began searching in my area for a vet to help me and tell me how to catch them. One of the vet offices I contacted told me to call Spay Today, a program through NHES, which offers low cost spay and neuters. I called and the ladies there were very helpful, and the cost was very reasonable. They even rented me a humane trap and showed me how to use it. ( I had to give a small deposit on the trap and they gave it back to me when I returned their trap).

I was able to get all 3 kittens spayed/neutered and the mom spayed along with rabies shots completed. I brought them home to my garage and was able to care for them and eventually they all were very friendly and ready for new homes. I ended up keeping mom and placing the kittens in homes. Thank goodness I found Spay Today and got the help I needed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 30, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

After a long day of work I was looking forward to going home to relax, but as I drove home a deer jumped out of the woods and ran across the road in front of my car. In that one second when I turned to make sure it made it across the road, I saw that it was a dog, not a deer. I immediately pulled off the road, put my flashers on and jumped out—not sure how I was going to get this dog but I had to try! I called him and he stopped and turned very hesitantly and, oh no, a car was coming. I began waving frantically and prayed the other driver would stop and thinking, “please dog don't run—just stay. A man stopped and saw the dog & put his flashers on too. I called the dog again and he came, the closer he came in the lights, the more of him I could see. I saw blood on his face (how was he hurt? was he friendly? what do I do now?) These were the questions running through my mind. I said another prayer and opened my car door—he jumped in and licked my hand as if to say, thanks. Immediately, I turned and went back to work—you see I work at The Briggs Animal Adoption Center (Briggs), a program of The National Humane Education Society (NHES).
When I arrived at Briggs, I then called the director for help. This was many years ago, and it was my first rescue of an injured animal. We took him to the vet room and help was on the way. We offered him some water and food (he was starving.) As he ate, we noticed he was covered in burrs. Gingerly, I began taking them off and again I was rewarded with a lick and a look of sincere thanks. I took off my Bermuda hoodie sweatshirt and laid it on the blanket. He laid his head on it. We got a trash can full of burrs off that boy and when the vet saw him she determined that he had been shot. She performed surgery and removed BB’s. She even removed one from his eye, which thank god he didn't lose. I picked up that sweatshirt off the floor later and as I looked at the blood stains, I cried that this gentle soul who had known nothing but pain and suffering had shown kindness when he was hurt so badly. I was allowed to name this sweet boy and I named him Bermuda Jake (of course you can figure where Bermuda came from and Jake after one of my sweet dogs at home).
This is the type of care and compassion that is given to every animal that comes to our Briggs. We love them all, though I daresay they teach us all so much more about compassion. Bermuda Jake spent a lot of time with me during his recovery in my office and what a great dog he was. You see that is something else we do at Briggs. We bring dogs to our offices to spend time with us while they are waiting on their forever homes. Bermuda Jake’s picture hangs at my desk. I was lucky enough to have placed him in his new home, and every time I look at that picture I am grateful that I work at a place like Briggs and NHES because it gives me—and all of us here—an opportunity to make a difference in an animal’s life, and we make this difference for thousands more through all of NHES’s programs—Humane Education, Briggs, Peace Plantation, and Spay Today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it larger to take in some many more :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers